We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$228
Orbitz.comUS$228
CheapTicketsUS$228
TravelocityUS$228
TripadvisorUS$228
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
201
62
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
201
62
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue bamboo harbour room dogs and cats water taxi st lucia bread toast choice of cereals homemade jams overlooking the bay beautiful location local fruits small beach wonderful hosts humming birds relaxing stay boat trip car hire
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2020

Beautiful location. Access by local ferry added to the romance. Gorgeous garden, lots of nature. Nice room with a lovely view of the bay from our balcony. Near to the local small beach. Very welcoming host, we were made to feel very much at home. Felt safe there. Lovely fresh fruit breakfast served by Marie. Good advice about the island and help arranging trips. Plenty to do within the immediate vicinity too, with a trail into the tropical jungle behind the house, trips across the bay or just star gazing from the pool! We also enjoyed a boat trip and a trip to the north of the island. Overall, thoroughly enjoyable stay in a very special place.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Road695753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connector13165695223, Owner at Mango Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2020

Thank you - it makes us very happy when our guests take the time to really explore and enjoy our beautiful bay and our ramshackle old inn! Spread the word and come back soon. We do discounts for returning guests.
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2020

The setting is lovely with great views of the bay. The bedroom was air conditioned. The breakfasts were nice, and were had in front of large open windows looking over the bay. The hosts/owners were excellent and very knowledgable. The dogs were lovely too.
There's quite a climb up to the hotel from the dock, which will be fine for the able bodied. The bathroom and plumbing isn't great, but is clean.
The side of the bay where the hotel is is nice and quiet.
A few restaurants around, although many belonging to the big hotel. Car hire is advised if staying in Marigot Bay.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank T542TMdanielf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connector13165695223, Owner at Mango Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2020

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We're so happy you enjoyed staying at Marigot! You are right about renting a car to exp;lore the rest of the island - so much cheaper and more flexible than taxis!

Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2020

My husband and I are not ones for large, fancy hotels and so were looking forward to our stay at Mango Beach Inn very much. We were not disappointed. The location is idyllic – Marigot Bay is by far the most beautiful bay on the island and to be able to sit out on our decking/patio area (spacious Blue Bamboo room) with a fantastic view overlooking the bay, surrounded by lovely gardens with humming birds flitting about was just perfect. The property is in a very peaceful and tranquil setting and it is certainly historic, rustic and ramshackle which added to the charm of it. Judith and John were perfect hosts from start to finish – nothing was too much trouble from arranging airport transfers, advice with car hire (would recommend), trips out and assisting with the 3 evening barbecues which we held for a change although we also found there was enough choice of nearby restaurants for evening meals.
Breakfast was all that we wanted with a view to die for overlooking the Bay again – a choice of cereals, juice, fresh fruits (most from the garden), bread/toast and home made jams – served by Marie who always had a smile on her face and who was always very helpful.

The swimming pool in the grounds was adequate for our needs, immaculately maintained by both John and Judith and as a result very clean and a perfect temperature.

We also fell in love with the 3 dogs and cats who were not a problem – although 1 of the 3 cats was very aloof!

Our fellow guests were like minded people who wanted to be ‘far from the madding crowd’ and as a result we all got on very well, sharing trips and meals out.

A wonderful 2 weeks – the most relaxing my husband and I have ever had!

Vicky & Mike

Room tip: Blue Bamboo very spacious with wonderful patio/decking area overlooking the Bay
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welly42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connector13165695223, Owner at Mango Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Dear Vicky and Mike

Thank you so much - it was a pleasure having you to stay. When we have happy guests - and especially when they get on well with our other guests, it makes being an innkeeper a very pleasurable experience!

The key to really enjoying St Lucia - and especially from Marigot Bay, is to get out and enjoy the island. St Lucia isn't just about sea and sand, our island has a depth of culture and history that many islands don't. plus of course, sea, sand and rainforest.

we really appreciate your comments and i will post the hat you left behind next time i'm visiting the UK!

Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2020 via mobile

We had a very nice stay at the inn. The place has a beautiful view of Marigot Bay. The owners are very caring & nice. Breakfast of fresh fruit, cereal & bread was perfect for us.
Owners recommended very interesting excursions & trustworthy guides.
Meet some very nice couples staying at the inn. New friends.
Be advised the property could use some updating.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 430maureenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connector13165695223, Owner at Mango Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2020

Thanks Maureen

It was a pleasure having you and the family to stay with us. You certainly made the effort to get to know our beautiful island!

Mango Beach is the oldest inn in Marigot - and we have, as you know, an amazing view. i wish we could afford to 'modernise' it but the truth is that what we earn from renting out three rooms wouldn't enable us to do much updating. we make sure that everything is clean and that all the electrical systems work, But beyond that would mean a rebuild which would of course strip away the rustic character of this old stone building.....

We really appreciate your kind comments!

Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2019

Gone for a 4/5, as I think it's fair for the price - St Lucia is not a cheap place to stay and this was way cheaper than other places we stayed - so I judge it in that regard, which feels fair. If it was higher priced, I'd give it a 3 I think as it needs an update in a few areas.

- Location is great, a nice little oasis of undeveloped land in the Marigot bay area. When it was first built, this place would have been incredible as the area would have been less developed.
Note: you *have* to use a water taxi to get there, which can be a bit sketchy if you need to leave at a certain time. We felt this was just normal Caribbean time keeping, but might not suit everyone, ;-)

- Pleasant, simple, breakfast included local fruits grown in their garden. They also provided something for us when we went out early one day, and served much earlier than usual another day, which was appreciated. Overall, they were flexible and helpful.

- The restaurant on their dock looked interesting, but didn't serve anything vegetarian (seemed unusual in a very touristy part of the island). Plenty of other places nearby you can get a water taxi to, easily enough. Enjoyed the food in the Indian best I think.

- Room was big enough for us, although as above, was a bit dated - could use a refresh. The plumbing needs an upgrade: it was the only place we stayed where you couldn't really drink the water, the shower was super temperamental (limited pressure, makes a huge noise in the pipes), and the toilet flush was really weak (a shame, as it meant we ended up wasting water with multiple flushes).
Suspect there's no merit in upgrading that as it would be super expensive I'm sure, and I think the plot is up for sale in the future. It's not awful, just don't expect anything incredible from your shower/bathroom and you'll be fine.

- There a fair few steps up to the property, so bear than in mind. Was fine for us, but choose somewhere else if access is important.

- Their dogs are super friendly, and kudos to them for taking them in and giving them a nice life. As noted above, they're nice people.

- Bring a hire car, driving in St Lucia is easy enough as the roads are quiet, and there's plenty of parking around.

Date of stay: December 2019
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connector13165695223, Owner at Mango Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2019

Hi Chris

Sorry i didn't get to meet you but i hope John and Marie looked after you.

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate your comments. i am sorry the plumbing isn't super modern but re-plumbing this historic building would be more than we earn in a year!

With regard to water - most places in the Caribbean apart from the big hotels, do not have totally safe drinking water. We are always happy to fill up your bottles and flasks and i hope you were given that option - we do have a very effective water filter system.

We do try to make sure that guests undersstand there are 30 steps up to Mango Beach Inn - not in one continuous starway - but it would not be suitable for anyone who has real mobility problems. Having said that, we do have many older couples who stay with us regularly and are fine with the stairs, the elevation of course is what gives us the wonderful view!

Thank you again and wishing you a Merry Christmas!

Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews