We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I ever stayed at - anywhere in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aso Base Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality lodging in Aso
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Agree with all the overwhelmingly positive reviews about this hostel. It is as spotlessly clean, well maintained and caringly managed as the vast majority of reviewers stated before. I have no idea how they manage to keep the friendly, pastel green carpet and wooden boards in the bathroom as stainless as they are!!
The kitchen is better equipped than ours at home (and we like to cook), and the private room that we had was nicer than in several of the hotels we stayed at during this trip - at half the price. Got a great dinner venue recommendation from the host for a local grill restaurant and had a very nice evening there. Highly recommend this place to anyone!
On a related note, the tourist information in Aso, near the station up the road, deserves some callout too. The French guy who works there and gave us hiking tips was super friendly and super helpful. And there is a great English map available of Aso town with all the restaurants an der shops marked and explained very well. Ultra helpful!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyBergfex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

This hostel has been spot on. It's right by Aso Station (currently only served by bus), there's also a Lawson convenience store right next door. I didn't see inside the dorm but the double rooms are modern and spacious (unusual in Japan). There are plenty of showers, toilets and sink. Towel hire is only JPY 100. There's a variety of free teas, a well equipped kitchen and nice communal area. There's also a luggage store. The hostel has lots of handy information available for buses and maps of Mount Aso and the Kurokawa onsen, as well as the other attractions. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marsha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. Extremely clean and quite cosy. Nice common room with possibility to cook. We had a private double room. Only negative point : you can hear everything from the outside noise to the neighbour room.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Zlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We reached this hotel earlier than 4pm therefore we couldn't check in however there is paper notice that we can put our luggage in store room.

The location is merely 3 minutes walk from Aso Station. Lawson convenient store is nearby.

There is public hotspring nearby too namely "Yumenoyu". The hostel offered us discounted price to use the facility.

Facilities are completely neat and clean (spotless), including shared kitchen and dining hall (we love the coffee and tea). Hinoki wood scent at the entrance is distinctive, which we like very much.

There will be no towels, which is expected as it is a guest house (hostel).

Absolutely can recommend this place to other backpackers. Wouldn't hesitate to come and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasBYLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We stayed here as there is very few choice of hotel near Aso station, about 3 min walk. You have to take off your shoes in the first floor and put into the cupboard and that smell really bad. The hostel is really clean especially bathroom. We have a single room with shared bathroom. There is also shared kitchen. There is nearby supermarket. Aso town is very small and theres nothing inside to do inside the town. You can see mount also from the station. Don't come here in July as it gets really hot in day time.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Itthinan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aso hotels
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Aso Plaza Hotel
Aso Plaza Hotel
#5 of 32 in Aso
84 reviews
Asouchinomaki Onsen
#7 of 32 in Aso
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Aso Villa Park Hotel & Spa Resort
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Kanpo no Yado Aso
Kanpo no Yado Aso
#2 of 28 in Aso
32 reviews
El Patio Ranch
#3 of 13 in Aso
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aso Base Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aso Base Backpackers

Address: 1498 Kurokawa, Aso 869-2225, Kumamoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Aso
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality lodging in Aso
Price Range: €41 - €50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Aso Base Backpackers 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASO BASE BACKPACKERS opened in Nov2009. We are family owned brand new backpackers hostel, carefully designed for free and independent travelers.ASO is located at the centre of Kyushu island and we are located only 2minuts easy walk from JR.ASO station which is the gateway station to the active volcanic mountain, Mt.ASO. There are several trekking/ hiking course in the mountain which makes ASO an ideal destination for nature lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aso Base Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aso Base Backpackers Japan - Kumamoto Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing