We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor isolation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aso Base Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality lodging in Aso
Reviewed 14 January 2015

+ closeby train station
+ clean
+ comfy public bathroom
+ large public areas
+ fast wifi

- poor noise isolation (very thin walls)
- we had a private room, but very small
- therefore the price could be more reasonable (rather expensive compared to others in Japan)

Room Tip: ask for room away from bathroom (due to thin walls, early hikers might wake you when using bathroom)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SvenS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2014

stumbled into this hostel on our trip through Kyushu. We were very pleasantly surprised. Great location (across the street from the train station), nice rooms, comfortable common room, laundry, and *so* clean. One of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in. Staff was super helpful and nice. Well priced too!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank willyc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2014

I don't usually write TripAdvisor reviews for places when I agree with what's already been said (I mean, how many "this place is great" comments are necessary?). But Aso Base Backpackers is in such a class by itself that I had to add my praise. Therefore, let me say, "This place is great!"

Immaculately clean and in perfect condition. A wonderful place to stay. I spent a month in Japan very recently, and generally stayed in hostels and hostel-like guest houses. Of the 12 places in which I stayed, Aso Base Backpackers was by-far the cleanest, nicest, newest. And in a Japan that's almost pathologically clean, this place is immaculate. It was a joy to stay there.

And it is VERY convenient to the train station. And it is a good place to interact with fellow travelers.

Aside from the hostel, allow me to mention the mountain. When I was there, the main caldera was so volcanically active that there was a restriction against people using the rope-lift and doing the traditional hike around the lip of the current central caldera. Initially, when I found this out, I thought I had made a mistake by coming to Aso. That would have been wrong. There are several great places to hike in the hills that immediately surround the current central caldera, and a too-active Mt. Aso does not prevent hiking on these (and getting stunning views). Take the bus to the Aso Volcano Museum, and most of the trails start from there. [Another great thing about Aso Base Backpackers is that they allow you to borrow very good hiking maps of the area (they don't try to sell them to you, you borrow them and return them).]

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArgentineTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Best hostel I have ever been to, it just has everything you need: fast WIFI, 3 min walk to bus and train station, clean, English speaking staff, more than enough toilet and shower facilities and on top of all that an extremely good kitchen. If you go to Aso, you will not get more value for your money somewhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2014 via mobile

Better than many good hotels I have stayed at in Europe and The States. Great service, very much feels at home, also great to hang out at when it rains.

Have not stayed at a hostel for years, but thanks to this experience I'll check out more hostels across Japan.

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeroen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aso hotels
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Aso Plaza Hotel
Aso Plaza Hotel
#4 of 32 in Aso
84 reviews
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Yumeoiso
Yumeoiso
#9 of 32 in Aso
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Aso Villa Park Hotel & Spa Resort
El Patio Ranch
#3 of 13 in Aso
30 reviews
Guesthouse Asora
#2 of 13 in Aso
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aso Base Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aso Base Backpackers

Address: 1498 Kurokawa, Aso 869-2225, Kumamoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Aso
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality lodging in Aso
Price Range: €40 - €50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Aso Base Backpackers 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASO BASE BACKPACKERS opened in Nov2009. We are family owned brand new backpackers hostel, carefully designed for free and independent travelers.ASO is located at the centre of Kyushu island and we are located only 2minuts easy walk from JR.ASO station which is the gateway station to the active volcanic mountain, Mt.ASO. There are several trekking/ hiking course in the mountain which makes ASO an ideal destination for nature lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aso Base Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aso Base Backpackers Japan - Kumamoto Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing