We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home-y visit in an orange orchard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Casale delle Arance
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Pizzo
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We very much enjoyed our six-day stay at Il Casale delle Aranche ("the farmhouse of the oranges"), in the middle of a large, family owned orange orchard about a 10 mile drive from downtown Pizzo. It has a pool and free parking. Our room was in a block of six rooms that had their own porches near the pool. The main building housed the office and in-house restaurant, which is rented out for events (there was a wedding one night when we were there). The rooms were quiet, air-conditioned, and the beds were comfortable. There were televisions in the rooms, though they were a little complicated to use, and the father of the family was very kind and came and helped us. There is free wi-fi, but it didn't always work when we were there. The location of the property is very good. Although it is extremely quiet and feels like we're out in the country, an overpass can be seen in the distance, with access to the A3, and more local roads. It's a good place to use as a home base. We went into Pizzo several times a day, and took day-trips to Tropea, Serra San Bruno, Vibo Valentia and Gioia Tauro. We had dinner at the hotel several nights, and the food was good, with lots of choices. All or most of the produce is grown on the farm and was very good, including the orange marmalade at breakfast. The waiter, Giorgio, was friendly and spoke English well. We made friends with another couple staying at the hotel, which greatly added to our enjoyment of our visit. The sons of the family, Francesco and Antonio, manned the office, and were very friendly and fun to talk to. Our Italian skills are sketchy, but we love to try, and they had enough English to help us limp along. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool are quieter, but wi-fi access is better by the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PhoebeLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

An agriturismo hotel in idyllic, peaceful setting. Beautiful, tranquil gardens, surrounded by orange trees. Lovely pool. The homemade food from local fresh produce was also popular with people from nearby villages. Easy to find as just off motorway exit and only a few minutes from the beach and Pizzo town by car. Rooms were very clean. Staff went out of their way to help us. Even gave us a lift to our next hotel. Superb customer service and very family friendly. You would need a car to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slovejoy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We spent a week touring Calabria from this property. Easy accesss from highway and close to Pizzo and Tropea beaches. The owners: Domenico & son Alberto were lovely people, interested in our enjoyment of the region. Hospitality was first rate. Food was wonderful and chef accomodated our wishes. Property was fun to stroll around - they let us wander the orchard and even picked fruit off trees. Room was clean and well appointed. Peaceful nights under the stars (not noisy like downtown hotels, yet not far from nightlife). Highly recommend for families with children - property offers safe refuge to let them run and relax. We were a mature couple and enjoyed the family atmosphere instead of commercial hotels.

Room Tip: Some rooms are upstairs above the dining area, others in a separate building across the lawn. We cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahijado2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We just returned after spending a month in Italy. We decided to spend our last week in Pizzo at Il Casale dele Arance. Close to the town, beach and the highway. We had a family dinner for almost 20 people and the chef did not disappoint us-it was awesome!! The room was spotless and very comfortable. The scent of the near by orange and lemon groves are unforgettable. We enjoyed sitting by the pool and walking in the farm.
Great place for any occasion!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz48355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2007

For Agritourismo lovers I definitely recommend 'Il Casale delle Arance' in Pizzo Calabro in Calabria South of Italy. The views from the rooms are absolutely amazing we were surrended by acres of orange trees...it seems like we are in the middle of nowhere when in fact we were only 5minutes by car from the sea and the historical town centre with its castle, the food is amazing the owners 2 brothers were struggling with their english but were amazingly friendly and really made us feel at home. the rooms are very comfortable, the pool is nice the rstaurant is very warm, welcoming and decorated with excellent taste. The food is home made and you will not find there any burger or hot dogs, the food you get there is only home made dishes made with local fresh products.
The location is perfect you can even go for a day trip to Sicily..the prices are very decent Euro 40 per person including breakfast and then you've also got the half-board and full board options. However please note that a car is essential since there is no bus service from this location. Unfortunately, their website does not give this place any credit, I have tried to explain it to the owners, hopefully they understood...buon viaggio

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pizzo
6.7 km away
Residenza L'Antico Borgo
Residenza L'Antico Borgo
#1 of 1 in Filadelfia
183 reviews
2.9 km away
Club Med Napitia
Club Med Napitia
#2 of 10 in Pizzo
2,076 reviews
6 km away
Casa Armonia B&B
Casa Armonia B&B
#2 of 20 in Pizzo
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Pizzo Calabro resort
Pizzo Calabro resort
#4 of 10 in Pizzo
666 reviews
5.9 km away
Piccolo Grand Hotel
Piccolo Grand Hotel
#1 of 10 in Pizzo
228 reviews
7.6 km away
Residence Pietre Bianche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Casale delle Arance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Casale delle Arance

Address: Loc. Angitola - C.da Canneto, 89812 Pizzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Pizzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Pizzo
Price Range: €56 - €109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Casale delle Arance 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Il Casale delle Arance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Casale Delle Arance Italy/Pizzo, Calabria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing