We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$285
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
US$288
US$214
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$136
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$249
US$134
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Guesthouse Asora(Aso)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Patio Ranch(Aso)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$116
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
US$174
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$202
Trip.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
US$310
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
113
15
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
15
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomtrain stationgreat kitchencommon spacethree nightsnearby onsenawesome placeopen plankind stafftourist informationhosteltoiletsdormfacilitiesjapanmapinteraction
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

This hostel has been spot on. It's right by Aso Station (currently only served by bus), there's also a Lawson convenience store right next door. I didn't see inside the dorm but the double rooms are modern and spacious (unusual in Japan). There are plenty of showers, toilets and sink. Towel hire is only JPY 100. There's a variety of free teas, a well equipped kitchen and nice communal area. There's also a luggage store. The hostel has lots of handy information available for buses and maps of Mount Aso and the Kurokawa onsen, as well as the other attractions. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marsha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. Extremely clean and quite cosy. Nice common room with possibility to cook. We had a private double room. Only negative point : you can hear everything from the outside noise to the neighbour room.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Zlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We reached this hotel earlier than 4pm therefore we couldn't check in however there is paper notice that we can put our luggage in store room.

The location is merely 3 minutes walk from Aso Station. Lawson convenient store is nearby.

There is public hotspring nearby too namely "Yumenoyu". The hostel offered us discounted price to use the facility.

Facilities are completely neat and clean (spotless), including shared kitchen and dining hall (we love the coffee and tea). Hinoki wood scent at the entrance is distinctive, which we like very much.

There will be no towels, which is expected as it is a guest house (hostel).

Absolutely can recommend this place to other backpackers. Wouldn't hesitate to come and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasBYLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We stayed here as there is very few choice of hotel near Aso station, about 3 min walk. You have to take off your shoes in the first floor and put into the cupboard and that smell really bad. The hostel is really clean especially bathroom. We have a single room with shared bathroom. There is also shared kitchen. There is nearby supermarket. Aso town is very small and theres nothing inside to do inside the town. You can see mount also from the station. Don't come here in July as it gets really hot in day time.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Itthinan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

My husband and I stayed two nights in this really charming hostel. It is very well designed and decorated, with all the amenities you may need. It is very clean, cosy and comfy, the free wifi works perfectly, and it is very well located: only three-minute walk from the train station, Lawson just across the road, a onsen and many restaurants within a few minutes walk.
We had a twin room with bunk bed and air con (very important in summer). The beds were very comfy, and well-designed.
We really enjoyed our stay but for one thing: the friendliness of the owners.
They're a very professional couple, but it doesn't feel like they are enjoying their job. No warm smile or kind word while checking. It is a bit sad because it is such a lovely place.
We highly recommend it and we'll come back again.

Room Tip: Double rooms have great views
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Isa1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews