We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not 4 star, customer service terrible and rooms dirty.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Cala Vinas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Occidental Cala Vinas
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cala Vinyes
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not 4 star, customer service terrible and rooms dirty.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Pooh on the loo seat, yellow sick Mark on wardrobe, balls of dust under bed, very hard beds and very noisy creaking air con, very noisy hotel, channels 1 and itv from midnight till only 6pm. Very dated decor and bedding in rooms.
Customer service involved us being asked to move once sat down to eat as sat on four table not a two, being shouted at in Spanish for grabbing our own cutlery and feeling like they were ready to pounce on your plate once your finished ( or not)! Also not nice sitting down at a table with food up the wall next to us.
Food included mackerel that tasted very fishy and not right that was put out every night, a pigs head and trotters, snails!!!! We got chicken once, woo! Awful, actually lost weight!
Not happy at all, beautiful location and layout, the company luckily made it good though!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mredsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    538
    265
    117
    62
See reviews for
703
515
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

this is one of the best all inclusives we have been on, the food was good and there was plenty of choice. The entertaintment was good, i was up on stage most nights, not many english though. Fantastic place, would go again without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank howard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

This hotel had a strange mix of up to date design and also an ability to represent a hotel from a distant era The bedroom was clean but dated, in need of a bit of TLC ! The food was varied and in keeping with large volume catering. One of the two pools was constantly in the shade and when there was a breeze you certainly felt rather exposed. The other pool did not have enough sun beds to cater for the guest population. The beach was lovely but to purchase sun beds everyday could become a costly exercise. Evening entertainment was ok with some Spanish dancing but on other nights bingo was torture having to listen to the same number being shouted out in several different languages. I would not be to hard on the this hotel but be prepared for entering an establishment that does not offer what the brochures promise.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank owenalawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

As mentioned in previous reviews the location of the hotel is lovely. We opted for a superior sea view room on All Inlusive - stunning views but room very average. The All Inclusive package has a few strange rules and would be better explained on check in (although to be fair it is explained in the book in the room but I didn't look at this until the last day !!) You can't eat in the snack bars without paying full price during the hours that the Buffet is open which if you want just a quick snack without the hustle bustle you can't. Water in the fridge in the room at least would be useful, most AI packages I have been on at least stock up with water (usually soft drinks and beer as well) Breakfast was the best meal of the day, the other meals were very bland although plenty of choice but mostly tasteless - pizzas were good though and the wine served as part of the package was quite nice. Found some of the staff a bit serious but the staff at the El pop snack bar on the beach were very friendly. We sunbathed on the beach every day and as previously mentioned cost 10 euros 80 for 2 beds and a parasol. But the beach does not belong to the hotel it is private. Perhaps the hotel should advertise this fact because there were a few angry exchanges with some customers that could have been avoided. All in All enjoyed the holiday but mainly becasue of the location and not the hotel. By the way one of the reviews mentins that you can only get all inclusive up until your check out time of 12 Oclock. This wasn't the case for us when we asked at reception thay said we could use it up until we left just use the same room number (providing it was for things you didn't have to pay for) we didn't leave the hotel until 5.30 and used the facilities until we left had lunch and wine.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Just returned from a 5 night break on a half board basis which we enjoyed. I say 4star in parts because to begin with the location is stunning we had a balcony with a sea view. The reception area, the grounds and the restaurant are also of a 4star hotel. In my opinion the room was more 2 than 4 star basic and in need of refurbishment. The food in the restaurant was plentiful but a bit bland. (We choose to eat out a few times) I found staff in all parts of hotel friendly and helpful. Location is very good, there is a bus stop right out side that goes all the way to Palma via Magaluf Palma nova and Marineland. Across the small beach and up the steps its a 20 in walk to Magaluf there is also a taxi rank at top of steps 5euros into Magaluf.There are some nice bars & restaurants along the beach front in Magaluf slightly more expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the superior sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Vinyes
0.3 km away
SENTIDO Cala Vinas
SENTIDO Cala Vinas
#1 of 2 in Cala Vinyes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
1.8 km away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
61.9 km away
Barcelo Ponent Playa
Barcelo Ponent Playa
#22 of 47 in Cala d'Or
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67.1 km away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
2.7 km away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
1.6 km away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#5 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Cala Vinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Cala Vinas

Property: Occidental Cala Vinas
Address: Coral 2 - 4, 07181 Cala Vinyes, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Cala Vinas)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Vinyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cala Vinyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Cala Vinas 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Occidental Cala Vinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cala Vinas Hotel Cala Vinyes
Barcelo Cala Vinyes
Barcelo Hotel Cala Vinas
Occidental Cala Vinas Majorca/Cala Vinyes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing