We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$96
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/06/21
Agoda.com
US$96
US$75
View deal
SAVE US$21
Free cancellation until 15/06/21
Expedia.comUS$87
eDreamsUS$96
PricelineUS$96
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
104
147
89
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
104
147
89
16
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2019

We stayed here overnight while walking the Via Francigena. It is very central and the restaurant attached is very good. It is a fairly standard room - we had one overlooking the street but were not affected by any noise. As this was organised by the company which took care of our bags we did not have much of a say as to which room. The breakfast was included but have to say the coffee is not great. A large group of cyclists were also staying and was great to meet them and find out the cycling route, as opposed to the walking route. If you let Reception know you are walking the VF, they advised us to walk along the river, rather than the busy road out of town. This was a fantastic piece of advice and if you can, you should also walk alongside the river rather than the road.

Room tip: Best views of the old town are the rooms NOT on the street side
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatSuElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2019

This is a lovely town, and this property should be better. the rooms are anonymous, thought the beds comfortable and the shower excellent. Breakfast was so-so - in a very gloomy room. Excellent location. And very friendly staff.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2018

We stayed at La Veccghia Carteria for one night on a pre-booked self-guided walking tour between some of the hill-towns of Tuscany. This hotel is in the newer lower town, connected to the historic walled upper town by a modern lift. It is in a converted paper mill. Our reception was efficient and the room clean, but rather cramped for two people with luggage (being transported for us between hotels) and our rucksacks, boots etc. The main disappointment was the food. The in-house restaurant in the old mill basement was not as good as a typical family run establishment. Our order was misunderstood - only one plate of average veal and chips appeared, and after a delay a second plate of veal without the chips. We should have gone out to one of the restaurants in the town square, but we were feeling tired after a day on our feet. The buffet breakfast in the hotel itself was equally poor. There was no stewed fruit to go with cereal and yogurt, only one small baton of bread, and no hot options, or even cold eggs, The one redeeming feature was a proper hot water urn (as opposed to the usual tepid water in flasks) so that when this eventually got up to boiling temperature we could have proper cups of tea.

Room tip: Upper floors probably quieter, but noise not a problem anyway. Try to ask for a large room, if they have any!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiltshireman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

The receptionists are very rude, unprofessionals. the room was very dirty, the sheets and towels were not changed for long time, in the breakfast there was only few croissants, hot water and tea bags.

Gli addetti alla reception sono molto scortesi, non professionale. la stanza era molto sporca, le lenzuola e gli asciugamani non sono stati modificati per lungo tempo.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank The P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed 1 night while walking V.F. Very helpful receptionist. Room ok. Supermarket up the road a little. Breakfast was ok. Was suitable for an overnight stop. Bathroom small like they all are over here.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank molly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews