We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic, charming and well located but basic with cramped sleeping in the double beds”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saariselka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saariselka Inn Log Cabins
Reviewed 2 April 2015

This was our second time in Saariselka but the first in self catering. We selected these on the basis of their strong reviews on Trip Advisor and we greatly enjoyed our stay. The cabins are very charming as you can see from the photos, and in what we thought was a very good location. They are an 8 minute walk from the main street in a peaceful wooded area - which is also good for watching the Northern Lights. Crucially they are also the same distance from a large supermarket so food shopping was not onerous and sledges are provided to transport it. They also have a great two person Sauna and if you're cross country skiing, as we were, the tracks run almost to the door. The people in the Panimo Lodge were also extremely welcoming and helpful and it's a nice place to go for a beer. There were two things which stopped us from scoring this excellent. 1) The kitchen is minimally equipped - 2 electric rings and a microwave. That greatly limits what you can cook and if there were 4 - 6 of you, you'd struggle to produce enough over several nights. We cooked in every night through choice, but you have to plan carefully. 2) What is described as a double bed is barely wide enough for two slim people. We found it very cramped actually but didn't want to sleep separately so stuck with it. There's also a wooden beam just a forearm's length above your head if you're sleeping on the outside. If you even think of sitting up during the night you clout your head, which I did several times. I wouldn't want to overplay these criticisms beacuse overall we really loved it, but the cramped sleeping means that we wouldn't book these again. If you would be happy sleeping separately that wouldn't be an issue. There is a much wider mezzanine floor above the lounge, but that means lying on thin foam mattresses which wasn't appealing. The lounge could also do with some more concessions to comfort, like cushions. In short these are very charming and fun but they are quite basic; not entirely suprising for northern Finland. If you're aware of that you won't be disappointed and they are a very good place from which to enjoy Saariselka.

Room Tip: The Wifi was pretty flaky, so teenagers might get frustrated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2015

We had a fantastic time staying in our log cabin.The cabin was very picturesque and so cosy and warm! We saw the northern lights 3 times from the cabin, which was amazing! Well located - only a short 10 min walk to town. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bunny-B80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2015

Great experience in the middle of the snow. Spaciuos and warm cottages just 5-10 minutes walk from the village centre, with great facilities: kitchen, great bathroom with sauna, drywasher. Go there!!!

Room Tip: Verify at the reception if the wi-fi is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

These Log cabins are just perfect. We stayed here for a week over NY and booked via Inghams. There are just picture perfect and everything we were looking for
The insides of the cabins are basic but have everything you need. The pictures don't really do them justice and were quite nervous about how basic they would be but we didn't need to worry. We were a group of 4 adults , had a bedrooms each and the upstairs mezzanine bedroom was made into a movie room !. The log fire is amazing and we never felt cold in the cabin - quite the opposite and as the cabins were so warm we never got round to using the sauna. The lounge seating maybe could do with a few more cushions but thats about my only criticism ( oh and a few more mirrors for us ladies). In terms of location these cabins are also great - its about 5-10 minute walk to the main areas but with the beautiful surroundings we never minded this. There are plenty of free sledges around to put your shopping in and drag back through the snow. We spend plenty of time at the Panimo Pub in the centre which had wifi free aswell as some amazing local drinks..minto, berry juice and Vodka etc etc mmmmmm. We loved Saariselka as a place too enough restaurants to every nights and a small collection of shops for your souvenirs. Its not the cheapest place to eat out but I have to say we never had a bad meal. We were there for NY and the fireworks in the centre were spectacular. We did also excursions - reindeer safari, Snowmobiles (twice) , husky sledging and the free sledges for tobogganing were used almost every day. Even though when we got there we were told the toboggan run was almost be cut into 1/3rd of the size (and we really disappointed to hear this) we managed to walk to the top of the ski run (where there is the most amazing cafe) and just re-created the toboggan run on the way back down....you had to get off a couple of times and pick up the trail but I have never sledged so far and so quick before...absolute blast.....would LOVE to go back here and would without doubt stay in these cabins. Oh and the snow suits and boots you hire from Inghams are amazing - we were never cold ...they also gave you gloves, and hats if needed which is good to know as they don't mention this when you book and after i borrowed their mittens i never used my gloves again

Room Tip: all great locations - were were in number 6 which was about half way round - i think the earlier num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TDVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2014

We stayed here with our four children aged 16, 13, 9 and 6 between 14th and 21st December 2014. We had very high hopes and expectations for this trip, based both on the significant cost of the trip and the great reviews we had read on tripadvisor and I am pleased to say that it lived up to them. There was something for everyone and although there was a 3 hour transfer from Kittila airport, it was worth it to have the non-commercial, traditional, authentic feel that Saariselka has. There was something for all ages, which was important to us due to the varying ages of our children and although our older two would probably never admit to having enjoyed it, they did and wanted to be pulled around in sledges as much as the younger two. Our first day was acquainting ourselves with our surroundings, collecting our hired outerwear/boots and the welcome meeting. Top Safari, where we collected our clothing from were very helpful and wanted to make sure everything you had was the right fit and comfortable and the clothing was just the job - it kept you amazingly warm and dry and the children could roll about in the snow for ages, without it getting through the clothing or boots. David, our Inghams rep, was extremely helpful and was happy to be of assistance in any way he could. He always seemed to be around and accompanying trips and both myself and my husband have never experienced a rep who works so hard and is available so readily. Our package included our outerwear/boots and all our trips, except for our skiing taster session, which we added on when we were there. Our second day was a snowmobile safari, which was not for the faint-hearted. It was a much more challenging route than I was expecting and to be honest, if I'd have known what was coming, I probably wouldn't have driven one myself, although I am glad to have done it now. The husband and older kids (on the back of my husband's and my snowmobile) loved it, but the little ones who were in an open sledge pulled behind the leader, did not as much as it was around two and a half hours long, which was a bit too long for them - but there were plenty of stops to check they were ok. The next day was a reindeer sleigh ride, which involved sitting back and enjoying while a reindeer pulled your sleigh through the winter wilderness, Beautiful surroundings and extremely relaxing. It was at a genuine reindeer farm, run by Sami reindeer farmers, who were very welcoming and talked to you about the reindeer over hot berry juice and cake in a 'kota' hut with a roaring fire. Next was husky dog sledding, which I think was brilliant. After a very brief lesson, each group were led to their sled with six huskies - the noise from sixty husky dogs all in close proximity was very loud! The dogs were raring to go and once ready in your sled, you were untethered and dragged off into the unknown by the dogs. Driving the sled was easier than anticipated, although you had to be on the ball at all times! It really was an experience I don't think any of us will ever forget. Afterwards we had hot berry juice while a husky puppy was brought round for all the children to coo over. Friday was our trip to visit Father Christmas himself at his house in the woods. The blacksmiths shop, with details of how the presents got around the world, meeting and feeding the reindeer, hot berry juice and gingerbread and of course meeting Father Christmas himself was magical and lovely. We had booked a ski taster session for our free day on the Saturday and this consisted of 90 minutes with a ski instructor, including all equipment and a lift pass and also some free time after the lesson to practice. All of us enjoyed this. Leen the ski instructor was patient and understanding and worked to each of our level (it was only our family of 6 in the group). By the end we had all improved massively compared to when we started. That evening we had a gala dinner where Father Christmas visited the children, there was a lovely traditional Christmas dinner and party games for the children. This was a lovely end to the holiday and it was nice to go to a different hotel (the Gielas) for this, rather than the one we had eaten in all week (the Tunturi) as it made a change. The food at the Tunturi (we were half board) was good and we ate well - the only minor criticism would be that the menu was on a three day cycle, so the menu was repeated, which I thought could be improved as many people were staying a week and a weekly cycle would have prevented the repetition and provided more variety.

This was an amazing holiday, which although pricey, is one that will always be remembered and gave us all the opportunity to do activities we would probably never have done otherwise. The trips included in our package were good quality, non-commercial and of a decent length of time. The village of Saariselka itself had everything you needed, supermarket, restaurants, souvenir shops etc. but it was a lovely small Finnish resort, with everything within a reasonable distance. The toboggan slope was great and toboggans were freely available. It is usually 1.2km but has been shortened to around 200m this winter due to an access road for building new cabins. This was a bit of a disappointment, although the walk up the 200m slope was hard work, so I can imagine 1.2km would be a real trek! The Panimo Cabins we stayed in were just what we were hoping for. Rustic and traditional. They were super warm and the sauna was a nice addition. They are apparently in the perfect location for seeing the Northern Lights, but we were disappointed that they didn't show themselves as it was cloudy most of the time. The temperature when we got there was around -2 degrees and the coldest it got towards the end of the week was around -15 degrees, which is nowhere near as cold as it can get. I had read up on what clothing and equipment is necessary for Lapland and therefore we were well prepared and coped well with the cold.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank FamilyVonTrapp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saariselka hotels
0.4 km away
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
Lapland Hotel Riekonlinna
#5 of 6 in Saariselka
413 reviews
10.3 km away
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
Wilderness Hotel Muotka
#1 of 6 in Saariselka
296 reviews
0.5 km away
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
Santa's Hotel Tunturi
#3 of 6 in Saariselka
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
564 reviews
10 km away
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
1 km away
Northern Lights Village
Northern Lights Village
#1 of 5 in Saariselka
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saariselka Inn Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saariselka Inn Log Cabins

Address: Saariselaentie 10, Saariselka 99830, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Saariselka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Saariselka
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Saariselka Log Cabins Hotel Saariselka
Saariselka Inn Log Cabins Finland - Lapland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing