We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impromptu Saturday visit ”
Review of The Blue Pig

The Blue Pig
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Wolvey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Blue Pig is a 600 year old Country Inn. We serve traditional country cuisine prepared on site from our own recipes, with ingredients sourced locally. We have a range of real ales, craft beers, cold lagers, premium gins and wines, as well as a great selection of soft drinks to suit your palate. In the Winter we have 2 log fires to keep you warm and in the Summer we have a great Beer Garden where you can enjoy the countryside while have a wonderful meal and a nice pint.
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Arrived between serving times (4pm Saturday) should have checked website first. Waited for the kitchens to open at 5pm. Ordered mixed grill, scampi, a salmon salad special and a burger. Would be nice to have the option of Children’s sized portions form the main menu, as the children’s menu was a little limited. But on arrival the food was delicious, the mixed grill especially good. The salmon salad was nice. Burger and scampi pretty standard stuff. A pleasant visit and nice to get proper pub food that looks homemade rather than reheated frozen stuff.

Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina L, Owner at The Blue Pig, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear Alexandra,

Thank you for the review. Your comments are greatly appreciated, and we are glad that you found us for your early evening meal.

We appreciate the feedback for the children's menu, and as we are currently re-writing menu's, the timing could not be better.

Thanks again and kind regards,

Trina, Brian and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Visited the Blue Pig as we will be moving in the area, and it so didn’t disappoint, beautiful little old traditional village pub, lovely friendly staff and superb Sunday dinner with fresh vegetables, just like you would make at home!! We will be back to try more from the menu

Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina L, Owner at The Blue Pig, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Joanne,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and stars. We are really glad you enjoyed your visit - particularly as you are moving to the area soon. We look forward to being your local.

Your feedback and comments are very much appreciated, thanks again.

Kind Regards,
Trina, Brian and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Came here after playing a game locally, thought would be a nice place to go as fancied a pub meal afterwards. Glancing at the menu should had been a warning, for instance £12 for mac and cheese this couldn't be right?
Anyway the place itself looks nice, warm feeling on the inside with seating outside.
Ordered our food, a T-bone, salmon, lamb burger and a sirloin.
Unfortunately when the Sirloin came it was requested to be cooked at medium, actually the easiest way to cook a steak. However, what came out was a well done cooked steak!
The meal was sent back to which we were told a new one would be prepared. During the wait, one of our party went to the bar to get drinks. While having drinks being taken care of, a senior member of staff made the comment 'oh I bet she complains how this one' (being the freshly cooked steak).
Now this isn't made up as our friend told us what happened, the following proves this.
The new steak came out, amazingly it was rare on the outside yet medium well on the inside!
A young member of staff asked how the meals were, my friend made the comment about the steak while pointing out the comment that was made.
After finishing our meals the lady who was in charge that day (who was the same person that made the comment) came outside with the chef to talk about everything.
During the conversation, the manager made the comment 'we bet money on that one coming back too'. What continued from there was constant lies and excuses which really is poor 'management' and customer service.
The poorly cooked sirloin steak attempts were removed from the bill, a £10 gift voucher was given also.
Overall, the place looks nice, little overpriced, but the management or one in particular rather should not be in a position where they deal face to face or around customers. There are younger members of staff working there, set some sort of example for them.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank melwin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina L, Owner at The Blue Pig, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hello There,

Firstly, thank you for the feedback and apologies again for the problems with the sirloin steak. It was nice to hear on the day, that everyone else enjoyed their food.

I know I apologised a few times while you were here, and for saying the wrong thing, and tried to make it up to you with a replacement steak, a refund and then a gift voucher. I was really hoping to make your experience better.

We know we are not the cheapest, but we are a small family business, with all the overheads of a 15th century pub and try and provide good quality product, service and surroundings.

I hope you will see from our many 5 star reviews, that we do usually get it right. Indeed, this is our whole ethos and we serve over 1000 Customers each week. On this occasion, I think the hottest day of the year so far got to us, and my comment, though not intended to offend, was unfortunate. It was made more out of frustration, as we do not like to get it wrong, and sadly once one thing goes wrong, often other problems follow. This was the meaning behind my comment.

Thanks for trying us anyway, and we are sorry that you did not have a good experience on this occasion.

Kind Regards,
Trina & Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

What's happened? This pub used to be first class! 25 minute wait to order, 45 minute wait to be served. My wife ordered Sea Bass on ratatouille. When it arrived the fish was that greasy from being pan fried, it had separated the sauce from the ratatouille! I ordered the gammon and chips, frozen fries and the gammon had a large piece of fat in it which probably took up a 1/3 of its supposed weight! Never going there again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Vincent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina L, Owner at The Blue Pig, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Vincent,

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We could do with some more information and would be grateful if you could call us please on 01455 882827.

It is difficult for us to comment on your meals retrospectively, but the Sea bass is served with a vierge topping, made with olive oil. This may be why what you are describing. This is covered in the decription in the menu. We only buy gammon from our acclaimed butcher, so we too expect good quality. Apologies that you did not enjoy yours.

Thank you for your feedback, and sorry to hear that we were not what you were looking for.

Regards,
Trina




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

We took a risk as we went out for a drive and thought we would drop in somewhere for a meal. We were looking for another pub but thought this looked really nice. We went to the bar to see if we could have a table. They said they would check and said if we could wait 15 minutes then they would seat us. So glad they did. The food was absolutely lovely and I would definitely go back. I would recommend booking as I could see it was a very busy place. The staff were all very friendly and polite. So happy we came across this pub. I give them 5* for service, food and value for money.

1  Thank Kerri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trina L, Owner at The Blue Pig, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Kerri,
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for the 5 star feedback. So glad you found us and enjoyed your visit.
We hope you drop by again one day.
Kind Regards,
Trina, Brian and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Pig also viewed

 
Lutterworth, Leicestershire
 
Hinckley, Leicestershire
Hinckley, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Blue Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing