We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveller rating
326
226
78
29
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
226
78
29
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry from st malo a family run hotel scallops changed hands swimming pool stayed for nights room rate quality hotel sofa bed reception staff an excellent restaurant grand marnier nice bathroom en route air conditioning overnight stop lovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 667 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Stayed here as it was recommended by a friend. We were a group of ten and we were well looked after.

The highlight is the restaurant of course, with excellent food as you would expect from a one star establishment. Service was also top notch. Even their simplest €55 menu is a taste sensation.

We used the pool and spa area - it's a good sized pool but there are no towels in evidence and no staff in that area to ask. So we just used our room towels (as usual the bath towels are small like many French hotels).

The rooms were spacious, modern and clean and good value.

Breakfast is a bit of a disappointment at €18, with limited hot food options and no menu for hot food, such as omelettes, eggs benedict etc. Also no boiled egg station.

The main issue with this hotel and easy to fix nowadays is the wifi. You have to constantly log back in with an email address which is a bore.

Overall, it's a good quality hotel with an excellent restaurant and I would come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Annex are close to the pool.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazzarutto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison_Tirel_Guerin, Gérant at Maison Tirel-Guerin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Sir,
many thanks for you comments,
your remarks will help us improve our service.
The Restaurant Staff is looking forward to looking after you again,
and in the meantime, I hope you enjoy a lovely summer,
Chantal Duval

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We were very pleased to stay in this beautiful hotel. Perfect service, very good breakfast, nice room and last but not least, an excellent restaurant, one of the best I ever had! An absolute must! We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
Thank ericdeschepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison_Tirel_Guerin, Gérant at Maison Tirel-Guerin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Sir,
many thanks for your kind comments,
we will be looking forward to greeting you again here,
in the meantime, we wish for you to have a warm and happy summer,
Chantal Duval

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We loved the room with the mini-garden and very well functioning air condition.
We wanted a hotel with good food and we got it.Dinner was excellent and the breakfast was also very good.
Our only problem was to find the place,make sure to research you route.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
Thank sandlolund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison_Tirel_Guerin, Gérant at Maison Tirel-Guerin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Sandlolund,
many thanks for your kind comment,
we hope that you summer will be warm and pleasant,
Chantal Duval

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

I was aware that what had been a family run hotel over many years changed hands some years ago. I am pleased to say I received an excellent welcome. The whole of France had been deluged with rain for the 3 weeks of my holiday in France, but here I was warm and cosy. Excellent heated pool and hot tub. Delightful seasonal menu: it was not extensive, but I prefer quality to quantity. No problems with my having to make an early departure to catch the ferry.

Room Tip: My room had a terrace on to the pretty garden. Interesting vegetable garden.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
Thank Historian1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison_Tirel_Guerin, Gérant at Maison Tirel-Guerin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Sir,
thank you ever so much for you awfully kind comment,
we wish for your summer to be as warm and cosy as your stay was here,
Kindly yours,
Chantal Duval

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

The hotel and grounds, room, staff, food (with one exception) and wine were perfect. We have been staying here for 40 years and always particularly look forward to the Grand Marnier souffle. We were told this year that they could not source the Grand Marnier Cuvee du Centenaire, ok, but why change to verbena ? - it tasted like mouthwash ! Need to find a supply of Grand Marnier Cuvee du Centenaire and revert to Grand Marnier souffle.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the pool etc ask for a room in the annexe.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
1  Thank OggyChannelIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison_Tirel_Guerin, Maitre d' at Maison Tirel-Guerin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Dear Oggy,
thank you for your comment.
Regarding the soufflé, any nice Cuvée from grand Marnier, whether it be Centenaire or Cent cinquantenaire is NO longer available, not only to us but to anyone... none of these are made anymore, their production has stopped a few years ago, hence all stocks being down to zero and us having to change to Verbena Liquor. So reversing to Centenaire is unfortunately non possible, as much as we regret it. Kindly Yours, Christophe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews