We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
148
63
15
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
63
15
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights when the surf festival was on. We have previously stayed in their hostel in Rio and although they are a little more expensive than other hostels the standard is consistent. The staff here spoke English which is great as our Portuguese is poor, and they are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is nice and the food they serve in the evening is good quality and value. This is a great place if your travelling alone or with friends

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grupo_CLH_IT, Gerente at Che Lagarto Hostel Itacare, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

Hello Dear Pinkrach,

Thank you so much for your opinion, it´s so important for us!

It´s good to know that you and your friend had a good and relaxed time here, we hope that you come back soon!

Best Regards,

Staff Che Lagarto Itacaré!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

I stayed in every hostel in Itacaré and Che Lagarto is by far the best one. The staff is great always ready to assist you anytime, the bar is amazing, fair price, the bedrooms are comfortable with air conditioner and they are very clean. The location is great, is close to the best restaurants and bars and the best point to see the sunset in Itacaré. Nothing to complain about, perfect experience!!!

Room Tip: The girls should go to the feminine room, there is a big mirror and hair dryer very handy ;)
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lílian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grupo_CLH_IT, Gerente at Che Lagarto Hostel Itacare, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2016
Google Translation

Lili, muito obrigado por seu comentário! pessoas como você fazem que o Che Lagarto Itacaré seja o melhor hostel. Te esperamos em breve para aquela cervejinha das 6 da tarde. Um abraço! Staff Che Lagarto Itacaré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

A fantastic hostel to stay at with the beach only 10mins away and the rest of the shops and bars just a few minutes walk, you couldn't get a better location for a hostel. Very friendly staff and great breakfast with the added option of getting dinner there too.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mihir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

I couldn't rate this hostel less than 5 stars or excellent. During my stay everything went smoothly and well organized. Location - the center of the center of Itacare, rooms were clean and well allocated, staff members were aware of everything you might need - events in Itacare, transportation, nearby towns and how to reach them. However, i heard some complaints about air conditioning in rooms from other travelers but I didn't care at all because It was the middle of winter in Brazil. Anyway I don't know how it could have been if I had stayed there in summer?..

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ieva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Fantastic hostal. Truly a great experience!!
- Super friendly staff (Thanks Matias, santi, gonza, lucho, tiago y juan)
- great location right on the main strip
- very clean (they cleaned the rooms and bathrooms every day)
- great food (Fresh baked cakes in the morning and great R$15 dinners every night plus a big, well stocked kitchen)
- Nice cold A/C and hot showers
- great nightlife vibe
Was going to stay for 4 days and extended for a week and a half. Lots to see around the area with some of the most stunning beaches. Loved it!!!

Room Tip: I was in the all female 6 person dorm. it´s right next to the kitchen and bar so there is a little noise at night but if you´re ok with that it´s clean, great en-suite bathroom and Air Con
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews