We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$284
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$289
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$248
US$134
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$230
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$151
US$113
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Patio Ranch(Aso)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$115
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
US$174
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$310
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$202
Trip.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
US$382
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
113
15
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
15
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomtrain stationgreat kitchencommon spacethree nightsnearby onsenawesome placeopen plankind stafftourist informationhosteltoiletsdormfacilitiesjapanmapinteraction
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

The place is located just 5 minutes away from the bus/train station and has very kind staff. The hostel is very clean and you can get a lot of information on what to do there.

The rooms are nice and the facilities are very nice as well. The hostel has a nice terrace on the 2nd floor. Sadly we had bad weather so we couldn't see the view.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank CirilB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Agree with all the overwhelmingly positive reviews about this hostel. It is as spotlessly clean, well maintained and caringly managed as the vast majority of reviewers stated before. I have no idea how they manage to keep the friendly, pastel green carpet and wooden boards in the bathroom as stainless as they are!!
The kitchen is better equipped than ours at home (and we like to cook), and the private room that we had was nicer than in several of the hotels we stayed at during this trip - at half the price. Got a great dinner venue recommendation from the host for a local grill restaurant and had a very nice evening there. Highly recommend this place to anyone!
On a related note, the tourist information in Aso, near the station up the road, deserves some callout too. The French guy who works there and gave us hiking tips was super friendly and super helpful. And there is a great English map available of Aso town with all the restaurants an der shops marked and explained very well. Ultra helpful!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyBergfex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

This hostel has been spot on. It's right by Aso Station (currently only served by bus), there's also a Lawson convenience store right next door. I didn't see inside the dorm but the double rooms are modern and spacious (unusual in Japan). There are plenty of showers, toilets and sink. Towel hire is only JPY 100. There's a variety of free teas, a well equipped kitchen and nice communal area. There's also a luggage store. The hostel has lots of handy information available for buses and maps of Mount Aso and the Kurokawa onsen, as well as the other attractions. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marsha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. Extremely clean and quite cosy. Nice common room with possibility to cook. We had a private double room. Only negative point : you can hear everything from the outside noise to the neighbour room.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Zlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We reached this hotel earlier than 4pm therefore we couldn't check in however there is paper notice that we can put our luggage in store room.

The location is merely 3 minutes walk from Aso Station. Lawson convenient store is nearby.

There is public hotspring nearby too namely "Yumenoyu". The hostel offered us discounted price to use the facility.

Facilities are completely neat and clean (spotless), including shared kitchen and dining hall (we love the coffee and tea). Hinoki wood scent at the entrance is distinctive, which we like very much.

There will be no towels, which is expected as it is a guest house (hostel).

Absolutely can recommend this place to other backpackers. Wouldn't hesitate to come and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasBYLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews