We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 13:00, 14:00 - 19:00
Save
Review Highlights
Would definitely recommend!

What a lovely afternoon we had here! Learnt a lot about wine and olive oil production but not too... read more

Reviewed 28 September 2018
iamthegarageflower
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Just Lovely

Please call ahead and book your private tasting with Elena. This 4th generation family owned... read more

Reviewed 20 September 2018
pameatlanta
,
Atlanta, GA
via mobile
Read all 265 reviews
  
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
228
36
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
36
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine and olive oil wine tasting family owned winery excellent wine great visit small vineyard small family great family different wines two hours spoke no english at home tasting experience bring home book in advance process of wine making perfect setting
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Poggio al Bosco, Hill in the Woods, on our tour led by Elena. We were a small group of 6, and Elena carefully explained the history of the winery, the name and the making of wine and olive oil. She was very friendly and answered all of our questions thoroughly in English. The wine tasting was excellent and she made it easy to purchase and ship a case home. We were fortunate to time our visit just before the harvest as we were able to sample the grapes as we strolled through the vineyards, accompanied by the family cat, Attilio.

Elena's father joined us during the tasting and while he spoke no English, was clearly happy we were there, sampling the wines. The tour is one of our favorite memories of our two weeks in Italy. When we make it back, Poggio al Bosco will be on the itinerary.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank CoryC945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We enjoyed the visit. The winery is small but very friendly and the explanation about was interesting and well prepared

Date of experience: August 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank alfred0beaum0nt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Excellent tour of the vineyard and winery, and then tasted 6 of their wines, from white, rose, red and then desert wine and grappa!
Really knowledgeable and friendly guide and then the tasting was assisted by the daughter of the family, with her father walking by ever now and then to say ciao!
Really nice place, great tour and lovely wines....having 2 cases shipped back to the UK.
They take great pride in their wines, which really comes through in the tour and tasting.
Would highly recommend.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank tonywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Poggio al Bosco, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you very much Tony for your beautiful review of your experience in our winery. We are really happy you enjoyed the time you spent with us during the tour and the tasting and that you appreciated the passion of the family for the wines. We hope you will enjoy our wines at home as well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

What a wonderful experience. Great family run orchard. Both wine and olive oil were delicious! I would recommend to anyone interested in experiencing the local culture.

Date of experience: August 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 187jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Poggio al Bosco, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Thank you so much Jake for your review. We are happy you liked our products and that you appreciated how we represent the local culture.
We wish you to enjoy our wine at home :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We visited the winery on 13 August and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Elena gave us a fascinating tour of the winery and Agnese steered us expertly through through the tasting experience. It felt like a really personal experience and they took great care of us. The snacks made with their local produce were lovely and we loved being accompanied on the tour by the young farm cat. We came way with plenty of the local product to enjoy during the rest of our holiday. Thouroughly enjoyable and great value compared with the tours of the big mass production chianti wineries.

Date of experience: August 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank garyneedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Poggio al Bosco, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hi Gary! Agnese and I really thank you for your beautiful review.
We are really happy you appreciated the tour, the tasting and the personal experience we offered to you. As we are a small and family-run winery, we are really proud to show our guests a different reality of the Chianti region.
We wait for you and your beautiful family again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews