We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
13 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$147
eDreamsUS$146
Agoda.comUS$147
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,915)
Filter reviews
1,915 results
Traveller rating
782
531
268
171
163
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
782
531
268
171
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviews east village glass igloo set menu log cabin northern lights unique experience your luggage reindeer safari aurora hunting once in a lifetime horse riding soup bucket list west side course dinner santa's village small glass
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,915 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2020

DO NOT STAY HERE complete false advertisement!!!!

We stayed here for a few days before Christmas and booked an igloo. When we arrived we had been given “an upgrade” to a wooden hut. We explained we didn’t want the upgrade and we paid for an igloo for a reason, to have a 360 view of the lights. So the woman told us to stay put for a night and she would arrange an igloo. The following day we found out the truth that none of the igloos are available (yet still up on the website as available) due to not enough guests being present. We had been in close contact with the resort prior to our stay and they forgot to mention this.

They also are not offering any food (found out after booking) yet they are offering a so called breakfast (stale sandwiches which are inedible).

The website also says the glass to the accommodation is “special heated glass” yet the whole time we stayed, the glass was covered in snow and condensation and there was not much snow fall at the time to blame.

After the lady knew how unhappy we were about the visit she offered us some drink (expected these to be complimentary) which were later added to the bill.

She also offered us a tour of the igloos to take some photos but the following day said “its not possible now”

At this point we decided to leave the resort a day earlier and stay elsewhere where we found a resort offering a lot more.

Do some research before staying here and don't get fooled by the lies.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
10  Thank elliotth424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2020

Kakslauttanen Artic Resort has been on my bucket list for over five years! I finally made it to this dream destination last year and I cannot recommend it enough. Having visited it during December, the place looked straight out of a story book! The resort was snow-laden and it definitely caters to a younger audience.

With having us sledge our own bags from the reception to the room in knee-deep snow to watching the northern lights through the Igloo glass ceiling and from dog-sledding with huskies to christmas markets and santaclaus at the resort, it is definitely worth the time, effort and money.

The resort provides for a unique and luxurious stay! Something that you might not be able to experience anywhere else. So, definitely go for it :)

Room tip: Choose the Log Cabin if you want more space / Choose Igloo for the breath-taking experience! I stayed in both so as to experience both.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KirtiPanchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Front Office Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, our team is very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort!

We want to offer our guests the best possible experience, so every feedback is important and appreciated, and helps us in developing our services in the future.

It is wonderful to hear that you have also tried some of the activities we offer in our resort. Hopefully you got to see some beautiful Northern Lights, which we had many during the last year.

You are warmly welcomed to visit us also for another time in the future.

In the meantime we wish you all the best!

Kind Regards,

Team Kakslauttanen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2020

My sons and I went a couple years ago. I had read a few bad reviews that they were out in the middle of nowhere, no wifi, etc. That's what you come for, fools! It was perfect. My son was 6 at the time and we stayed in a Kelo. Much too big for us, but it was amazing. One of the nicest log cabins I've ever seen, with an igloo attached, too! The food was amazing to me, but maybe not as kid friendly. We booked all our activities through the hotel and they did not disappoint. I would go back in a heartbeat, and will again some day for sure!

Room tip: Kelo's are the greatest!
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 238leannw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Front Office Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2020

Dear guest,

thank you for writing a review about us and describing your experience in our resort. We appreciate your feedback.

You are right, the luxury of visiting us comes indeed from the fact that you get to experience the Arctic nature by staying in the middle of the wilderness, experiencing true Lapland and its winter wonderland, breathing the fresh air and enjoying the peace and quiet.

However, we are always making improvements on our services, and currently we have a good wifi connection, all of our accommodations are well equipped, we have several restaurants offering also kids menus and we offer plenty of exciting activities for guests of all ages. We take all feedback very seriously and want to offer our guests the best possible experience.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you would be willing to return to Kakslauttanen some day. You are warmly welcomed to visit us another time in the future.

In the meantime we wish you and your family all the best.

Kind Regards,

Team Kakslauttanen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2020

My wife and I recent spent 4 nights at the resort to celebrate our anniversary.

This is part of a trip that we had high expectations and planned for a long time . Overall, think only the location and activities lives up to the expectation. The service and the feel is definitely quite disappointing.

I am debating if I should put a 3 star here, but after finishing writing the rest piece think it's probably closer to a 2

First off, the good part:

I would say the location is fabulous, right in the Lapland inside the arctic circle . We stayed in the Kelo glass igloo - one of the best room types in the resort. The room was OK, and with a Kelo, you get a full view of the sky which is quite a good experience.
Activities are the highlights - we enjoyed in particular husky slide, snow mobile rides, cross country ski - we like the guides we worked with, they are professional and enthusiastic. Reindeer ride is a little setback - but you are in the hometown of Santa, you might as well do it.

Now about the part I wish could be better:

I'm not sure how many travelers are drawn to the resort by their webpage - that's how we get to know the hotel. Think I'll have to give them credit for the marketing - if you search "luxury arctic resort", Kakslauttan is at the top of the list and the picture and website is top notch , we didn't even bother to contact other resorts - this one look fantastic online, and obviously that comes with a relative high price tag.

But when you actually stay there, you realize it's actually quite opposite to luxury - I think the best way to think about is some well run family ranch with a few activities attached to it.

A few things in specific:

First, it's quite crowded - you see buses and buses of tourism group stopping in front of the dining building and they do share space with you - I don't know if all of them stays in the resort, but I believe the resort also open part of the facility to day visitors - that's a big drawback, at least for us, there's no tranquility feelings when you stay there.
On the other side, dinner was OK, but don’t expect fine dining here.

Second, the facility is quite old and the instruction is not very clear.

Our room comes with an in-room sauna, but you can only use it from 5-9 pm (I forgot the exact hours, but something like that). You get an instruction paper for operation and it takes about 30 minutes to heat up. If you follow the instruction, think you have 50% chance of success, unfortunately, we're the other 50% and we waited more than 30 minutes to realize something is wrong. The worse part is that the hotel room do not come with in-room phones, I have walk 5 minutes in the middle of Arctic night - in snow - to the dining building to ask for help. Help did come relatively quickly and they fixed the equipment, but we have only 1 sauna hour to enjoy for the day and we're no longer in the mood for it - what a setback. To hotel's credit, we were later told that we can call the emergency number listed on the instruction paper for help - who would have thought a non-working sauna is an emergency, oh well; maybe we're just being too polite.

The facility issue does not just stop here, it went on.
I'm sure a lot of people come here to watch aurora, and our room is equipped with an aurora-alarm if the aurora comes out. On the third night we stayed there, the aurora alarm triggered around 10pm. We were quite delighted and rush under the Kelo glass to try our luck - obviously you cannot guarantee anything, and luck is not on our side - that's not really the problem, the problem is the aurora-alarm keeps on for another 3 hours. So we stayed faithfully for the full length until we finally shut it down manually. The second day we were told it's a mal-function of equipment and the alarm should only have been sounded once (even that it’s a very weak one and not everyone can see it). But that information didn't come until next day and my wife and I engaged a mild argument of whether or not keep waiting after 3 long hours staring at the sky - right on the night of our anniversary trip - what a disappointment.

At last, I want to mention the frustration about early communication. We started our booking 6 months in advance and we used a travel agency for communicating with the resort. Although we keep daily contact with the travel agency, we're having quite some trouble communicating with the hotel and only finally secure the booking 3-4 weeks later. We later thought maybe it's an issue with the travel agency, so we contacted directly to the hotel when we're ready to book activities. The first Email went unanswered for a week and we had to send a follow-up. To be very honest, if we haven't booked the room and were so much sold into their website, this lag would typically mean we stop working with this hotel/operator - better tour companies and hotels typical respond in a day rather than in a week. After the first communication, the later communications didn't improve much, a couple of days delay is typical here so you want to prepare accordingly.

After I finish the review I think I did sound a little negative – hope this is good information, and the best advice I can give is just lower your expectation.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Xiao J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Front Office Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2020

Dear guest,

thank you for giving us this feedback and describing your trip with us in total.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced while visiting our resort.

Our West Village area indeed is quite active especially during the high season, because it offers more accommodation and activities for our guests. We also have our East Village, which is more cozy and quiet for those that seek for tranquility.

Thank you for letting us know that we did not succeed in the communication process, and that you had problems with our equipment. The criticism you have given us is highly appreciated, and we will most certainly consider all of the points you addressed, in order to improve our services in the future.

Thank you again for choosing us as your holiday destination. We wish you all the best in the future.

Kind Regards,

Team Kakslauttanen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2020

Our experience with this resort was mixed to be honest. We stayed for 6 nights in one of the Queen Rooms, which are lovely with sauna, log fire and jacuzzi. We mostly had a lovely time but there were a couple of things that did not really fit the “luxury” experience that was promised:

a) Organisation was at times a bit chaotic and we were given the wrong time for one of the events, a husky safari. The error was clearly with someone from the team but no refund was given. A bit disappointing
b) When booking online there is a lot of pressure to up-front book an event for every day. You might not want to do this too far in advance. Most events are very weather dependent and can be quite a waste of money if the weather is bad. Also problems like for a) might arise
c) We ordered the special dinner for every night of the week which in hindsight was a bit of a waste of money. They are not very different from the normal dinners. Also the deserts are essentialy the same for every special dinner while for the normal dinners they seem to change. However the elk and reindeer is very, very nice and something one should try.

However it was generally a great holiday and we especially loved the day trip to Inari with the snowmobiles. Though we think that 6 nights are plenty, especially during the winter when there is hardly any real daylight. Also do not expect any special treatment if you are here for an anniversary or honey moon, at least we did not notice any.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank H4576PLmartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Front Office Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2020

Dear guest,

thank you for giving us this feedback and describing your trip with us in total.

Our team is happy to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation and your overall experience with us. We are also very sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced while visiting our resort, and that your anniversary / honeymoon was not noted by our team.

The criticism you have given us is highly appreciated, and we will most certainly consider all of the points you addressed, in order to improve our services in the future.

As you mentioned, the weather in Lapland can change a lot in a short period of time. However, we still recommend to book the activities beforehand if only possible, because during the high season the activities are very popular. Therefore, in order to ensure their availability it is recommended to make the bookings beforehand.

Thank you again for choosing us as your holiday destination. We wish you all the best in the future.

Kind Regards,

Team Kakslauttanen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews