We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
193
71
28
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
193
71
28
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass roof northern lights husky safari ice fishing breakfast and dinner aurora hunting hot water russian border winter wonderland warm overalls outdoor activities aurora room amazing scenery soups buffet style snow suits aurora alarm
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2021 via mobile

Last day of a memorable week.
We had the buffet in the evening, my wife loved the Cod in lemon sauce, I had lamb loin with cheesy vegetables, the lamb was glorious and together made one of my best meals ever!
Then the cabin looking into the sky, with full moon but sadly no Aurora.
Still glorious lying n bed watching the moon shadows in the forest casting magical shadows, WOW!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank hardfatharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2021

We stayed at Northern Lights Village for 3 nights for Christmas 2020. This is truly a unique place, a real winter wonderland. I was really impressed by this place and the service level.

Aurora cabins are very clean, cozy and warm. We travelled with a small child and the cabin size was just ok for 3 of us. We stayed on half-board and the food was better than expected. Dinner on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day were both excellent.

Norhtern Lights Village provides with warm winter clothing for the duration of your stay with no extra cost (overal, shoes, hat, mittens) . This is excellent service. The termperature was -28 celcius on one day and the warm clothing was really needed.

There are raindeers and husy dogs on hotel grounds and it is possible to make raindeer and husky safaries with affordable prices. They also provide with snow mobile safaries etc. We took both raindeer and husky safaries with our kid and had fabulous time.

Hotel and restaurant staff was so friendly and accommodating. They really made us feel special. Even Santa Clause visited the restaurant on Christmas Eve which was nice for kids.

Location of this accommodation is excellent. It is walking distance to the town centre of Saariselkä.

We will defenitely return to this place and I can warmly recommend this place to families with kids and couples as well.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank KatiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021

We are a Finnish couple without kids and stayed 4 for nights.

We booked half board with private Airport transport. Our main purpose was to relax and walk with or without snow shoes.

Airport transfer was excellent and in time to both directions. The driver drove us to our cabin after check in.

Check in was fast. We've used the online check in, which made things faster. Check in staff spoke excellent English but not Finnish, which was a bit surprising to us but not a problem.

Our cabin was very clean and modern. And warm. The bathroom was rather big and hot water was no problem. Actually we had difficulties to get water cold enough. The window on top of our bed was big but there was no curtains to cover it, if needed (or we did not figured out if there was way to cover the window). You have total privacy lights off but with lights on you are on display like in aquarium. This was not a issue to us and the bathroom was big enough to chance your clothes if you're really shy. And the cabins were not too close so, not many eyes to watch you.

We also felt that the cabin lacked of hallway or something for winter clothes. There were wall hanger and actually a lot of space in front of the door but if it would have been very snowy or wet the dripping/melting clothes would have been kind in the middle of your cabin. Also there were no room for sport clothes to dry. This could be a issue if you are planning a lot of outdoor sports. But this was no surprise based on hotels website.

We had breakfast and dinner from buffet. There were cold dishes and warm dishes. There were no over load of choices but ingredients seemed to be fresh and flavors good. Cold dishes were my favourites. Some interesting combinations like fresh orange with rose pepper and red onion. We also hade a feeling that there were a nice choices for vegetarians.

Breakfast was pretty much the same every morning but the dinner changed daily. Unfortunately the warm dishes were mostly overcooked. Especially fish dishes were totally over and dry, which was a shame. Beef were better but more like medium + or well done -. Also hard boiled eggs on breakfast had that dark layer surrounding the yolk. Everything worked prefect on New Year's Eve but on other days it took time to fill the empty serving bowls or cleaning the tables for next customers. Also at the beginning of our stay they had names of the dishes only for warm dishes during the dinner but at the time of our last breakfast all dishes had their names.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. We rent a fat bikes and they were in good condition and the price was good compared to other places in Saariselkä. He also rent a pair of cross-country skies for evening. Staff was wearing masks and there were several hand sanitizer points.

There were also possibilities to husky-safaris, reindeer-safaris and snowmobil-safaris. And also a reindeer path where you could feed the reindeers. And a lot of other excursions available.

There were al lot of families with children and certainly lot to do for them. If you are not a fond of children don't skip this hotel though, there are a lot of space and privacy and we did not get irritated by children or they happy noices.

Saariselkä centrum with shops and cross-county-ski possibilities were in walking distance. Ski bus stopped in front of the main building once or twice in day. So it was easy to getting around.

Unfortunately it was totally cloudy, so no northern lights for us.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel. We think it is excellent choice for families with children. Or couples who are not too much sport orientated but like to buy excursions directly from the hotel. If the food would be spot on, this would be a 4 stars hotel but now they decreased the luxury-feeling. But it should be rather easy to fix.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TSK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2020

I can definitely recommend Northern Lights Village. I had a great experience in the glass igloo/cottage. Very clean and comfortable facilities. The meals included in my package was very good. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Everything was just perfect! I did the Snowshoe Hike and the Nature Guide, Tijn, was also very good and friendly. The Husky Safari was amazing.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Service
Thank Navigate40037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2020

This time we stayed in another place but came to NLV to join reindeer-safari. We travel to Lapland frequently but this was the first time we came for the reindeers. And what an interesting and beautiful experience it turned out to be! I absolutely recommend the safari to anyone. We will come again and keep the good memories until then. Thanks to our quide!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Johqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews