We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Welcoming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Tobermory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We just spent the long weekend at Bear Cove and had a fantastic time, thanks in no small part to Jim and Doug's friendly and welcoming hospitality. We were 3 couples, so we basically had the run of the place to enjoy the water, the hot tub, the views, the breakfasts and oh yes those butter-tarts. If you are looking for a tranquil weekend surrounded by the beauty of nature, but with all the modern amenities, then this is the place for you. Thanks Jim and Doug for making our weekend special and fun!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kenvanlerberghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017

In any language, Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast is truly wonderful.

My husband and I stayed at this LGBT friendly B&B twice last year and loved it so much we returned this year with my brother-in-law and his wife.

It was as beautiful, friendly and welcoming as it gets. Jim and Doug are supper hosts who make you feel at home from the get-go.

We had the room upstairs and the in-laws had The Symphony Suite on the main floor. Both rooms had brand new washrooms (with heated floors!) and a superb shower system that made you want to linger. Of course, the large hot tub outside was made for lingering while enjoying a glass of wine.

Tobermory and the Bruce Peninsula has much to offer but my husband and I decided to stay, read, relax and catch some rays at Bear Cove. Jim makes a delicious, buffet-style breakfast every morning so we only had to go into Tobermory for an early dinner or to pick up pizza.

A paddleboat, canoe and a large floating mattress was available for all guests to use.

On our second night my brother-in-law played his guitar by the outdoor fire-pit until it started to rain lightly. A very pleasant and relaxing evening.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

My adult daughter and I found ourselves with some down time and decided on a spur of the moment trip to hike the Bruce Peninsula. We were very lucky to be able to book a room with Doug and Jim at their Bear Cove B&B. From the moment we arrived until we left, everything was just perfect. The house, rooms, gardens, waterfront, and sunsets were superb. The breakfast was over the top delicious and plentiful. The coffee was perfect (this is really important to me) and the homemade butter tarts to die for. Our room, The Symphony Suite, recently had a stunning ensuite washroom added which includes a steam and rainfall shower that was very much appreciated after a day of hiking. To top it all off, there is a large hot tub on the deck best enjoyed under the stars, and there are little twinkling lights all over the property. Jim and Doug have created a fabulous and relaxing retreat here. They are a lovely, warm and welcoming couple. I highly recommend a visit and will definitely be returning! Hopefully soon!

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful. The upstairs suite is suitable for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank threelittlebirdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

My husband and I went with our teenage son to stay at Bear Cove for a couple of days. My son loved hanging out in the loft and taking out the paddle boat. We all enjoyed going for a swim off the dock during the day and taking in the beautifully lit grounds at night while relaxing in the hot tub. Doug and Jim were wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank walkercarla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

My husband Don and I choose to celebrate our new marriage by taking a mini-honeymoon to tobermorey. Our first stop was Bear Cove B&B and we could not be happier with our experience at this stunning northern gem. Doug & Jim were wonderful hosts from the moment we arrived to our hug filled departure. Our room was the shabby chic/gay fabulous room and it was equisit!! We absolutely loved the private patio, it was the perfect place to relax and unwind after our fun filled days site seeing in tobermorey. The meticulously crafted garden lined walk ways to the dock were welcoming and the dock itself offered breathtaking view of the quiet cove which opens on to lake huron. We enjoyed paddle boating, kayaking and relaxing while reading a good book. The sunsets at Bear cove B&B are nothing short of spectacular!! Lastly, I MUST comment on the breakfast!!Don and I both agree that the beautiful spread we were served each morning was hands down the BEST breakfast food (and possibly the best food period) we have ever eaten!! Everything was beautifully flavoured and fresh!!!!! The homemade butter tarts that were gifted to us upon our departure were amazing too♡♡♡. Don and I recommend this B&B to anyone looking to get away !! We will be returning for a visit in the future for sure.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katherine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
8.9 km away
The Forest House B&B
The Forest House B&B
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
114 reviews
30.5 km away
The Purple Frog Bed and Breakfast
7.6 km away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
71 reviews
8.4 km away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
106 reviews
7.7 km away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Cove Bed and Breakfast

Address: 197 Eagle Rd, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tobermory
Price Range: €116 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear Cove welcomes you to enjoy a private and secluded adult only getaway on the crystal clear shores of Lake Huron. Luxurious rooms, with free WiFi, Satellite TV in common area, and full hot Breakfast. Stroll through the beautiful perennial gardens, pause at the frog pond and swim, snorkel, kayak or paddle boat right from our docks. Do some great star gazing under the dark skies of Tobermory while sitting in the 8' Arctic Spa Hot Tub on the main deck. Wake up to a full hot breakfast and tour the many attractions Tobermory has to offer. Fifteen minutes to The Grotto, Boat Tours and the Ferry. Open year round. Your hosts: Jim Brewer and Doug Orr B.Ed., B.Mus. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing