We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
18
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2015

We enjoyed our time here very much. Hosts Pamela and Andre have created a relaxing retreat, just off the beach. The beach can be quite windy, so it was great to have the pool to swim in. Also enjoyed the Canadian television. The suites have everything you need to cook a meal and we also used the BBQ by the pool area. Our hosts were great - even provided us with some extra supplies! Comfy beds, nice showers - all very tastefully done. The malecon is very close by, so we could walk to everything, which was nice. If we go back to Progreso, we will definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa-Destino-Mexico, Owner at Casa Destino Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2015

You can take the Canadian out of Canada but you can't take the Canadian out of us. It was great having the four of you, enjoyed the guitar playing and conversations in the back yard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2015

Beautifully renovated well maintained apartments (kitchen facilities, internet and Canadian TV). Swimming pool is beautiful, well maintained daily. Pamela and Andre, the hosts, make the stay there at Casa Destino a superb experience. One minute walk to the east end of the white sand beach promenade ( the Malecon). A 15 minute walk westwards along that Promenade to the village / town center. Many beachfront verandah restaurants along the way. Yoga in the morning on the beach. In town, fresh vegetables and fruits; same-morning fresh fish; same-morning fresh meats from market butchers hung on hooks. Good meals in village restaurants, or cook at "home". There is International standard symphony orchestra in nearby Merida 40 minutes away by continuous bus service; also in Merida, upscale restaurants and evening folklorico in the plazas some days. Visit the Maya Mundo Museum in Merida - world class. Exploring the local countryside in local busses is a hoot. Major Maya ruins are same-day close-by. Other satellite communities along the coast to visit. Most people stay a few weeks to a few months in villas, suits, apartments - and get to know the friendly locals and other friendly expats (a vibrant expat community).We found our 1 month at Casa Destino with friends from Canada too short ! We have scheduled a much anticipated return next year.
R + P

Room tip: The apartment (not hotel) sizes vary, enquire as per your needs. All quiet.
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa-Destino-Mexico, Owner at Casa Destino Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2015

Thank you for your review of our property and for the great information about the local area. There really is a lot to do if you want or just relax if you prefer. See you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015

Our hosts Pam and Andre were wonderful. We stayed at Casa Destino for 1 week in the 1 bedroom casita. The space was very comfortable...from the comfortable queen bed and well equipped kitchen to the Internet and Shaw t.v. We loved it! Our casita door took us right to the pool deck area so no long stairs to negotiate. The pool area is beautiful and the nicest I have seen in Progreso (this was our third visit) with very comfortable loungers and chairs. Being close to the malecon and downtown area is great if you are not renting a car because you can walk or take a short bus ride. If you are really lucky, Pam will bake chocolate chip cookies for you...delicious! She will give you the recipe too....can't wait to make them.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa-Destino-Mexico, Owner at Casa Destino Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the cookies. See you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were here for the month of March 2014. The location could not be better as it is within walking distance to everything, and only a half block from the beach and malecon. We did not have a car, so that was important to us. Pam and Andre were very gracious hosts. Any and all concerns or questions were addressed immediately. We stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment. It was clean and comfortable, and had everything you would need for an extended stay. The property is immaculately maintained and the pool/patio area is quite a beautiful little sanctuary.

We had no complaints, but I would like to express that there could have been in little more in the line of decor. All walls were bare and I think they could have used some pictures, hangings, or something to warm the spaces up a bit. Also, although the apartment is roomy, there is only seating for 2 people in both the living room and dining area, so it kind of discouraged us from having visitors for dinner and/or an evening.

Please do not let the above comments discourage you in renting this property though. We would definitely stay here again. Pam and Andre are great folks, and will go out of their way to please, as we saw when our travel plans were changed at the last minute. Thanks again Pam for use of your phone, driving us to the bus ticket office, and being our interpreter. We made all our connections and got home on time, safe and sound.

Room tip: I believe the 1 bedroom apartment is a better value than the studios. It has a huge balcony overlooking the pool.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa-Destino-Mexico, Owner at Casa Destino Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Glad your trip home worked out well given the last minute changes. Happy we could help. Haven't found the perfect pictures yet but thanks for bringing it to our attention. Our rental units are designed solely for 2 people but we can accommodate the occasional guest for dinner or visiting by providing additional seating. Thanks for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was our second year at Casa Destino & my husband & I enjoyed our three months ( Jan.,Feb., & March) immensely!!!! It feels like Home!!! Pamela & Andre continue to provide first class service!!! We look forward to returning in January for another wonderful " Winter"!!! See you soon Pamela & Andre!!! Enjoy your summer!!! Sharon & Ted (Orillia, Ont.)

Date of stay: March 2014
Thank whymeorillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa-Destino-Mexico, Owner at Casa Destino Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

We're happy you feel so at home and we enjoy sharing Casa Destino with you. See you next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews