We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL FOR A WINTER-SUN BREAK”
Review of Barcelo Santiago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelo Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Heavenly!!!!!Fantastic weather, beautiful clean hotel and pool area. Food is ok, not gourmet by any stretch, but good quality for a buffet. Kids club is great, and you can literally sun bathe right outside the club and keep an eye on your children, not that you need to as there was a fabulous lady there called Lolo looking after the children. A great resort, well priced lunches (2.50 euros for childrens spaghetti bolognese) and not over-priced at all. Extremely clean hotel and entertainment great fun in the evening. If you want a super-hot, chilled week in the sun, this is your place!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank guildfordmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,199 - 3,203 of 5,921 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Hotel Barcelo Santiago is a very nice, big, hotel! It has the usual buffet meals that offer a varied selection of food, not always that hot at dinner time but usually something to satisfy an appetite! Salads are particularly plentiful and fresh. Reception staff always very friendly but restaurant staff generally, let's say, a little preoccupied.

When we booked, directly with the hotel, in October 2011 we specifically asked for a Junior Suite de-Luxe at the southern end of the building. Upon arrival we were allocated a JSd-L at the northern end of the hotel that was a very nice room with a pleasant view of Los Gigantes cliffs, but, due to its location, only saw the sun on the balcony from about midday. This was room 819.

We asked to be relocated as per our booking and were offered an alternative but only available from the following day. This was room 709, almost identical to 819 but at least it faced south, big balcony with plenty of room to absorb the sun!!

Now, these junior suites are very nice but in both cases the bathrooms were relatively very small. No bath, just a shower and the walls and doors of the room were laminated diffused glass sheets!! Nowhere in either to put anything while showering such as shampoo or even a soap dish. Nowhere either to hang bath towels to dry and very little room to put anything else!

Of the two suites the northern one was much cooler and quieter, away from the hotel's activities but the southern one captured more sunshine and also captured the sounds of the hotel's entertainment and that of the surrounding bars at night. I don't recommend the Tina Turner impersonator!!!!

Our second visit to this hotel. We would return again without hesitation but did notice (and use) cleansing handwash dispensers all over the hotel as a result of an outbreak of norovirus in the area, three years ago?? We survived however!!

Room Tip: 709 for sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LincolnshireNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Just returned from a week, weather fab in the late 20's very unusual for this time of year. Hotel very clean and well run. I was dubious after reading some of the reviews but to be honest you would struggle to find fault with this hotel.Yes it is a large hotel but nothing is too much trouble for the staff who all work extremely hard We were all inclusive (Band of shame!!LOL) and were not treated any differently to anyone else - I did not see one single drunk all week- we do not take full advantage it is just easier not too have to pay for coffee ,water etc. The coffees were v good especially in the tapas bar upstairs. The food is varied, predominantly fish but plenty of choice . I did not see a single cat dog or any sort of animal.The wine is bottled and very drinkable as is the beer (san miguel) all in all one of the best all inclusives we have stayed at. It does get busy in the dining room but if you pick your times it can be quieter.

We thoroughly enjoyed our week and will return it is a little tired in places but it is only 4 star.

Best rooms above 3 and sea views facing la Gomera.

The Thomson rep Henri was very helpful and friendly.

The towels are free for a week but if you ant to change them for clean ones you have to pay 2 euros each time, the safe is 3 euros a night.

I found the beds hard but friends loved them.

Room Tip: Above level 3 sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jell033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The hotel is very clean, the hotel room spacious and the sea view from the room is just wonderful. Most staff is friendly and ready to chat a little. Some at the reception could loosen up a little, though. The pool area is beautifully designed and you have again a great sea view. We tried the spa, which was alright, nothing spectacular.
Two negative points, no Internet in the rooms just in the lobby and secondly the food was not that good. We had breakfast and dinner there, it's a bit disappointing that they serve mostly German food instead of the local cuisine, except for the paella. Also the quality of the food is average, to put it friendly, and boring. After two dinners in the hotel we decided to check out the local restaurant, much better!

Room Tip: Room with a sea view! The sunsets are beautiful and you can enjoy them having a drink on you own bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dotty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Just returned from Tenerife having spent a week with my mother at Barcelo Santiago. We arrived very late (1am!) and found a late supper ready for us and all the check-in very quick and easy.
Lovely hotel spotlessly clean and tidy. Staff very efficient esp the pool bar and restaurant staff. Food varied and very fresh and well presented, good choice for each meal and the champagne at breakfast a very welcome treat.
Plenty of sunbeds on the terrace and excellent views of Los Gigantes and La Gomera. We hired a car from the car hire place opposite the hotel and they were very helpful and the car clean and well maintained.
Our rep Henrique was accessible and helpful and prompt arriving at the hotel - not pushy and just what we needed.
If I had one criticism it would be the lack of tea or coffee making facilities in our room which would have been very welcome. This would not prevent me going back to the hotel and it is a perfect winter getaway choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from floor 3 to 5 with views of cliffs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beej56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
1.7 km away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,973 reviews
4.1 km away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
1.0 km away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#3 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 km away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#13 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,773 reviews
19.0 km away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,477 reviews
3.9 km away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Santiago

Address: La Hondura, 8, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range: €88 - €255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Santiago 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Barcelo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Santiago Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Barcelo Hotel Santiago
Barcelo Puerto De Santiago
Barcelo Santiago Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing