We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
55
24
6
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
24
6
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden the pub overlooking the river yogurt sunday roast small fridge small car park large garden new owners would stay again feel very welcome awesome place little gem usk pint ensuite butter
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Overlooking the river and the famous bridge this Inn sits in an amazing location. We dropped in, walking back from the town of Abergavenny to our overnight hotel. We intended to have a pint and plod on. BUT 3 hours later we were still there. The total strangers that we met were great. Sharing their stories and observations with us, as if they had known us for years. The entire experience was great. The drinks well priced and dispensed quickly and expertly. This is a must if you are in the area.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Norm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

The staff were very friendly and the room was quite large as was the bed. The beer garden overlooks the river and there is free Wi-Fi.
There was milk, fruit juice and two yogurts in the small fridge along with some cheese and butter. There was also two croissants and three rolls in plastic bags and some cereal.
The car park is small and only held 4 vehicles when we stayed, not all were hotel guests and the hotel is on the side of a constantly busy main road which drivers accelerated along after leaving the bridge.
There was a wardrobe in the room,unfortunately it was half full of bedding so no room to hang suits.
We couldn't flush anything but toilet paper due to the type of toilet which also meant that the shower which had used soap bars in it drained very slowly.
There was no container in the bathroom for sanitary products but we did find some unused ones in the bedside cabinet.
The bed rooms are accessed via a very steep staircase which we struggled to climb due to mobility issues. The bottom support for the hand rail had been pulled out of the wall.
There was no chef when we stayed there, so no menu.

Room tip: Do not stay in Room 2 as it overlooks the road and traffic never stops.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 938fjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a night while visiting family in the area. Made to feel very welcome by the owners and shown to our room even though it wasn’t quite ready.

Room was spacious and clean, looked really cosy with a decent sized shower room too.

We were out all afternoon and only came back to have a quick drink in the bar before bed, so cannot comment on the food, though they did have a barbecue on as it was hot.

Bed was softer than I prefer but perfectly comfortable. Our room faced the front onto the rode but it wasn’t noisy.

Breakfast was continental and had been left in the room for us, included yoghurt, juice, coffee, rolls and croissants. We took some down to eat by the river as it was a nice day, would have been extra special if weld been able to get a freshly prepared breakfast while sat out admiring the view.

Would happily stay again.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dansarahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

The good first. A very friendly pub where I was made to feel welcome by staff and customers. A good selection of beers and a great location. A very large and comfy bed.
The not so good. The bedroom carpet was in need of a good, deep clean. There was a collection of hair sat over the shower's drain hole, the wash basin was cracked. Breakfast was a continental of rolls, croissant etc. put in the room the day before and the coffee was instant. I had to ask at 3pm for by breakfast things to be cleared and the room tidied. Luckily I was traveling light as the wardrobe was 1/2 full of spare bedding. I have paid less in Abergavenny for better.

Date of stay: April 2018
1  Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for an impromptu Sunday lunch whilst out for a drive.
What a great find!!!
We were welcomed warmly by Michelle and promptly served drinks and seated for lunch.
Sunday lunch was a choice of chicken or beef so we had both.
The food was freshly made and delicious. None of your frozen yorkshires and roast potatoes nonsense here!! The chef took great pride in his food and we polished off the lot, without complaint. We finished our drinks in the beer garden that is situated on the bank of the River Usk. It was a beautiful way to spend a rare sunny Sunday afternoon. We will definitely make a return visit.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JoTattersall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews