We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (678)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveller rating
332
228
80
29
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
228
80
29
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a family run hotel st malo changed hands swimming pool stayed for nights room rate an excellent restaurant quality hotel sofa bed foie gras reception staff grand marnier lovely hotel nice bathroom night stay air conditioning overnight stop
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 678 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Delightful staff, first-class amenities (lovely terrace and gardens, spa and beautiful pool) and superb dinner. But no sleep - roaring traffic on road next door all night long and high speed train in front (which did stop late evening) - thought we were on the M25! Admittedly fully double-glazed and air conditioning but we like open bedroom windows and fresh air so totally unable to sleep.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

We stayed for one night in August 2018 and were very disappointed - the location was not great, bar and food prices were extortionate, the atmosphere was gloomy and the beds did not feel very fresh. The swimming pool was fine but the facilities around it were poor, there were few places to sit and the jacuzzi was colder than the pool. You need to give notice to have a sauna and even then it was 15 euro per person. We will not be returning. Sorry - could have been so much better!

Room tip: Probably better to try elsewhere. Absolutely no atmosphere.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JulieandSteven418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Change the decoration, refresh and modernize. It does not match the quality of your restaurant. It loks awful. The dead plants and old painting in the swimming pool are not attractive and your pool needs some repaint. Right now nothing gives me the will to come back

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
Thank trickyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We stayed for 2 nights at the start of our holiday. We wanted a hotel within close distance from St Malo with safe and secure parking for our bikes. The service we received was exceptional, staff were always on hand to help and advise, we were able to store our bikes in the hotel's garage and there was ample hotel parking. Our family of 4 (two older children) was easily able to fit in the room we had with a sofa bed - we had thought we may need two rooms, so it was great to be able to all have one room. Definitely call ahead and check before booking, especially if you book through an external booking site.

The room had all of the facilities we needed, and that you would expect from a good hotel. Having an indoor pool to use was great for the family (we were offered swimming towels by the reception on the way to the pool). We did choose to have breakfast each day and my only comment would be to offer to include the price of breakfast in the room rate at a slightly lesser amount as it did seem quite a lot extra to pay. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evenings as we met with friends in St Malo, but the menu did look amazing. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel, which was spacious. The garden rooms at the back of the hotel looked great.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Stayed here as it was recommended by a friend. We were a group of ten and we were well looked after.

The highlight is the restaurant of course, with excellent food as you would expect from a one star establishment. Service was also top notch. Even their simplest €55 menu is a taste sensation.

We used the pool and spa area - it's a good sized pool but there are no towels in evidence and no staff in that area to ask. So we just used our room towels (as usual the bath towels are small like many French hotels).

The rooms were spacious, modern and clean and good value.

Breakfast is a bit of a disappointment at €18, with limited hot food options and no menu for hot food, such as omelettes, eggs benedict etc. Also no boiled egg station.

The main issue with this hotel and easy to fix nowadays is the wifi. You have to constantly log back in with an email address which is a bore.

Overall, it's a good quality hotel with an excellent restaurant and I would come back again.

Room tip: Rooms in the Annex are close to the pool.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazzarutto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison_Tirel_Guerin, Gérant at Maison Tirel-Guerin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Sir,
many thanks for you comments,
your remarks will help us improve our service.
The Restaurant Staff is looking forward to looking after you again,
and in the meantime, I hope you enjoy a lovely summer,
Chantal Duval

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews