We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel ,rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel ,rude staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Just got back from our 2nd stay at this loverly hotel very clean food ok. good location for famalies ,some very rude bar staff should not be allowed to speak to the public spoilt a good holiday, wont go there again. p.s.childrens pool not heated freezing cold so all kids in top pool.

Room Tip: pool veiw rooms a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SearFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,725
    1,641
    583
    186
    102
See reviews for
1,843
1,644
85
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My Partner and I have just come back from a week at this hotel and on the whole we had a really nice stay.

Like most people we were blown away by the reception and hotel areas,they are amazing and a real wow factor and unlike anywhere we had ever stayed. The hotel is spotless and there is always someone cleaning.The rooms are large and spacious we paid the extra 30 euros for the sea view and had a view face on of the pool and sea it was amazing.I loved the power shower although the door kept comibng open whilest in the shower and the floor was soaking at the end of each time. Furniture is a bit tatty and dated for a 4* and the beds on wheels are a pain but the room was adequate and the view made up for this, However I do confirm with the previous reviewer about the bugs in these room we had ant like termites along the cupboards and headboard to the bed which was gross !!. We called to reception and their solution was to send a maid with a can of bug spray which did the job for a few days and then we noticed them again the day before we left. They have bbc itv and cbeebies channels for the kids also and a fridge you can put water in .

Food was ok, I always found something to eat but it was luke warm at best and sometimes like in the snack bar hard from being sat out there at 10am !! after brekfast, the chips were solid and food was dry on occasions . The desserts however were out of this world and i think I tried everyone twice.Breakfast is really good and the ommlette bar is a real treat,.Drinks are ok for what you need and they have cocktails and afternoon tea with cakes every day at 4pm.

Weather was great and we never had a problem finding a sunbed go to the second pool over the bridge for a quiter relaxing time. Most of the staff are great in this hotel the restuarant and maids were excellent some of the bar staff espically the manager of the piano bar were rude on accasions and reviewers are correct the reception staff are very short and curt with guests I witnessed this on several days.

The resort is great small and the beach is over road few good shops and supermarkets with a few bars thrown in but we wanted a relaxing holiday so this was fine.

Overall I loved this hotel and would recommend and return again in the future

Room Tip: Sea and pool view rooms are great but beware of the bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sazza65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend September 2011, the hotel is very big with amazing foliage decoration throughout the hotel. The food was good, with lots of options and different meals each day. The bar by the pool also served drinks and snacks such as burgers and chips throughout the day which you could help yourself to whenever you wanted! Location wise for us it wasn't the best as there wasn't anything very close by and the hotel entertainment was quite poor and ended early, but los gigantes was not too far and you could either get a taxi for about 5-10 euros or walk in. The walk into town was fine as it was mostly downhill but walking back to the hotel was a mission.

The evenings in the hotel were a bit like being at a summer camp as all the lights were turned off at midnight and the bar closed as if telling guests to go to bed. Similarly, the pool closed at 6 and the guards would come round the sunbeds telling guests off for still being there before 10 past, which was very annoying.

We also had a small hole in the ceiling in our bathroom which leaked water all over the bathroom floor whenever the room above us had a shower. We complained about this twice before anything was done about it but this is typical of the lifestyle there- nothing is done in a hurry.

We went to Siam Park (water park) which was a really fantastic day! The double ticket with Loro Park (the zoo) was well worth the money. However, without a car, the journey to Loro Park was long winded.

Overall a fantastic holiday as there is a lot to do on the Island and would definitely visit the area again but possibly find a another hotel in a busier area.

Room Tip: sea view rooms on a high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamieb91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We just got back from a long weekend at the Be Live Playa. The facilities are fantastic for families. The mini-golf, heated pool, large chess set, ping pong, and billiards allow a family to have plenty of fun here even in the middle of winter. The location of the hotel is superb, also. There's a lovely beach directly across the street and one can walk to Los Gigantes in about 30 minutes or so on a beautiful path that mostly hugs the ocean.

The down side is the food. For breakfast and dinner, we ate in the dining room, which is huge and without assigned seating. The food on the buffet was mostly lukewarm and sometimes just room temperature. The grill staff were surly when they were happy and just downright rude when they weren't. For lunch, we ate at the pool-side bar and the food was mainly hamburgers, french fries, pasta and chicken fingers. All were lukewarm and not very tasty.

Still, the price for the hotel was excellent and I would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: The rooms centrally located near the entrance lobby can be quite loud in the evening. If you'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Diane_in_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is was a lovely hotel, we have stayed there 5 times before and the rooms are still beautiful BUT.
We have just come home from 14 days all of which was half term holidays with lots of children, so it was full, very full. There are 432 rooms and often there were more than 1050 people staying so the room occupancy was well over 100%.
We found Reception staff helpful but very hard pressed, at check in there was a queue which nobody wants, so most of us waited our turn.
The food hall just could not cope, the small number of waiting staff usually tried their best but with queues of often 30+ people waiting for a place it was a canteen not a restaurant. The food is all self service the main dishes at "dinner" were usually only warm although the show cooking could be hot sometimes, we made extensive use of one microwave cooker!!
The red wine at dinner was normally served cold, like just out of the fridge, you could ask for it to be warmed but with so few staff it took some persistence.
There are enough sunbeds for everyone, but not around the pool and the other areas often had few sun umbrellas, to be sure of your place you had to reserve your beds and sunshade by 7.30am for a prime slot but you could still be moved by others who came while you were at breakfast. The manners of some had to seen to be believed.
The hotel has become very international, with a broad spread of nationalities all with their different manners.
So would we go back? certainly not when the hotel is busy and we did make a survey of other local hotels and could find more peace and comfort. So if BE LIVE management want our custom again they should address these matters

Room Tip: The superior rooms are well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gdr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto de Santiago
0.3 km away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,854 reviews
0.7 km away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
3.1 km away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
Globales Tamaimo Tropical
#8 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,170 reviews
18.4 km away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,320 reviews
1.0 km away
Barcelo Santiago
Barcelo Santiago
#1 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Experience Playa La Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Experience Playa La Arena

Property: Be Live Experience Playa La Arena
Address: Calle Lajial, 4, 38683 Puerto de Santiago, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Experience Playa La Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Be Live Experience Playa La Arena is a complete family resort in Puerto Santiago, Tenerife. The hotel, located by an exotic beach with black volcanic sand, offers all the facilities you need for a perfect holiday at the Costa de Santiago del Teide. At the Be Live Experience Playa La Arena you will be able to enjoy the quietness and the lovely atmosphere of Puerto Santiago: nature, gastronomy, sports, beach and sun all year round. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Live Experience Playa La Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Playa La Arena Hotel Puerto De Santiago
Spring Hotel Santiago Del Teide
Be Live Experience Playa La Arena Tenerife/Puerto De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing