We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
265
64
5
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
64
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsross universityplace to stayevery morninggreat advicestayed there for daysrental caryour choicesmall hotelfriendly ownersmake you feel at homecomfortable roomsteep hillviews are spectacularvisited dominicafresh fruitlion fishcabrits national park
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

The upper floor of the hotel was heavily affected by hurricane Maria and unfortunately the bar and restaurant have been destroyed. It's the first thing you see when you arrive, but don't worry and it should not stop you from staying here. The rooms are not affected and are very clean, spacious and well equipped in typical Caribean mid-range style. The swimming pool has been rebuild and has comfortable deck chairs to relax. The owners are rebuilding the bar/restaurant but we did not encounter any nuisance from it. The temporary restaurant is one floor lower than the original one and offers really good food at a fair price. Try the apple pie and "bittterballen". Views from the room, restaurant and pool deck are great. Breakfast is delicious. Last but not least what makes this place stand out is the owners Hans en Lies who are running the hotel themselves and are very welcoming to their guests and do the utmost to have you enjoying you stay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarkyMAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Dear Marky,

Thank you for taking some time off from your busy schedule to write such a great review of your stay at Hotel The Champs, post Hurricane Maria. We are very happy that you felt so comfortable in our clean and comfortable rooms. We are also happy to know that you did not allow the reconstruction of our top floor to deter you from staying at our place.

We hope that you will come again in the future to visit when our top floor and newly refurbished amenities are all done. Thank you for all of your compliments of our food, hospitality, comfortable rooms, views and pool.

We really hope to be able to welcome you to Hotel The Champs again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

The Champs took a hard hit with the recent Hurricane, loosing the roof of their restaurant and other significant damage. They now have about five rooms ready and are working hard to get things back to normal. I had a great night there and a good chat with the others guests and some locals who popped in for a meal. I would use this place again. It compares favourable to the Fort Young Hotel, where I also stayed. It cost far less and is more personable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fairly similar, only a small place with a pool below.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jcartw8117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Mr. Cartwright,

Thank you for taking the time off to write us such a great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel The Champs and even after a hard hit with hurricane Maria, you could still be comfortable. We are happy to know that you have realized that we are trying hard to get things back to normal, which we are heading toward our 100% normalcy again.

It is good to know that you will come again to stay at Hotel. Thank you for all of your compliments and we really do hope to have you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

We revisited Hotel The Champs three months after hurricane Maria hit Dominica. The Champs also faced considerable damage, particularly the bar/restaurant, but repairs are already being made. Fortunately the hotel rooms were not damaged and they were even better than last time because renovations took place e.g. new airco and bathroom decorations.

New for us was the pool! The whole family really loved it. And also the sun beds on the pool deck are super. With a cocktail enjoying the splendid view... what more can you wish for.

Lise and staff were as friendly and helpfull as ever and also the breakfast was very nice again.

Despite the damage Maria has done, we had an excellent stay in The Champs and in Dominca.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AnnemiekvD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Dear Mrs. Annemiek,

Thank you very much for taking some time off to write such a great review about your stay at Hotel The Champs. We were very happy to accommodate yourself and your family. Our reconstruction of the building is still ongoing, including our pool deck which is almost completely back on.
We are indeed very happy to know that your stay at Hotel The Champs was very excellent. We hope that yourself and your family will visit again sometime in the near future to enjoy an even better vacation.

Hoping to have you back soon :).

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

The owners, Hans and Lise, were incredibly helpful. Many of the businesses on Dominica were not yet up and running in December (3 months after Hurricane Maria), but the Champs was. They were still rebuilding, but they had several excellent rooms available. They even managed to get the pool open while we were there (despite missing part of the deck). Hans and Lise also helped us find activities and restaurants on the island, even when many things were still closed.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deb Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Deb Q,

Thank you for taking the time off to write us a great review of your time spent at Hotel The Champs, and even giving some information on the post Hurricane Maria updates.

We were very happy to accommodate you and really wish that you would give us the opportunity to do so again. Thank you for thinking of us being so incredibly helpful. We did our best to ensure that you were very comfortable in our newly refurbished rooms. Yes we have done a bit of work on our pool to ensure that our guests had something to do with their leisure moments.

We hope that you will come again after our post maria rebuild to enjoy an even more comfortable stay at Hotel The Champs.
Hoping to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Excellent hosts. Friendly owners. They went out of their way to be accommodating. Would stay there again if needed. The rooms were clean. Lighting in the room could be improved. Excellent wifi. Tasty bread!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gregoryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Mr. Gregory,

Thank you for taking the time off to write us a great review. We were very happy to accommodate you and would do it all over again if you allow us to do so.

It is good to know that you that you found our rooms clean and that you enjoyed our bread.

We hope that you will come again to our Hotel and allow us to welcome you again to our Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews