We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, great place”
Review of O Mparmpalias

O Mparmpalias
Ranked #40 of 217 Restaurants in Kalamata
Certificate of Excellence
Description: The more traditional cuisine surrounded by the incomparable beauty of nature gives color to our evening outings for delicious food and appetizers! Sophisticated ingredients and traditional recipes unfold on the counter, mingle with much love for what we do to end up impressively on unique flavors!
Restaurant details
Description: The more traditional cuisine surrounded by the incomparable beauty of nature gives color to our evening outings for delicious food and appetizers! Sophisticated ingredients and traditional recipes unfold on the counter, mingle with much love for what we do to end up impressively on unique flavors!
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Everything was great! The store was decorated with old pictures of the city. We had a great evening eating wonderful pasta with a local rooster and various mezedakia. Elias the owner provided high class service. At the end they offered as a super tasty homemade ice cream. It is a must go in Kalamata

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Kasteris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Beautiful, tasty, traditional Greek food made with love & passion. This popular restaurant is most certainly worth visiting, even if you are staying many miles away. Make the effort - you won't be disappointed!

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank FunkyMunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We stopped to a B&B near Leiki the night before we flew back to Kalamata and wanted to have our last evening meal at a local Taverna. We found Barbalias on Tripadvor and headed there. On arrival though, we realised that we didn't have many Euros. They don't take cards at the Taverna, only cash and the nearest cash machine would have been a few Km away. Also, there were no prices on the menu list. We explained the situation to Elias who was so kind and without knowing who we were, said we could pay him the day after. We explained that we would leave the morning after so had to stick to our budget which we did not disclose. Elias kindly asked us to choose whatever we wanted to order and he would have given us the price. We ended up ordering a very generous dinner and spending a very fair amount! Plus, we were treated with the most delicious home made use cream and shot of Raki! The food was divine, simple and genuine, so tasty and fresh! The atmosphere was stunning! The restaurant is also incredibly pretty! Elias was so nice, always smiley and trying to accomodate us in any way. I can't wait to go back next year! Whoever is in the Kalamata area, must stop at Barbalias!!!!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank FranandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

This the real greek food, here should learn ignorants like skarmoutsos and lazarou what real food with top quality ingredients is about.
A and the prices: the way it should be in a long ago defaulted country.
Go there every day!
Highlights:

Soutzoukakia
Kolokithikorfades
Real choriatiki
Kokoras bio (rooster)
Eggs with tomatoes (kagiana)

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank paulGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Real good food, with a big variety of traditional Greek and local dishes, friendly service and reasonal prices. It is worth visiting this tavern. I strongly recomend it.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank 568christosf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Mparmpalias also viewed

Kalamata, Messenia Region
Kalamata, Messenia Region
 
Kalamata, Messenia Region
Kalamata, Messenia Region
 
Kalamata, Messenia Region
Kalamata, Messenia Region
 

Been to O Mparmpalias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing