We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveller rating
454
50
12
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
454
50
12
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews punta arenas national park lamb chilli central heating other guests picnic lunch puerto natales wind and rain great food and wine great days hot soup amazing experience hour drive hot water daily excursions stayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 527 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Patagonia Camp is a true gem!

First and foremost, the staff are incredible. Everyone warmly welcomes you to the camp with open arms. They are attentive, kind, funny, warm, and have a great deal of knowledge. As if Torres del Paine isn't enjoyable enough, the experience is enhanced by the stunning hikes that are guided by the knowledgable, safety oriented and fun staff. After being outdoors all day, you are excited to get back and be greeted with a yummy pisco sour and recall the stunning day you had with the staff. The staff in the dining hall are wonderful hosts and make you feel so welcome and cared for.

The yurts are such a great experience as well. They are kept nice and warm and beautifully decorated. Moreover, the food and drinks are delicious!

All the staff really care about their work and they make your experience the best it can be. The staff and accommodation at Patagonia Camp are the top of the top and it was by far one of the highlights of our trip.
We really hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for adventure, great hiking, outdoor sports combined with a charming hotel and great food, this is the place. Wonderful location in Patagonia, close to the Torres del Paine natural reserve. The hotel is just next to a beautiful lake with few rooms in a YURT format, meaning a very comfortable and charming Mongolian tent!!! Different, unique and very cozy...makes your stay an unique experience. Dinning and leisure rooms are comfy and mountain style, and food is excellent. Every night we had something special ranging from fresh salmon to lamb barbecue, with the best of Chilean wine. Hotel guides are very knowledgeable about the region and put together the best hikes well calculated and calibrated for the rapidly changing weather conditions. One can choose from hard core hikes to the top of the mountains, to the glaciers or to a fauna trekking to see pulmans. Absolutely great vacation spot, for the ones looking for adventure, unique experiences but with the best in comfort and charm.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

General
Patagonia Camp positions itself as an eco-camp with 18 yurts and common areas set in the forest overlooking Lake Toro. It is an idyllic spot set amongst the trees with views across the lake to the park. When the weather is clear, the views are stunning.

Transfers
We flew into Punta Arenas and were greeted by a Patagonia Camp representative. As we had 2 ½ hours to spare before the second of the two pre-set transfer times from Punta Arenas Airport (we arrived at 1.30pm), we were given the option to pay 10.000 CLP for taxi into town to enjoy some lunch while we waited for the transfer bus. Our suitcases were left at the Patagonia Camp offices and we wandered around Punta Arenas for a couple of hours before meeting back at the office. Fortunately the transfer van was early so we were able to get away just before 4pm. Chris was our guide and was fantastic. He explained many things along the route and we were given a packed lunch box while we discussed our options for excursions the next day as we were to be arriving at the camp after the presentation and selections were to be made. We gave him an idea of the type of excursions we were seeking and he let us know that he would try to make arrangements and confirm what was available for the next day at dinner that evening. After around 3 hours of driving along a straight and flat landscape we arrived in Puerto Natales. We were dropped at a local coffee stop (looked good but too late for coffee for me) while the vehicles were fuelled and swapped over. Our bags were transferred to a new van and we continued on to Patagonia Camp, arriving to a welcoming committee at 8pm.

Location
The camp is located about 45 minutes to an hour from Puerto Natales (depending on your driver!) and around 4 hours from Punta Arenas. It is actually around a 10 minute drive from the road to the camp through gorgeous forest and overlooking the lake but once on the road, the entrance to TDP is around a 20 – 25 minute drive (again, depending on your driver!). We did not find this a nuisance at all as the surrounding landscape is quite stunning with views across the lakes and massif aplenty.

Accommodation (yurts)
The yurts are made up of 15 standard yurts, comprising a main bedroom yurt with bathroom and private balcony and the superior yurts which have an additional living room yurt and a private jacuzzi. The Superior yurts are a new addition and there appears to be some teething problems over what is offered in these yurts as the promotional material does not match the reality. There is a separate living room yurt and there is a separate Jacuzzi (though located a shorts walk from the entrance and not on the balcony as implied). There is no separate fireplace and no snack basket, books and magazines in the room. The Jacuzzi was a slight disappointment as it is a bit removed from the yurt and in our accommodation, did not have any views and was not at all private (Yurt 14). All yurts have glimpses of the lake and TDP however it is through the trees. The best yurts with uninterrupted views would probably be those closest to the lake – 17, 18, 12, 13, 15 (standard yurts), 10 & 11 (both superior)
The bathroom is cramped and although good water pressure, the water is not that hot, particularly on a cold morning – in fact I had luke warm showers on 2 mornings. The toilet blocked during our stay but was very quickly fixed. On sunny days, the yurts get very warm during the day time but at night can get cold in spite of the many radiators. A nespresso machine was available (no kettle) but we didn’t use this as the common areas have a ready supply available including snacks all day. In general, although the yurts are full of character and fun to stay in, they are quite cold at night but warm during the day. A nice addition would be a hot water bottle or electric blanket.

Facilities
The common areas comprise the restaurant, bar and lounge area where wifi can be accessed. It was quite good though a little slow at peak times. Note there is no cellular coverage in the park at all. Tea, coffee snacks and other beverages (including alcoholic) are readily available all day for those on all-inclusive packages. There was also a separate common area that seemed to be less well utilised but contained a pot-belly stove, ample seating and a TV. We only used this area for the wifi access.

Excursions
There was a wide variety of excursions for all abilities and were selected based on weather conditions and the desires of guests. We coincidentally ended up with 3 great days that complimented the wide expanse of the park. 1. a flora and fauna walk covering the eastern end of the park – an all day excursion involving a 6km one way walk across slightly undulating landscape and ending at Laguna Azul. Lunch was provided at the end with fantastic views across the lake to the three towers. 2. Cuernos Viewpoint & Condor Viewpoint hikes – this is a looped walk with a short but steep uphill and very windy climb to the top but with stunning 360 degree views of the park at the top. Lunch is by Lake Pehoe followed by an undulating longer return walk of around 3.5km each way to the base of the massif. 3. The Grey Glacier navigation is an external excursion run by Lake Grey Hotel. It involved a 30 minute walk to the boat through virgin forest and across the shingle sand to the boat followed by an hour on the boat to get to the glacier, an hour at the glacier at very close range for photos followed by an hour’s return. Sit at the front and the right of the boat for the best views. However you can get up and go outside for better views and photos but make sure you bring plenty of warm clothing – it is cold! This trip is amazing for the close up views of icebergs (in spring) and the Grey Glacier. The guide is terrible though!!
If you are concerned by bathroom breaks, these are offered frequently while on excursions and it is usual that excursions start and end with toilet facilities. In general they were very clean with the odd exception.

Meals
The meals supplied were superlative and almost the highlight of the camp. A choice of 2 entrees, mains and one dessert were offered for dinner each night (except for the lamb and wine tasting evening, which served a buffet). When out on excursions, a packed lunch was supplied along with wine, beer, tea or coffee, water and other soft drinks. Usually a sweet snack was supplied for dessert. Eating in the resort for lunch also offered choices of 2 entrees, mains and one dessert. The meals were absolutely delicious – compliments to the chef. Breakfast was a buffet of cereals, fruits, eggs, meats, cheeses and breads. Also available were some snacks to stock up on for the day including biscuits and cake.

Overall
This was a real treat for us to splash out as it the all-inclusive package with a superior yurt is extremely expensive and we could probably stayed at Explorer for a similar cost however the issues we had were quickly dealt with in a prompt and polite manner and the staff were extremely friendly and efficient. We really can’t say enough about the staff who were so delightful, remembering our names and treating us as individuals. Particular rosettes to Chris and Lucas our guides, Rafael, the manager, Filanda – our waitress and Juan and Orlando our incredibly safe and patient drivers. The reception and bar staff were also super friendly, in particular Oscar and Silvana. The staff came across as one great big happy family who all seemed to love their jobs. The weak point in the staff would be house-keeping who only seemed to do a cursory clean and did not restock items. We had to ask for sugar, tissues and the complimentary waterbottles, which should have been in the room on arrival but weren’t. However, the friendly reception staff quickly provided these. We also missed our nightly chocolate treat left on the pillow on our last night.

Overall, if I was to make the same trip again, I would go with the standard yurts as the superior yurts simply don’t justify the price at present. The yurts are quirky and fun though probably lack the same comforts as an ordinary hotel. We note that the Explorer Hotel, a similar price to the package we paid here is located reasonably centrally in the park but it is in a very exposed position. Very stunning location but I would imagine not quite the same character as Patagonia Camp in the yurts and the trees.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank veraison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Patagonia Camp is an amazing place--gorgeous scenery, great staff and wonderful food. I just can't say enough good things about it. They can only accommodate 36 people at a time and because it was the beginning of Spring the place wasn't even full. We didn't get off the bus where we were supposed to at the border and continued to Puerto Natale (I think.) After no one met us a helpful information guy at the bus station called Patagonia Camp and they arranged a taxi to pick us up. We missed lunch but they quickly fed us and got us situated in our luxury yurt. (You heard me a luxury yurt.) Ours (number 12) was just over the lake with amazing views of the mountains. The first night it was really windy so I didn't sleep but we got used to it or it was less windy other nights. We did some wonderful hikes guided by Lucas and Filipe. One day were were supposed to hike to the Torres del Paine towers but it rained all night so we expected that the hike would be cancelled. It wasn't but when we went to breakfast Filipe said he was about to leave for a hike and he invited us to come. He checked with the four people who had signed up for the hike and they agreed to wait for us! Food was varied and tasty. We only stayed three nights and I think it would be better to stay for 5 given how far away it is from civilization and how wonderful it is. I wish I were there now!

Room Tip: Yurt number 12 has an amazing view but probably most of them do
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank valleytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

An amazing hotel located in a wonderful private reservation. From the begining when you arrive to the airport the service is high quality with very hospitality people. After arriving to patagoniacamp you feel your rest and adventure start.
Food and tours included in the price, comply all expectations and your rest in "Yurts" is simply incredible
One of the best places I Have Been

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews