We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
awesome

Naga Heritage Village also known as Kisama Heritage Village is only one in Nagaland. The place is... read more

Reviewed 27 December 2019
Tannu D
,
Srinagar District, India
Hornbill festival

Hornbill festival is most sought after in northeast, it is from Dec 1-10 every year. We visited on... read more

Reviewed 27 December 2019
nalinkpande
,
Almora, India
via mobile
Read all 133 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
82
41
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
82
41
7
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2019

Naga Heritage Village also known as Kisama Heritage Village is only one in Nagaland. The place is wrapped in breathtaking scenic views at the foothills of the lustrous and evergreen hills on the borderline of this village. It is surrounded by all types of flora. Naga Heritage village is rich in its tradition and cultural activities.Visiting this place is an experience of one of its kind and probably different from any part of the country. Its rich heritage speaks volumes about its cultures and customs. On visiting, you will see the unique thatched roofs on the traditionally built houses, its wooden walls and delicately and neatly done carvings of different designs – all of it has an age old rural essence. You will feel living just simply in a different era in your lifetime. This village comprises of Morungs or 16 different houses that are designed and made in such a way that it symbolizes 16 communities of the population residing here. These communities have restored the artifacts of World War II, its food courts, traditionally bamboo made halls and a stadium which is famous for its Hornbill Festival. The scenic beauty of the village itself mesmerizes the tourists, and thus tourism has flourished in leaps and bounds in the region over the years.Every year in the first week of December, this village celebrates the biggest festival of Northeast, The Hornbill Festival. In other words it is known as the king of festivals. this festival is very important and considered sacred.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Tannu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 December 2019 via mobile

Hornbill festival is most sought after in northeast, it is from Dec 1-10 every year. We visited on 2nd of December 2019, and enjoyed the place, Kisama village, heritage village and enjoyed every moment of our 6hour visit to the place. Real Naga culture with the presence of various tribes, their dances, their camps called morung. The stage performances were excellent and the visit to various morungs and finding their food, environment and their welcome to tourist was an experience.
Recommend everyone never to miss the opportunity to visit Nagaland and Kohima during festivities.
I visited from Dimapur, but various home stays and camps are available to enjoy the place at its best.
Visit is only way to feel this unique place.
The delicacy of Naga food , the rice beer and roasted pork, do not miss.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank nalinkpande
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 December 2019 via mobile

Naga heritage village also known as Kisama Heritage village at Kohima, Nagaland. During Hornbill Festival being celebrated from 1 to 10 th December every year this village looks colorful with festive look. U can see Nagas customs, traditions, and their rich heritage. U can also see unique thatched roofs on the traditionally built houses by Nagas. The village consists of Morungs (huts) belongs to 16 different tribes of Nagas. We can enjoy the scenic beauty of village during Hornbill Festival with foreign and domestic tourists . We can also participate in their dances, music. Worth visiting.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank kvrnath1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 October 2019

We felt very fantastic environment here.We thought it was my home ! We were here just for two nights We would plan for stay long! Its clean and friendly. Their service is so good. Also the homemade food is absolutely delicious! We would suggest to everyone for visit here!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank amanda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 October 2019 via mobile

The heritage village is about 20 minutes away from the capital district of Kohima. One can find private and shared transport from BOC Bus station. There's a small entry fee of 10 rupees for individuals ane 10 for your camera/mobile decices for entering the village. Inside there is a museum, a stadium (where hornbill festival takes place) and a home from each of the major Naga tribes to showcase their rich exotic looking hut building styles. We were lucky to ve there on the day of pre-harvesting festival and the organizers were very generous to call us in for lunch.

This place is absolutely recommended from my side.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Anik_Rahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews