We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful, comfortable escape after visiting...”
other travellers have booked this property
Nell'antico borgo di Ostia Antica vi attende un luogo che vi concederà di scordare ogni affanno
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nell'antico borgo di Ostia Antica vi attende un luogo che vi concederà di scordare ogni affanno
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Nell'antico borgo di Ostia Antica vi attende un luogo che vi concederà di scordare ogni affanno
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ostia Antica, Province of Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Russian first
Any
English first
Bu_Gede
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A peaceful, comfortable escape after visiting cities”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in October 2017

Communication with Gabriella was excellent and we found everything to be as it was described to us. It was a very clean, comfortable apartment with all your needs provided for. The feeling of the place was very calming and we felt very comfortable and the amenities were very good. It was situated near the shops and there were plenty of cafes - especially the little shop under Wisteria Home where the service and food was excellent. It is located a short walk from Ostia Antica which is a very interesting archeological site. It wasn't crowded and all amenities were available including a very good cafeteria. We enjoyed our 3 night stay there and highly recommend it. Gabriella also arranged our transfer to the airport.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josH4566O...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect home”
Reviewed 30 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Wisteria Home is perfect. Gabriella is a wonderful hostess, who was there to meet us & show us round the apartment.
The apartment & setting is stunning. The home is clean, beautifully decorated & furnished, with a secure gateway & entrance. Everything needed for your stay is provided, including welcome treats.
Wisteria Home is close to the station which has you into Rome within 1/2 hour with a frequent service.
I would highly recommend this traditional apartment in a traditional village as an excellent alternative to staying in the madness of Rome

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandyacro...
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Visit Rome but Stay Here in Ostia Antica just 30 odd minutes away.”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

On Arrival: The owner offered assistance from the train, but we took a transfer & arrived at the door. At Street Level there is a shop selling freshly cooked meals, vegetables, processed meats, cheeses, wine, oil and other necessities. We took quite a few meals from here to our apartment. The lady phoned the owner for us who then arrived and assisted with our bags, banking and contact details in case we needed anything else.

The Apartment: There was nothing else we could need as the apartment was perfect. With wooden beamed ceilings, thick walls, modern kitchen (m/wave, toaster, coffee mach., hotplate/oven, fridge with little freezer & all utensils, with everything supplied for self catering including a Welcome Kit of little luxuries. Modern bathroom with bidet, toilet, washing machine, vanity & my favorite; the rain and hand shower with the changing coloured light. Very cute.
The bed has a firm mattress with hand painted sheets and lovely towels.
Of course a table, chairs, lounge, cupboards, books, guide materials, No TV, but fabulous fast & reliable WiFi so it wasn't needed.

Area: WOW. the building is within an ancient part of the city and attached to its wall. Inside the wall are other buildings of the same age. The 15 century Castle and church in the same area is very modern by comparison. There are little water springs, cobble stones and very friendly people. The town has great eateries, super cheep and drinkable wine, lovely little stores with everything a traveler may need ie groceries, post office, restaurants, bars, bus stop, all within a hop skip & jump outside your door. A darling little park is also right outside your door with an enormous eucalyptus tree.... (we are from Oz ).
Just a quick walk of a few meters around the corner there is the archaeological site of the original Ancient Roman Ruins of Port of Ostia Antica. Adult admission was 8 euro each. This site is almost on a par with Pompey's ruins. There are remnants of frescoes, a museum with statues and the many floor mosaics insitu. Buildings, cemeteries, bakeries, vessels, houses, streets etc. Whilst we were there Fleetwood Mac were setting up in the ancient ampytheatre for a nights concert. I fortunately loved their sound checking! Many different concerts are held there.

Getting About: Street parking is available if in your own car.
Access by Taxi To & From Airport, suggest contact with owner re taxi booking. 15-20 mins.
Train from Rome. approx 30 mins. There are buses to the sea side Ostia approx.20 mins.
From Civitavecchia the port for Rome and Cruise Ships, take either a transfer that you can buy at the port gate or a train to Rome, but only as far as Ostense, then move to the local train station nearby and take the train to Ostia Antica. Easy walk to town or ring owner.

Summary: Half the price of Rome accommodation, fantastic accommodation, fantastic town, fantastic people, fantastic sites, easy to get about. Make this a home base for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owner Gabrielle, Appartment, Immediate area of the Town, Town People, Location, Achielogical Ruins
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Dear Mandy, your review is so specific and full of details. Thank you so much, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again. Gabriella
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APS_8200
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in October 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meander81...
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing