We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$80
View deal
Expedia.comUS$80
Hotels.comUS$80
FindHotelUS$80
Trip.comUS$80
EtripUS$80
TripadvisorUS$80
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
70
75
25
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
70
75
25
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porridge northern lights single bed tunturi hotel spag bol buffet breakfast wild reindeer lapland safari wrap up warm crisps cold meats drying cupboard snowmobile ride cherry juice open fire ivalo airport tea and coffee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2021 via mobile

We stayed at the Saariselka Inn as part of Santa's lapland Magic Break. We arrived Friday and departed on Monday. The village itself is small and very pretty, for a long weekend there are more than enough places to eat out somewhere different each night (we picked bed and breakfast as we like to try different places to eat). The accommodation is spacious warm and clean, it is fairly basic, but we went there with those expectations and happy with our choice (we weren't in the room that often). The bathroom was very clean and had a great shower. The breakfast was buffet with lots of choices. All over the village there are sledges just to be picked up to use and you can walk (15 mins) to one of Europe's longest sleding hills, 1.8kms long lots of fun. We went on the northern light experience, we managed to see the northern lights but it was -30 and our kids (8 and 11 yrs old) didn't handle that cold very well, the reps recognised this and organised a bus for all the kids to head back half way through, I personally wouldn't recommend any younger than teenagers on that trip when it's that cold. The Santa day was excellent, lots of great warming rooms to use, definitely make use of them as it makes the day much more enjoyable.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MBoyd218
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 July 2021

We only stayed one night in July, and I was happy with the location, buffet breakfast and the friendly staff at breakfast. The interiors are outdated ( from the 1980's ) but tidy enough. The only small negative was a less than friendly welcome at the reception, but I can understand that times are stressful for businesses when the pandemic has affected the customer flow from abroad so massively.

We saw only a couple of other guest so it felt safe with corona in mind. The beautiful and calm reindeers walking around outside were a nice addition and created a lovely athmosphere when looking out the window or taking a walk.

Quality for price was good.

Pub Panimo has a terass otside where we enjoyed a glass of wine and a IPA, inside was karaoke and a pub quiz (every Friday and Wednesday) which was not too loud but relaxed.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sutu2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 February 2020 via mobile

We picked the Saariselkä Inn for a few reasons: it was one of the cheaper options, it was central to everything we needed and we got discount at Husky & Co for all of our excursions. We were very happy. Yes, the rooms are a bit dated but for the price there’s not much to complain about. We had an issue with the heating and someone came and solved the problem immediately. The sofa bed was quite uncomfortable for our third adult... that would be our main criticism. Katja, who worked on reception, was so friendly and was always genuinely interested in hearing about what we had been up to during the day. Other staff members were also friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 January 2020

Me and my wife visited Saariselka from 28th December 2019 for 5 nights , The room allotted was 501. we reached quite late at around 11.30 and as promised the keys were available at panimo bar. Our room was very nice and cosy. The amenities as promised was there, electric kettle, heaters and running hot water. There is no day cleaning during your stay, no change of linen. Breakfast was complimentary. It was ok for a non-veg but repetitive. The items were same for 5 days and so much so that they are placed at the same place. There is bread, curd , corn flakes, porridge, potato fry with sausage etc, cut cucumber , tomatoes , letuce , cold cuts 3 variety and cheese. Orange in fresh fruit and Berry juice and orange juice, cold mmilk , tea and coffee. Breakfat time 7-10- very strict with time.at 10.05 would not get anything. .
Hotel location is very good, k market the departmental store is about 5 min walk most convenient is the bus stop which is just across the hotel. The pub is also nice . Overall a great place to stay for a budget traveller

Room tip: 500 series as it is away from main road and the pub
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sushovan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 December 2019 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights just before Christmas and had the most amazing time. I booked this place as honestly it was the cheapest option by far and I knew we wouldn't be in the room much. That being said everything far exceeded my expectations. We didn't go anywhere near the pub so I can't make any comments on that except to say that the pub shown in lots of the pictures on TripAdvisor and booking.com is in a separate building to the Inn part itself. The pub is attached to the husky and co building and the inn is in a building just to the rear. All of what follows relates to the Inn...
Beautiful christmassy reception area with a decorated tree and hundreds of twinkle lights. It was a lovely wooden building with a real husky dog usually sitting behind the counter for the children to stroke. The lady on reception was so helpful and really cheery. There was a small bar, lovely lounge with comfy chairs around a fire and this went through to the restaurant where breakfast was served. This area then transformed to the restaurant for the rest of the day. I think the restaurant was called Anne's Garden Grill. Don't be put off by the massive neon burger outside - the food was excellent and really well priced for this area. We were a group of 5 adults and 4 kids and elwe enjoyed the most delicious chicken wings I've ever had for starter followed by pizzas and then blueberry jam pancakes for pudding. It was €120 for two adults and two kids and worth every penny. Put this restaurant on your list and you won't be disappointed. Breakfast was toast, cereal, porridge, cold meats and cheese, bread/toast and then a cooked dish of sausage, potatoes, onions etc - all very yummy and plenty of it. There was also juice, tea and coffee machine etc. The room had a lounge with a sofa bed big enough for two young children ( but occupied by our 14 year old son) and then a bedroom with a double bed (two singles put together) and a single futon bed which our 7 year old daughter slept on. At a push you could therefore have 2 adults and 3 kids in one suite. We opted for the bathroom with a bath rather than sauna but if I had my time again I'd for the sauna so that we'd have somewhere to dry boots etc in the evenings. The room was always lovely and warm. The temperature is not controlled by the thermostat on the wall - that just covers the bathroom. You adjust the room temp by the controls on the electric radiators on the walls. There was plenty of hanging space, a large flat screen TV in the lounge, a fridge and kettle but no tea/coffee stuff so bring your own and mugs/thermos. The decor was a little dated but entirely in keeping with the place and we loved it. I only have 2 negative comments about the Inn. Firstly there is q curved wall to the bathroom that has glass blocks in it so when you are on the toilet and you have the light on, everyone in the room can see you. Having my 14 year old son in the same room meant this was less than ideal and there were a few toilet visits that had to be conducted in the dark as a result! Secondly all suites are in log buildings behind the inn. We were allocated a room right by the main entrance door to the block. Everytime people would come in they would knock their boots against the walls and on the floor which made a lot of noise in our bedroom so ask for a room away from the main door to the block. Otherwise it was all wonderful and I would highly recommend.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews