We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (819)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveller rating
627
136
28
12
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
627
136
28
12
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach junior suite swimming pool wine bar hotel guests castello di san marco beautiful grounds main building great pool an oasis large bathroom off season food was amazing after midnight second to none bottle of prosecco golf buggy
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 819 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Over the past 7 years we've been here 5 times, staying in a suite. We revisited so often because we found the relaxing ambience and peacefulness of the hotel delightful and were always sad to leave. Sadly this is no longer true and we won't be back. The hotel seemed to be filled to the brim with lots of noisy families (great if that's your kind of break). The pool was chaotic and on both sides of our chalet there were families with babies and small children who kept very odd hours. We learned from our neighbours that packages were now offered by the hotel (through, for example, Secret Escapes) at substantially reduced rate (much less than we paid) and realised that this is the new direction of the hotel. Direct/independent booking certainly isn't always best with this hotel. Personally, as a couple, while we like to see well behaved children around, we prefer a calm holiday so avoid package holidays with a family focus. We always visit at the same time each year so really noticed the difference as did two other sets of repeat guests (both couples) that we have become acquainted with over the years (who also won't be returning). Obviously this is a personal thing and the hotel's new direction may be perfect for others. For the first time too our bed was too hard for either of us to get a good sleep (we should have mentioned it perhaps at the start of our stay, but didn't, largely because in this calibre of hotel we didn't feel we should have to, and also because we have never had that problem before and were very puzzled). The rooms too could do with a bit of the updating to match what's been going on in the communal areas. They haven't seen the refurbishment that the event areas have and are beginning to look a little tired. The holiday was also badly let down this time by the attitude of one of the restaurant staff. This was perhaps the biggest surprise of all as we have always really valued the service before. We ordered a bottle of wine from the menu only for it to be charged on the bill by 6 euros more than it was shown there. We pointed it out to the waitress who argued saying 'it was the old menu price' (but nevertheless the one we had been shown). Eventually she reluctantly deducted the amount but not after other diners had turned to see our disagreement. We normally eat at the hotel most nights but after this incident went elsewhere. With dinner being a formal affair at the hotel (something we usually enjoy) and costing upwards of 130 euros we expect better. An immediate apology and correction was in order given the price advertised, not a squabble about our query. If you visit, do check your bill, we were also charged for Minibar items we had not ordered (these were removed when we complained). We've loved this place for years and spent many thousands of pounds there in that period so it's with some sadness that we report the differences between now and our last visit just a year ago. But it's just no longer value for money and doesn't offer the level of service, relaxation and comfort of nearby hotels in a similiar price range.

Room tip: Avoid rooms near the main hotel, these can be noisy when weddings are on which is often in summer months
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lg77772015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

If you just want to relax, this is the one for you.
We stopped for 4 nights in the villa right next to the swimming pool.
We loved the villa because it was set apart from the other guest's apartments. We requested a bath, my partner loved the sunken bath we got, the villa was very roomy inside, with a comfy bed and great aircon.
We used the Matri Flavetti restaurant twice, the food and service was faultless.
We also used the bar beside the pool, and the cocktail bar, the staff was very friendly.
As I stated, this place is ideal to relax, apart from another excellent restaurant 'blue ice' just outside, there is nothing else local.
There was nobody else at the cocktail bar, so great for service, and your favourite seat always guaranteed.
I think it's the first and only time on holiday I have been able to swim 40>50mtrs, from one end to the other without bumping into someone, and not to worry about getting there early to the pool for a sun lounger.
We ventured to the beach just once, not keen on single, it was very clean.
We did have a large wedding function whilst we stayed, but was notified by Mr Murabito (manager) prior by letter with a nice bottle of fizz.
The wedding function did not spoil our stay but enhanced it, with fireworks and music, finishing shortly after midnight.
Be sure to bring extra coat hangers with you (an odd comment, but we had 4 for all our clothes).
Grab some bottle water on the way from the airport otherwise you could be purchasing from the mini bar (very expensive, there is no shop).
You are given fresh towels each day for use at the pool, hang on to your first lot, otherwise you could be waiting until late afternoon for the maid to bring the fresh ones.

Can't wait to return....

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pipbrundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Castle building, gardens & pool are beautiful, but the location is remote with a car essential as the nearest decent town is a 20 min drive away. Hotel dining options limited with only one pool bar & one a la carte restaurant. No guest entertainment is provided, only evening options are, certainly during our stay, an empty cocktail bar or driving elsewhere, the hotel lacks any atmosphere. Wedding events dominate evenings – 3 of 4 nights we stayed had weddings, with one playing loud music until 4am despite management insistence midnight is the cut off.
We’d booked a Junior suite with garden view which the website pictures showed a bright, spacious & tastefully furnished room. We actually got a very dark room with a kitchenette Including hob?, a second double bed on a mezzanine above the main bed (strange for a 2 person / couple booking), it contained very dated décor, wasn’t cleaned properly, had no safe on arrival, no milk for tea / coffee provided (had to obtain from pool bar or restaurant at breakfast), a broken fridge & kettle & no ironing facilities – acknowledge that safe, kettle & fridge were sorted but required chasing. Daily pool towels were provided which was nice as was the complimentary ice tea at midday, however, tap water requests were refused with only charged bottled water being offered. Beach was grey gravel & not welcoming so we didn’t spend any time here (note – extra charge to use). We left after 3 nights of our 7 night stay as location, décor & facilities were simply not to our taste. Might suit some looking for mini spa break. Take care when offering feedback as management will vehemently refute all negative comments, although after complaining on our return we were offered 50% off a further stay – which given our experience we declined.

Room tip: Avoid Junior Suites & room 103
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreatScott12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

We recently spent 6 nights here in one of the hotel's junior suites. Overall we had a lovely stay and there are some real gems in this place.

Pros:
- Beautiful grounds with incredibles buildings and features.
- Lovely swimming pool. We enjoyed it so much that we didn't feel the need to use the beach.
- Very attentive and helpful staff. The ladies at reception are fantastic, and the waiters in the restaurant are very thoughtful and remember your coffee order for the mornings
- The location is ideal for exploring the east and south sides of Sicily. Although there are not many places to eat in walking distance, there are some good restaurants in Taormina and Giardini Naxos which are drivable in under 20 minutes
- The restaurant at the hotel was incredible, and possibly one of our favourite meals that we had in Sicily.

Cons:
- The hotel is also used as an events location, which unfortunately means in the summer there are quite a few weddings going on in the grounds. There were 3 events during our stay, which meant that at about 6pm there is an influx of guests into the grounds. Whilst the hotel tries to keep them as separate as possible, and they usually are confined to a marquee later on, it's difficult to avoid the guests (and noise) completely. This means that occasionally the hotel does not feel as private or relaxing as you might hope.

I met with the manager, who was lovely, and explained that in order to upkeep the beautiful grounds, the events are a necessity. I think we were unfortunate in our timings, as usually they do not have so many events in the space of one week. He went out of his way to ensure our remaining stay was as comfortable as possible, which we greatly appreciated, so I would advise that if you do have any issues please make sure you meet with him rather than suffer in silence. I think a good compromise would be if you were told at the start of your stay what nights were booked for events, so that you could plan to be out for dinner.

- The rooms are well equipped, clean and comfortable. The only thing I would say is that they didn't quite match what we expected from the pictures, which looked a lot airier and open. This wasn't a major issue at the time and didn't affect the quality of our stay,

Overall, it was a really enjoyable stay, and the above points would not have changed our minds about booking Castello di San Marco if we had known before. Thank you for the stay!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

If you are looking for a romating place where to spend few days away from the stressful life - yes this is the perfect place to stay . Superb garden (congratulation for the design and evrething about) BIG pool and pool area , always clean and nice terace restaurant service. Bfast was OK - basic nothing special about ....and rooms are clean , spacious ... but for what are you paying is on the expensive side .

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank daniel1968_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews