We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
15 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$147
eDreamsUS$146
Agoda.comUS$147
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,915)
Filter reviews
1,915 results
Traveller rating
782
531
268
171
163
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
782
531
268
171
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviews east village glass igloo set menu log cabin northern lights unique experience your luggage reindeer safari aurora hunting once in a lifetime horse riding soup bucket list west side course dinner santa's village small glass
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,915 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2020

Very glad we made the decision to stop over for a night here on our way from Santa Claus Village to Inari village. Initially we wanted to stay in East Village to avoid the usual crowd in West Village during normal times, but figured West Village should be less crowded because of the pandemic in Europe.
The resort in the Arctic wilderness was half-buried in snow and there were very few guests. Winter came late to Lapland this year and when it finally arrived, it dumped more than twice the amount of snow.
Our small glass igloo had just enough space to accommodate 2 single beds and 1 extra bed for 3 adults. There was some space for 3 cabin-size luggage along the side. A kettle, teabags and coffee sachets were provided. There was a toilet but no bathroom.
We were very lucky to see the Northern Lights in the comfort of the glass igloo (outside temperature - 11 degree C), the only day out of 6 days in Aurora Zone (If we had headed straight to Inari village we would have failed to see any Northern Lights during our entire trip because it snowed every night in Inari)
When we arrived at the resort at 3 pm, 16 March, by bus (very comfortable, cheap and punctual) from Santa Claus Village, the whole sky was enveloped in dark clouds. But by 7 pm, the sky began to clear, and when we got back to the igloo at about 9 pm, there were only stars in the sky. Then at about 10 pm white streaks (Level-2 Northern Lights) began to appear and eventually some beautiful Northern Lights emerged.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 911Steven21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Front Office Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2020

Dear guest,

thank you for your feedback and for choosing Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort as your holiday destination!

Our team is very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the accommodation you chose met your expectations. Seeing the Northern Lights from your own Glass Igloo indeed is something amazing and unforgettable, and we are glad that you got to experience it.

As you mentioned, we have received plenty of snow in this winter, and actually the first snow came quite early in Kakslauttanen, already in the end of September. We hope that next winter the snow will come early again.

We wish you all the best and hope to have you as our guest also in the future.

Kind Regards,

team Kakslauttanen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2020

Prior to arriving to the hotel you expect to be staying at a luxury hotel as you have paid a high price to stay. However soon after you arrive, you realise that no matter how old you are, you need to carry your own suitcase to your room. The small glass igloos don't have a shower so you need to walk out in the cold to use the shared bathrooms (this was not advertised anywhere). There are no amenities in the room such as shampoo/conditioner/tooth paste. In the shared bathrooms there is an all-in-one soap to be used as body gel and shampoo and conditioner. The small igloos don't have a closed toilet either so any noise in the toilet is completely carried across the room.

That being said the waiter/ waitresses are amazing at the hotel. Food at Aurora was great. The experience of staying in an igloo is second to none. The activities are beyond what you might expect. It is just one in a life time experience. Really recommend husky safari!!

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ergunberksoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Front Office Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2020

Dear guest,

thank you for your feedback and for choosing Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort as your holiday destination.

We are happy to hear that the activities and food provided at our resort met your expectations. Husky safari indeed is one of the things we always recommend our guests to try!

The other feedback you gave is taken seriously by our team and we will work hard to make improvements for the future.

As it comes to the advertising of our resort, we want our guests to know all of the facts beforehand and therefore we also have all of the room information available on our website and different booking channels. We are unfortunately not aware of where you have made your booking, but we are very sorry if some relevant information was missing.

Thank you again for dressing our many important issues to us, this information is useful for our company to develop its services. We wish you all the best.

Kind Regards,

Kakslauttanen team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2020

We stayed at the larger West Village. Some negative reviews might be for East Village with a much smaller reception area. West Village was amazing. The lobby is spacious and the dining room is well away from reception.

The food was wonderful. There is a set menu every night, but they will make substitutions. Order from the small (expensive) a la carte menu and you only pay the difference in cost. The only meal that fell short was lunch. The offerings are limited, expensive, and not stellar. Eat enough at breakfast to carry through to dinner, or, if you have a car, there are restaurants in Saariselka. The breakfast buffet suits both American and European styles of eating.

While the hotel will pick you up in Ivalo, consider renting a car, especially if you have mobility issues. The lodging is all a hefty walk from the reception/restaurant building.

The glass igloo was comfortable. Ledges all around the edge accommodate luggage. Adjustable beds allow you to lie comfortably to watch an aurora, should the "aurora alarm" in the igloo wake you. We found the igloo overly warm, but I suspect that's by design to keep the glass clear. Even with no aurora, the stars are amazing.

The reindeer safari and the snow tank safari are low effort. The husky safari is strenuous, the huskies needing help getting up some hills. Consider booking after arrival, as the husky safari is uncomfortable when it's snowing.

Finally, BUY TRIP INSURANCE. They're very up front about their no refund policy.

Date of stay: February 2020
1  Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Front Office Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort as your holiday destination!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, meals and the activities in our resort.

It is true that sometimes there can be a heavy snowfall, but we still strongly advice booking the activities beforehand if only possible, especially during the high season. This way the availability of the activities can be ensured for you.

Thank you again for the feedback, it is highly appreciated by our team. We wish you all the best and hope to have you as our guest also in the future.

Kind regards,

Team Kakslauttanen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2020

Many months ago, we began plans for a crazy adventure. This journey above the Arctic Circle includes the Kaslauttanen Arctic Resort. We did read some non-favorable reviews and some expectations for potential poor service; what we encountered was nothing but the opposite. Friendly, accommodating, helpful and welcoming was the greeting and experience we received.

We had specifically booked the East Village for authenticity and remoteness… what we know having never been before… Due to cancellations, the East Village was closed. After speaking with management, we were graciously upgraded to a Kelo-Igloo for our entire stay.

It was an enormous cabin WITH an igloo AND a bathroom and sauna and just happened to be the closest one to the restaurant and an unobstructed view.
Breakfast was the same every day but was varied and sufficiently ample. Diner always provided options and was quite tasty and filling. All servers were friendly and went above and beyond to be helpful.

During our stay, we participated in dog sled riding, reindeer sleigh riding and horse-back riding. Our experience with the dog sledding was our favorite and amazing. Simon provided a knowledgeable introduction to the dogs and mushing. The whole activity was exhilarating and highly recommended.

Next, we went reindeer sleigh riding which was very relaxing. We were also educated on the Sami people and their way of life and living. Elisa was a great guide with a wonderful personality.

Our last excursion was horseback riding. We went on a scenic trail through deep snow in the arctic wilderness. Aura was a wonderful guide and Martina was very accommodating and showed us husky puppies.

The entire resort was very walkable and there was good signage to indicate where to go. Though we brought our own, clothing and equipment was available at the resort and all activities.

We had an outstanding experience with wonderful accommodations. We would highly recommend staying here and hope you get to see the Northern Lights even though we did not.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalisilat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Front Office Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind and thorough feedback, which is highly appreciated by our team.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your accommodation and the experience as a whole. It seems that you have tried many of the activities we provide here in our resort.

We wish you all the best and hope to have you as our guest also in the future.

Kind regards,

Team Kakslauttanen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020

We just spent four nights at the Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort in between visits to Helsinki, Finland and St. Petersburg, Russia. This is one of the most beautiful and amazing places I have ever visited and I have been to 42 countries and stayed in dozens of 4 and 5 star hotels and resorts. We stayed in a "Kelo", which is a private log cabin, equipped with a glass igloo, fireplace and private sauna, as well as a mini-kitchen. Wow, wow, wow!! It is magical! There is a nice king bed in the cabin and bedding in the igloo, which has the head and feet that raise and lower, all for your comfort as you view the Aurora Borealis! We were blessed to see them three nights in a row and I was able to get some phenomenal photos! The resort offers some wonderful excursions, like driving your very own husky dog sled, ice fishing, snow shoeing, nighttime snowmobiling, reindeer sleigh rides, and more! There is even a Santa's Village. Just walking around the resort is a beautiful experience and we will definitely go back.

Room tip: The types of accommodations, include a hotel, just cabins, just igloos, and the top of the line, the Kelo cabin/igloo combination.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SavvyVacationLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakslauttanen, Front Office Manager at Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback, which is highly appreciated by our team.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your accommodation and the experience as a whole, and have tried many of the activities we provide here in our resort. Nice to hear that you were also lucky to see the amazing Northern Lights!

We wish you all the best and hope to have you as our guest also in the future.

Kind regards,

Team Kakslauttanen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews