We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a wonderful break at Shepherds Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Local Welcome Basket
Bala White-Water Rafting nearby
Mountain Biking trails nearby and secure storage at Rivercatcher
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bala, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
giliang20...
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a wonderful break at Shepherds Cottage”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

A well equipped beautiful cottage in a stunning location. We thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub, all the local eateries and walks on our door step.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub and beautiful views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandarodn...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Amazing birthday weekend in beautiful accommodation/surroundings”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I have had the most wonderful long weekend staying in Shepherds Cottage. I really cannot fault the stay. Everything has been thought of and the fixtures/fittings are very high end. The owners photos and website photos are all true to form so no need to post my own.

Kitchen has everything you can possibly need and is very well equipped. We arrived to fresh eggs & milk, local bread, welsh shortbread, bara brith cake, welsh butter, tea bags, sugar, ground coffee and a bottle of red wine. Quality eco handwash, dishwasher tablet and washing up liquid is there waiting and tea towels, cloths and bin liners also provided.

The bathrooms are fitted to a very high standard with adjustable powerful showers, large bath and plentiful hot water on demand. As well as quality soap, shower gel and lotion provided.

The 6' bed was really comfortable and I'm very picky - it was evidently a quality bed with good linen.

Smart TVs, Netflix and good quality wi-fi was really great for a comfortable evening in. Heated floors and the log burning stove were also invaluable as it was a cold wet November stay. But there weather didn't really affect us as its so cosy in the cottage.

The hot tub was great after walking the very scenic 3 mile Precipice Walk in Dolgellau which I would recommend - just 40 mins drive away.

Aled the maintenance man was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and checks the hot tub every day. The games room is a great touch with table football and table tennis. There is also a laundry room if you need it.

The local area has a lot to offer, we walked to the village of Llandrillo a couple of times in our stay. We visited the well stocked local Store and although we didn't try Som's thai food it was recommended to us by locals.

As for food and drink you are spoiled with both Tyddan Llan michelin starred restaurant and the Berwyn Restaurant within walking distance. Definitely try them as we had great experiences in both.

There is no light pollution in the area so its very dark at night, so I would suggest a torch (or charge your phones to use as torches!) so you can use it when walking to the village restaurants.

Everyone we met was so welcoming and friendly (even the sheep, pheasants and squirrels!). In closing there is no doubt I would return and recommend Rivercatcher.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Real 5 star facilities - everything had been considered
Liked least: Shepherds cottage is close to the car park and entrance so not as private as the other cottages.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accomodation spotlessy clean catered to your every need 5 star .”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Beautiful cottage everything is first class, a lovely hamper on arrival just to get you started. Towels and robes included which were ideal ready for the hot tub, after a hard day climbing Snowdon. The area is really peaceful if you are looking to relax, and there are some lovely walks around the area long and short whatever you are up for at the time. There's a fab pub just five minutes walk away if you are looking for a nice meal. All in all it was a fabulous place would definitely go back and stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful break”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Idyllic setting & excellent facilities in cottages - all top grade. Smart TV was great as we could catch up on the Athletics world championships on BBC iPlayer in the evenings.
Beds were extremely comfy
Only negative would be that we had to travel 30+ miles each day to find things to do for the kids.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nesslw
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday accommodation”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is my second visit to Rivercatcher and will not be the last. Set amongst beautiful ccountryside all cottages are finished to a very high specification with exceptional attention to detail. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing