We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel America
Nearby Hotels
La Granjita(Santa Clara)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Los Caneyes(Santa Clara)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kurhotel Escambray(Topes de Collantes)
US$200
Official Website
View Deal
US$195
US$170
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Villa Caburni(Topes de Collantes)
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
39
91
37
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
91
37
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorcoppelia ice creampoolside barcooked omelettenice poolwifi cardhotel is cleanstreet noisebreakfast was includedrestaurant staffsmall hotelmangoporkhot waterevery morningcentral squaregreat food
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018

I stayed in Hilton properties over 160 nights in 2017 - so I have a fairly good idea of their service standards. Of all my stays, including the lower tier Hilton properties, this was the WORST. SERVICE. EVER. They have adopted this new Hilton protocol of communicating by text....thing is, the NEVER follow up.

I've stayed twice. The morning after my first stay I got a text message asking about my stay. I replied it was fine, but could they give me some extra towels. No acknowledgement of my request, but then they made a request to write a review. I commented that if they wanted me to write a review, I would, but all I had to say was the bed was soft and they had totally ignored my request, and solicited a review -- they apologized and said they would take extra towels to me. They didn't.

My second stay I had another, similar, service failure. Only, this time I have to stand at the front desk for 15 minutes at 11pm while they fixed the reservation glitch that they had promised to fix via text 12 hours earlier.

I left a message at the front desk to ask the GM to call me. Nada. I called the GM personally, the GM was in a meeting, and never returned the call.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailon D, Especialista de Calidad at Hotel America, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Hello
first of all we apologize for what happened and we thank you for writing us, because your comment helps us solve the problems we have and thus achieve the satisfaction of you, our customers, because this is our main objective. Once again I apologize.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We only dined at Hotel America while on a short visit to Santa Clara, but it was great! The hotel has a quite small cafe/restaurant near the pool located very centrally in Santa Clara. It was easily one of the best eateries we found in our 10 days in Cuba and the beer was beautifully cold. We ate beef, pork, rice, vegetables, and then caramel ice-cream. Could not fault any of them. Good portion sizes, attractively presented in a bright, airy, and spotless hotel cafe. At times our waiter was a little over-enthusiastic wanting to clear dishes while we were happy to take our time and enjoy the air conditioned comfort away from Santa Clara's oppressive humidity. However, it is difficult to complain about staff who are too attentive as the opposite was quite often our experience in state run Cuban eateries.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gill808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailon D, Especalista de Calidad at Hotel America, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Good Morning,
We are happy that you have felt this good in our hotel, because we work with the objective of satisfying our customers and getting them to return to serve them better and better. Thank you very much for your opinion and come back soon, we are waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

I spent a month working in Santa Clara, and the company I work for chose Hotel America for my stay. It was an amazing experience. From the moment you walk in, you feel at home. The hotel is always clean and well kept, and the staff is simply amazing.

The reception personnel is always friendly and attentive. The housekeeping ladies are the sweetest and the restaurant staff makes your day a little brighter each day. Rodolfo, Mikel, and El Niño are always making sure the guests are feeling comfortable and pleased. El niño makes the best mango batidos ever, so make sure you ask him to make you one!. Rey has the cutest smile and is always talkative and attentive, making sure you are feeling like family, and he makes great limonadas as well! and last but not least, Esther and La Hermana (Maria Esther) are always so sweet and attentive. The staff certainly makes up most of the experience of staying in Hotel America.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are quieter!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greii25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ariel P, Gerente at Hotel America, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017
Google Translation

Es todo un placer para nosotros escuchar su opinion muchas gracias esperamos se repita su visita . Gracias por preferirnos . asi se le comunicara al staff de trabajo . Una vez mas Gracias .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Very nice hotel in Santa Clara. I was there for 2 months. I was treated as family. Staff was excellent, very serviceable and humble. Hotel is clean and has good facilities. A little overpriced depending on time of the year but otherwise I think is the best place to stay in Santa Clara. Lot of dinning options walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos A. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailon D, Responsable de Calidad at Hotel America, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hola Carlos, thank you for your comments, we really enjoy opinions like this, we still have a lot to do for getting better, but we are going there, so we hope that you come again and we also hope that your next experience could be even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Nice Hotel, Good location, good customer services, small rooms but very clean, good air condition, the bath was clean, The mattress was very hard, very uncomfortable, they need to change them for a new, The pool was closed.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alfonso1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ariel P, Gerente at Hotel America, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017
Google Translation

Buenos Dias muchas gracias por su opinion , nos satisface mucho que haya quedado complacido , un placer tenerlo por aca .Esperamos repita su visita .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews