We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
This one tests your endurance

The climb up and down is steep alomost 18km both ways 10hours .complete forest climb and descend... read more

Reviewed 9 March 2020
itspawssible
,
Pune, India
via mobile
2nd Highest Peak in Nagaland

Good for one day trekking. It will take 5 to 8 hours to reach the top depending on your fitness and... read more

Reviewed 23 September 2019
ColoMero
,
Kohima, India
via mobile
Read all 16 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
6
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
9
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2018

Japfu is the second highest peak of Nagaland. Here I am going to discuss about a few points, involving the time and how to climb..
1. When to go- The best time to do this treacherous trek, is winter i.e March to April or may be May. But never ever attempt it in the monsoon.
2. How to go- Reach Kigwema, a small village just 18km away from Kohima. Start the hike leaving behind Japfu Christian Collage.
3. Guide?- Its a hike, where guide is a must in the checklist. Nephrezo is the most dependable person there to guide you way up.

The trail is not easy and full of litches. So take the precautions.
It will take around 5 hours to go up and 4 hours to back to Kigwema..
ITS VERY DIFFICULT TO KNOW A PLACE LIKE THIS, JUST BY READING SOME BLOG.. SO YOU MAY CHECK MY DETAILED VIDEO AT YOUTUBE - YETI ADVENTURES..
We have visited in June. But that was not a wise decision.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Aniket M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 February 2018

A very good place to visit. This peak gives a complete view of Kohima and very panaramic view of the Kohima city.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Nalli N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

A Guide is recommended. 

The last patch requires a bit of Rock Climbing, easy though . The locals have hung an iron rope to go on top .

Also one treks through thick rain forests ,so I would recommend a guide .

It took me about 5 hours to reach on top and about 3.30 hours to get down. 

This is a factual information on how to reach on top of the Jhapu Peak.

I had hired a local guide who was good .

His Name is : Nephrezo 

And his number is : +91 9089805127

Apparently I stayed with the family too . They run a homestay in Kigwema which is looked after by two sisters 

Rovi :+91 85758 26863

Akiano:9856259469

A very nice and friendly family . The name of the Homestay is Dawn Home Stay : Village Kigwema , very conveniently located about 12 kms from Khoima .

JHAPU PEAK TREK DETAILS for those who would still want to go on their own .But a guide is recommended if you are Trekking alone 

1) Trail Starts  from the Gate of JHAPU CHRISTIAN COLLEGE on the Highway : Kohima- Imphal road : Kigwema village.

The trail is well defined until the potato farm and there are signs ( I saw two signs ). Enroute you pass a pony farm .

2) From the potato farms the trail enters the thick rain forests , till you come to a Rest House ( in Shambles) ..this is the last point to fill water .

There is a TOMB STONE in front of the rest house :DO NOT PASS /CROSS THE TOMB STONE - THIS IS NOT THE TRAIL.

if you are facing the tombstone, take a left just  near the rest house on a well defined trail , this trail will lead you through the forests to a Jeepable Road ( this Jeepable Road comes from the JOTSOMA VILLAGE near ( from Pulie Badze ) .

3) Follow the Jeepable road uphill where it ends .

From here you have to climb uphill again for an hour or more ,this is the  section of the entire trail where you have to negotiate a small  Rock Patch ( not difficult) .

A Guide is Recommended for the Trek to Jhapu peak if you are Trekking alone

4) APPARENTLY there is a Jeepable Road which comes from JOTSOMA VILLAGE ( Pulie Badze) to  the Base of the Peak ...Some locals from Khoima had driven in a Jeep to a certain point and then trekked to the Top.

Date of experience: December 2017
6  Thank KoolKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Having limited time in Kohima one could not go around all the lovely places in and around the town. Going to Japhu Peak requires lots of time and effort. As we were short of time we made the second best choice. We saw it from the top of another hill and it was a lovely sight. Someday we will make to the top of actual Japfu Peak.
While on the way to Pulie Badze and from its top one gets a beautiful view of Japhu Peak.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Satyendra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 November 2016

one of the best tracking destination for tracking lovers. People can enjoy the fullest of this holiday destination.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank SamudraBikash
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews