We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes Great”
Review of On The Rocks

On The Rocks
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 7 November 2018

We've had one brilliant meal, one OK meal, and some nice sundown drinks here. For the price I would expect more consistently good food. Also, sometimes the staff don't seem to be too clear on what the details of the food they are serving is. I was told my prawns came in a white sauce, but it came in a sort of reduction. It was nice, but not what I thought I had ordered. The waitress was nice, and could have just been an off day. Not too sure we will rush back, but will likely give it another shot at some point, as our first meal there was amazing,

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Dear Emma,

Thank you for taking the time to review On The Rocks. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to identify areas where improvement is needed and correct them to proved our guests with the best possible experience at our restaurant.

We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future and provide you with a much improved experience when it comes to service and the quality of the food.

With Kind Regards,

The On the Rocks Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2018

Position is really great and restaurant always busy, however the food is pretty average and service not that great. The last time I was there I ended up at casualties from just four mussels I ate fromm friends plate, but must admit she did not get sick only me. Frist time I got sick eating mussels. Cannot say for sure it is the restaurants fault.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnnJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Dear Ann,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. I would like to apologize on behalf of On the Rocks and our head office that you did not receive our usual standard of dishes and service. We value all reviews as this enables us to improve on our offerings and service.

We hope to continue the conversation privately to address all of the raised issues that you experienced. Could you please send us with your e-mail address to marketing@seascapecollection.co.za.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Very nice establishment with the best views while having very tasty breakfast , what more can I say ,

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Bezzy0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Bezzy,

Thank you very much for sharing your latest experience at On the Rocks with us. We are delighted to hear that it was so memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back for more of the same.

Kind regards,

The On the Rocks Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

This is one of the best spots to have breakfast, lunch or dinner. The view of Table Mountain can't be beaten. We have breakfast and Joy served us, the food is great tasting, the cafe late strong, but great tasting. Service was exceptional and staff very friendly. Would recommend this restaurant and will definitely return soon.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Illona0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Illona,

Thank you very much for sharing your latest experience at On the Rocks with us. We are delighted to hear that it was so memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back for more of the same.

Kind regards,

The On the Rocks Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

As expected, lovely breakfast at On The Rocks. Location fantastic, service and meals really worth it.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank AlisonC2852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnTheRocks12, General Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Dear Alison,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are delighted to hear about your recent experience at On The Rocks.

We look forward to hosting you once again in the near future.

Kind regards,

The On The Rocks Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On The Rocks also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to On The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing