We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Usk
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

On 23rd & 24 th of September 2017 our Family took advantage of the Luxury Break to celebrate a Family 70th Birthday. Age range was from 12 to 96 & there was 16 of us . What an absolutely wonderful time we all had ! So sad to leave. From the friendly reception ,our beautiful rooms, our fabulous champagne afternoon tea, our delicious four course evening meal and lastly a welcome cooked breakfast. Most of all private dining in the library which meant we could laugh and reminisce as much as we wanted . Altogether two days of wonderful memories, thanks to the staff and owners. We were so lucky to have been so well looked after from the beginning and the planning with Sarah right through to Farewell. We will be back !!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

What a lovely break during the week. The staff were awesome. Particularly the young bar staff who served us in the evening.

The food was great, great setting. The breakfast was fab!

Four posted bed room was lovely. The hotel had everything we needed. Hair dryer/iron etc.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fowle625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

This is a very good hotel. Staff are courteous and attentive. The room was well appointed with an excellent bathroom. Food was very good, Breakfast was always of good quality and choice, Champagne afternoon tea a delight, a Lite Lunch very good value and the evening meal of excellent quality. All in all a good place to stay and thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Graham Arthur J... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We were a large family party- ranging in ages from 12 to 96 to celebrate a big birthday and it seemed like a really tall order keeping everyone happy. Glen Yr Afon managed to do just that- and more! The accommodation, the food and the staff were spot on. The weekend was exceptional value for money and far exceeded every expectation. I can't think of a single thing Glen yr Afon could've done better. If you are looking to celebrate something special as part of a group and need to find somewhere that makes you feel like your party are the most important guests that have ever stayed- then this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

My husband and I were married at the Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel on 22.07.17 and it was the most perfect day.
The first time we visited the hotel was to attend a wedding fayre and whilst we viewed other potential venues, none came close to the Glen-Yr-Afon.
The hotel has a lovely homely and cosy feel about it and the level of service that the staff provide is exceptional - they are professional yet approachable and nothing is too much trouble for them. They made us both feel very special on the big day - a huge thanks to Carol and Matthew!
We and a number of our guests took advantage of the weekend package so stayed on the Friday night before the wedding, as well as the night of the wedding. The package included a three course meal on the Friday night as well as breakfast on the Saturday and Sunday morning. I would highly recommend the package!
The food at the Glen-Yr-Afon is exceptional. All of the guests commented on how wonderful the wedding breakfast and evening buffet was and nobody could believe the portion size - generous to say the least.
The rooms at the hotel are decorated to a high standard. I stayed in the family room with the bridesmaids the night before the wedding and my husband stayed in the lodge with the groomsmen and we were treated to the bridal suite on the night of the wedding - all were beautiful.
The wedding packages offered by the hotel are such good value for money and the recommended suppliers linked to the hotel (including Love Lilly florists in Abergavenny) were all a joy to deal with and supplied a wonderful service.
I can't recommend this venue enough and if we could live out the day all over again we would choose Glen-Yr-Afon every time.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rachie531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Usk
5.5 km away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
15.1 km away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
966 reviews
0.4 km away
Three Salmons Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#1 of 1 in Llanvihangel Gobion
552 reviews
10.9 km away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
17.7 km away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel

Address: Pontypool Road, Usk NP15 1SY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Usk
Price Range: €155 - €184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits guests at the Glen-Yr-Afon House Hotel. Our South Wales hotel offers relaxation and a high level of personal service and attention, all in a rural location in the lovely county of Monmouthshire overlooking the banks of the River Usk. The small picturesque town of Usk is just a 5 minute stroll from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Yr Afon Hotel Usk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing