We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portsmouth Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$173
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$461
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rejens Hotel(Portsmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lucy Inn(Portsmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
7
8
7
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
8
7
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Hotel with a home feel experience. I went on a week business trip to Dominica in the busiest month October. It was the only available and I did not regret it. It was good having a clean and comfortable room after a hard day's work.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the "suites" which are pretty much like motel rooms with a few basic kitchen items (sink, a few dishes, small refrigerator, microwave, and cook top). First the good. The rooms were very clean. The A/C worked well except for when the power went out to my room only (not the adjacent rooms.) The cleaning ladies take good care of the orange tile floors and you can walk barefoot without picking up any dirt. Also, the setting next to the ocean is nice. I would not swim at this beach because the shoreline is not that inviting and the water can be surprisingly rough at times. I had interactions with multiple staff members and all were very polite and helpful. Now for the bad, the rooms are really basic with full size beds (not queen or king). The built-in cabinetry/closet/desk is really old and looks to be one step better than painted plywood. The bath room consists of a pedestal sink, a toilet, and an area blocked off by a curtain for showing. The plumbing fixtures are really old and drip or run all the time. The shower nozzle leaks and directs a stream of water outside the shower and onto the floor if you aren't careful. It's just old and run down. The price is reasonable, so I guess you get what you pay for. Nice staff too.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

The place is very quiet, clean, you have a superb restaurant on the site, the beach is clean, beautiful and private. The people are very friendly always willing to help. They serve fresh and local fruits and vegetables.

Stayed: June 2016
2  Thank claryvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

The room was clean, simply furnished but had everything we needed. Staff were very helpful and pleasant and brought in a coffee maker for us.
It was nice to sit on the verandah overlooking the well kept gardens.
The restaurant menu was a little limited, but the food was very nice and the location was lovely right on the seafront.
We felt very secure here, and the students from the local medical university created a lively but not loud or intrusive atmosphere.
We went to look for the parrots in the National Park, and this hotel couldn't be better placed, being just a few minutes drive away from the access route to the Syndicate Trail.
There is a good supermarket nearby.
If we went back to Portsmouth we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

We stayed a couple of nights at the Portsmouth Beach Hotel as part of our walking holiday with KE Adventure.

The hotel (multi-storey block) itself appears to be nothing other than student dormitories for the local university. It is the beach huts you should stay in. Used by the scriptwriters during the filming of Pirates of the Caribbean, each of the huts sports a sign with the name of which writer stayed there.

The huts are very well appointed: large enough for the job, clean, good air-con and excellent wifi. Each day the cleaner would fully tidy our mess, and clean throughout.

All of the staff were friendly and accommodating, even to the extent of the security guard giving us a lift to our restaurant of choice!

The hotel restaurant was a little disappointing, we only ate there once (The Sisters Sea Lodge half-a-mile away is much better): prices are high for the quality and quantity delivered.

If you enjoy swimming, the huts are just 15-strides from the warm Caribbean sea. The beach drops quickly into the sea to a depth of ~2-ft and then shelves and gently slopes for several hundred feet from the shore: very safe for both adults and kids.

Room Tip: Use the beach huts rather that the multi-storey block
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sula-Bheinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews