We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
198
188
93
44
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
188
93
44
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews icebergs floating view of the lake dining room superior room grey glacier rain shower upscale hotel large picture boat tour national park glacial ice rooms are modern wifi connection room window amazing views stayed here for one night rented a car
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The only thing Hotel Lago Grey has going for it is its views. Prior to our trip, I e-mailed Hotel Lago Grey about transportation and excursion options in the park and never heard back. This was just a preview of our actual experience there. My boyfriend and I arrived at the hotel around 11am and were completely ignored by the front desk. There was no effort - not even mock effort - made to accommodate our early arrival and the front desk would not even entertain conversation with us until the check in period "officially" began at 2pm. At 2:01pm, we were told that housekeeping would push our beds together for the double we booked and that we could check into the room then. After 1.5 HOURS OF WAITING in the lobby, our room was still not ready and we eventually just left our bags behind the front desk to salvage the rest of our day in the park. When we returned, we were told that the bar would give us a bottle of champagne for our troubles earlier in the day. The bottle NEVER came - at this point, we thought we had to be on a reality show or something - and it was only after much arm twisting and more waiting that we finally received a miniature half-bottle of champagne, basically one glass each. The lack of customer service, and even general human empathy, at this hotel is astounding. The fact that they charge over $300/night is appalling. We only stayed for one night and could not wait to check out the next morning.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Hotel Lago Grey is a small, simple, but beautiful hotel. The lobby and the dining area are airy and spacious. Our rooms, in the 900s, had the view of the snow capped mountains, glaciers, and Lago Grey. The view from the lobby, dining room, bar, and our rooms was breathtakingly beautiful. Our rooms were clean, and the bathrooms were modern and nice. There's a rain shower in the spacious shower. The food is very good. We ate both at the restaurant (more formal) and at the bar (more casual). It's fun to hang out in the large bar sitting area, just relax, while enjoying some local drink and food. The hotel offers private day trips. We thoroughly enjoyed the all day excursion to Viewpoints and Waterfalls. The guide and driver provided us with a fancy picnic, with tablecloth, wine, piping hot pumpkin soup, and a cheese and crackers and nuts platter, on top of our huge sandwiches (we had choices of several kinds beforehand) and other goodies. We also enjoyed the three hour Navigation to the glaciers. It's awesome. It's a 40 minute walk, at times in narrow bush path, to the pier, but it's worth the effort. This hotel's rates were also more reasonable. I'd highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask or upgrade to rooms in the 900s. They are at the top level and with the best view. Our rooms were 911 and 913, and they were great.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank figburrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

This a small Hosteria that's survives because of the unbeatable view of Paine. The new building provides an astonishing view, the lunch offer is a 2 option menu, slightly different. The meals are Ok and service is quick, but the dishes are simple and our dessert like a pudding with kiwi was not good at all. If you need to use the restroom, this might be an experience for the strong at heart. Some may consider that medals should be awarded, but by far is one of the filthiest restrooms I've been. The navigation is magnificent, a wonderful pisco sour with millennial ice, superb! In conclusion, the navigation is worth every penny, the hotel is expendable.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Claudioski8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016

We stayed at Hotel Lago Grey in Dec 2016 and our stay could be described in one word - Perfect!

We had a lake facing room and the view was priceless. The lake, snow mountains and the glacier beyond, they looked different with each passing hour. With sunlight they looked vibrant, with rain mystic and at other times mellow. The location of the property is unbeatable and the views from the dining and bar areas are magnificent.

The room itself is modern and spacious, the bed comfortable and the shower, just perfect. There was even a large sized flat screen TV in the room with enough choice of channels, but with the magnificent views to soak in, we hardly needed to use it. Wifi was good enough for Whatsapp and eMail in the room, at most times, although surfing the net was not possible. There was no mobile connectivity during our stay.

The reception, dining and bar areas are designed most tastefully. The food was magnificent and as vegetarians, we were provided a surfeit of choice during the 3 course daily lunch and dinner. Breakfast consisted of a very large spread.

We got top class service during our 4 nights' stay. Special mention needs to be made of Tito and Roberto at the restaurant who served us with a lot of joy. In fact the entire team is top class and they work hard to provide guests a top class restaurant.

The activities section was very good and Alex our guide was excellent. The cruise to the glacier was one of the highlights of the trip and though expensive, is not to be missed. The glacier is part of the second largest continental shelf of ice in the world.

Hotel Lago Grey is expensive, have no doubt about that. However, we believe they provide great value for the amounts they charge and one needs to understand that this is 5 star luxury in the back of beyond.

Our one big complaint is that they charge for drinking water. We purchased several bottles of mineral water a day, when they could have provided a water refilling station, considering that the guests anyway have a very expensive stay. That would also be eco friendly.

The Hotel would do well to highlight the practices they follow to keep the ecologically sensitive park safe. The location, right next to the Lago Grey, means that the hotel would need to be extremely eco friendly. Sadly, very little information on this subject is disseminated.

Room Tip: Choose a lake facing room. It's worth the expense.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RamTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We loved this hotel 4 years ago and fell in love with it once again. The location on the lake, giving us a view of the glacier, the lake and icebergs floating on it was awesome. The rooms don't look like much from the outside but the inside of a superior room and the view is wonderful. Room was clean comfortable and modern. Our only complaint is that it is advertised as wifi available, over two days we were unable to make a connection. Restaurant here was also very good and a bar area is available off the restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumihills2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews