We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
130
10
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
10
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cabrits national park rain water tree frogs wake up visit dominica kate cabin birds nature bay hill island rainforest harrowing roseau excursions gear
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2017

On the northwest coast of the island, Manicou River was a bit of a splurge (cottages are $220-$265/nt with a 3-night minimum), but for the last leg of our trip, we knew we wanted to treat ourselves. Like many Dominican destinations, arrival at Manicou is part of the adventure as you wind your way up the mountain to the steepest driveway you are ever likely to experience. You DEFINITELY need 4-wheel drive. But the unbelievable views from your cottage and the restaurant are the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

The laid back, friendly owners, Kate and Patrick, have done a wonderful job of designing the hand-built wooden cottages and restaurant. The entire property operates off the grid, using rainwater for plumbing and solar power. Each cottage is built into the hill in such a way that you have total privacy, while still having stunning open air views of Cabrits National Park and the Caribbean. The furniture is all handmade with local wood and each cottage has its own kitchen stocked with basic cooking essentials and a mini fridge. The bathrooms are supplied with delicious smelling homemade soaps and shampoo all made with local ingredients.

The restaurant includes a great little bar which has 29 varieties of Manicou’s homemade rums. We made it our mission to sample all 29, with the help of the extremely personable bartender, Junette. After an intense couple of nights of sampling (including color coded ranking brackets), the winners were: mangosteen, soursop, smokey cocoa, admirals plum, Caribbean gooseberry, bitter orange and star fruit.

Manicou River is about 10 min from Portsmouth, a charming port “city” that has several restaurants and a market or two. There is a small walkable beach (Tantane), although the hike back up the Manicou driveway/road is a bit of a beast. We really enjoyed Toucari beach, just a bit further up the road, and especially lunch and drinks at Keepin’ It Real.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tesiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Nothing substantiates Dominica’s renown as “The Nature Island” better than the Manicou River boutique eco-lodge. We stayed there recently, our second visit, and enjoyed it just as much this time as last, which is to say enormously.

The rooms are beautifully appointed in a natural way, consistent with the tree-house-like feel of the place. Though open to the outdoors, the rooms afford complete privacy due to the way they’re situated. Talk about sensory bliss—you’re surrounded by the sights, sounds and fragrance of the setting’s mountainside woodlands. And the views! Every room has a stunning view of the island's magnificent foliage, mountains and ocean.

Then there’s the food. The gourmet-quality meals are often centered on fish that were swimming in the ocean only hours before, and just-picked fruit. After breakfast, we’d have our second cup of coffee while walking along the rushing stream that runs through the property’s surrounding rainforest.

The staff is well-informed and eager to help. Owners Kate and Patrick are always available and seem to know every place and every person on the island. Within hours of arriving you’ll feel as though they’ve been long-time friends. And at practically any restaurant in town or with every guide, mention that you’re staying at Manicou River and you’ll be treated like royalty.

If you really want to experience the essence of “The Nature Island” by all means stay at Manicou River. We can’t wait to return.

Room tip: Book well ahead of your trip and contact Manicou River directly.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lolabella48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

While in Dominica, we chose to stay at a total of four different locations while we explored the country and got to know the people. Manicou River was undoubtedly our favorite of the accommodations. The area is beautiful and convenient. We found Kate, Patrick and the small staff to be exceedingly kind and helpful. Kate went the extra mile to make sure that our arrival was smooth and we were glad we took her recommendations. Kate also did assist us with setting up two guides (Morne Diablotins and Indian River) and they both were friendly, knowledgeable and overall excellent guides). The accommodations were open, comfortable, beautiful and unique. The bar and food was excellent. If we return we will certainly stay here again. I cannot necessarily say the same for our other locations.

Don't be scared by the mosquito net- we say none during our three night stay. Do be sure to walk down to the river. It will get your heart rate pumping and is very charming.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We loved our stay at Manicou River!! Kate and the staff go above and beyond to make sure you have everything you need and enjoy the island to the fullest. We've been gone for less than a week and already wish we were back! Can't wait to visit again soon!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSRUSSO515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We spent 4 nights here and only wish it could have been more! Kate and Patrick and their well trained staff run a place that is just pure perfection - beautiful tree-house style "cottages", very luxurious, and yet totally off the grid. Beautiful views are only a small part of the charm. You feel one with nature and wish you could sleep in a place without windows year-round back home. Food is exquisite and staff very engaging. You learn a lot from talking to everyone there, and their concern for your comfort and enjoyment is very genuine. Yes, there is a very steep drive up to the lodge, so a 4-wheel drive vehicle is a must. Thank you, Kate and staff, for a most memorable and enjoyable stay...

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Elkabelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews