We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
23
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely village lovely quiet location large shower great pub friendly hosts village pub bed was very comfortable short break port isaac pete ali ensuite tintagel shop property cornwall
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

St Mabyn is a very small village and Trelawney House is a real gem. We were met by the hosts Alison & Pete and shown to our room which was very nicely furnished and had a great ensuite bathroom with a large shower and lovely soft fluffy towels.

I thought the bed was very comfortable but my partner found it a little hard for his liking. It’s also a true double bed so not a lo t of room if you’re used to a queen size bed. The temperatures were quite warm during our stay and we kept the curtains closed to try and keep the heat out.

The local pub with restaurant is a few minutes walk down the lane and the food was really good. We ate there each night and the staff were very friendly. The included full English breakfast cooked by Alison was yummy and the coffees were great, made in a full barista coffee machine.

Alison and Peter were wonderful, friendly hosts, thank you both. I would not hesitate to recommend this property.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We needed to collect our daughter from Exeter uni and decided to maximise our visit with a few nights in Cornwall.
On arrival we were welcomed by Ali who showed us to our rooms and gave us a update on the b&b, the village and their dogs.
Our rooms were perfect, very clean and everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel.
I have mentioned the dogs so will start with them. We don’t have pets but do love well behaved dogs. You would not know Ali and Pete had dogs as there is no doggy smell and the dogs are banished from the guest areas, however we did ask to be introduced and were delighted we did.
Parking: on booking they state being totally honest “there is no private parking”, however we parked adjacent to the property everyday without any issues. It is perfect and safe but as they don’t own it they don’t advertise it. Well I can, so feel rest assured you will be able to park.
Village: The village is very small and the hosts also own the village stores next door and tea room/post office. The village pub is a 2 minute walk and has a great restaurant and garden kitchen - highly recommend. Also a 10 min walk will find you at the Haywood Cider Farm. Yes we did and bought a few samples following a free tasting.
Location: You will need a car! However it is very close to Tintagel village and the castle, an absolute must visit. Also Port Isaac, where Doc Martin was filmed, another must. But we found the most gorgeous place in Cornwall - St Nectans Glen, the waterfall is absolutely amazing, just 5 mins from Tintagel.
In summary: This has been our best visit to Cornwall in many years and we would highly recommend this venue.
Finally: Breakfast kept us going all day, so accommodating to our different requests. A massive thank you from Phil Sally and Ellie

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank PhilnSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely house with a welcoming aura. Clean room, awesome breakfast, and a very comfortable bed with a lovely en-suite and a massive shower. Local pub pub doing great food within a very short walk. Thoroughly recommended. Thanks Pete and Alison. See you again soon.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Timothy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely stay at Trelawney House, Ali the host is very welcoming and makes you feel at home. Clean and comfy bedding. The pub in the village does very nice food, far from pub food. Thank you! I will be back!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank sarahclondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

How someone can say this delightful bed and breakfast was only passable is beyond me! Lovely house kept spotlessly clean with the small touches that one remembers. For example... Real milk in flask for hot drinks on a well stocked tray of tea and coffees, thick soft fluffy towels... Even my car was parked for me! Very comfy bed... Lovely shower... an amazing breakfast and peaceful!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sue I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trelawneybb, Owner at Trelawney House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Sue is referring to a review on another website where we were referred to as 'passable' which was totally out of sync with all the other reviews.
Thanks Sue for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews