We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location let down by bad service.”
Review of Halfway Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shangri-La County
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Halfway Guesthouse
Ranked #77 of 275 Shangri-La County B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2017

The guy who runs the place seems sick of the whole thing. His surly wife and daughters are totally disinterested. The rooftop and rooms have incredible views and it was generally clean and adequate, however the power is only on for part of the night, I missed out on hot water, and there is no power or wifi during the day.
It feels silly to whinge about such things when you are in the middle of such a stunningly beautiful and remote place but other guesthouses had power and wifi and hot water. It's hard to get around without light.
It's very hard to order food and drink because the staff don't want to serve you, they are more interested in watching TV on their phones, and the order is often wrong. "coffee with milk" was served without milk, and when I asked for some, you'd think I'd spat at them. A jar of powdered milk was slammed on the table.
Food was good, place was amazing but not keen on the staff.

Room Tip: Demand the best room you can get because otherwise they shove you wherever or overcharge you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mowby1Kanoby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We spent a night in Halfway Guesthouse in July 2017.
We paid 150¥ for a double room with private bathroom. The bathroom was not so clean and there was a disgusting smell from the sewer. The water was not so hot.
The owner speaks English, but the staff in general was not friendly.
We had naxi bread and vegetables for dinner (48¥). The vegetables were too oily and I didn't digest my dinner well (it was not good for the second day hike).
Overall, quite expensive for what they offer. We'd recommend checking out other guesthouses nearby, maybe they are better.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Serena_xue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

My partner and I had high hopes for Halfway Guesthouse; it was spoken highly of by other travellers along the Tiger Leaping Gorge hike, it was professionally advertised along the route and had a much sought after spot on the semi-official maps which were circulated about. Sadly, it definitely failed to live up to these expectations. Admittedly, it's roof terrace has a phenomenal view, though I imagine this is shared by its local competitors. It was twice the price of Naxi guesthouse, both in terms of accommodation and food. The service was fairly poor; the owner was generally unfriendly. The rooms had good views but were fairly dingy and lacking in basic amenities. I'd recommend checking out other guesthouses nearby.

Room Tip: Probably check out the other local guesthouses
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

the location of this place means it will never struggle which is a shame because the neighbouring hostels might give it a run for it's money. We had a double room with view (through v dirty windows), an bathroom that took 20 minutes and 2 staff members to get hot water into, electric cables hanging from the light fitting and tape around the bathroom windows. highly suspect the room isn't meant to be finished yet but how knows! food was fine - basic but that's to be expected but the reception staff were miserable. the viewing terrace where you chat with other hikers over a beer is the saving grace really

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GayleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We were planning to stay at Come Inn but there was nobody at home so we went next door to Halfway. Having read the reviews about Halfway G H it was not really on our plan but we had little choice.

Actually, it was fine, we had a room with twin beds, a clean western toilet and steaming hot shower plus a wall of glass looking at the mountains. Cost CNY150. There are a range of room , some without views, and going up to CNY200 with balcony. We had a few beers and a chat to fellow travellers before eating a delicious meal. We slept very well and rose late to enjoy an extremely good trekking breakfast. The owner, ‘Frankie’ was great and we think that previous reviews are probably a bit unfair. Those poor reviews might explain why he’s clearly done some renovations and was in the process of doing some more.

A big ‘thumbs up’ to Frankie who does have a claim to fame. When Michael Palin was filming his TV series, Himalaya, he stayed at Halfway G H and Frankie proudly displays a modest hand written sign advertising the fact.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itcanbedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shangri-La County
35.6 km away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 966 in Lijiang
324 reviews
4.1 km away
Tea Horse Guesthouse
Tea Horse Guesthouse
#9 of 275 in Shangri-La County
114 reviews
4.7 km away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#1 of 275 in Shangri-La County
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
77.8 km away
Shangri-La Resort, Shangri-La
Shangri-La Resort, Shangri-La
#5 of 179 in Shangri-La County
89 reviews
81.3 km away
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lvgu) Lodge
Songtsam Shangri-la (Lvgu) Lodge
#2 of 179 in Shangri-La County
353 reviews
68.8 km away
Banyan Tree Ringha
Banyan Tree Ringha
#1 of 179 in Shangri-La County
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halfway Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway Guesthouse

Address: Bendi Wan Village, Yongsheng, Shangri-La County, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 275 B&Bs / Inns in Shangri-La County
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Halfway Guesthouse Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing