We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four days of first rate fly fishing and cuisine in one of the most diverse saltwater fisheries in the world”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Allen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fisherman Fishing Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Punta Allen
Reviewed 17 March 2015

I just came back from a four day flyfishing trip at Club Grand Slam. The fishing was terrific, with plenty of opportunities to catch permit, small tarpon (15 pounds), big snook and all sorts of bonefish. The boats are typical pangas, and each boat comes with two experienced, non-judgmental, English speaking guides who are adept at poling, finding fish and getting the boat into unbelievably shallow water. The lodge is a two story building in town (no views), within 100 yards of the dock where the boats reside. Really more of a house than a lodge in outward appearance and location. There are four nicely appointed (for the rural Yucatan), air conditioned bedrooms with two beds each. The rooms are kept very neat and clean by the housekeeper. The food is on par with many of the good restaurants in Tulum and is presented very attractively by Lupita, the chef. Lots of variety and tons of fresh fruits and vegetables. They even serve 100% real maple syrup at breakfast! Really much better than any other fishing lodge I have stayed in anywhere. Don't get me wrong. This is not a luxury setup with a spectacular view on a beach. This is a fishing lodge, but it has the kinds of nice touches and quality that one would see in one of those places. The main drawbacks of Club Grand Slam are (i) the road in to Punta Allen can be almost undrivable (the lodge can pick you up by boat near Tulum at certain hours, depending upon what times your flights arrive and leave -- do that if you can); (ii) there is really very little to do in Punta Allen for a non-fishing companion; and (iii) there is zero landline or cell phone service and very unpredictable and finicky wireless Internet service. This last point may be a plus to some, but not for me. I get so much email that if I am disconnected for more than a few hours I get swamped. And, of course, my wife in the US was convinced I was dead when I failed to respond. For serious saltwater flyfishers who like being remote yet comfortable and cared for, this is your spot.

Room Tip: There are four rooms on two floors. I think the two on the upper floor are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SOMeredith51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2014

For what I was looking for, this is as good as it gets. I was in heaven! I have been fly fishing for 25 years and it was one of the best trips I have ever been on. The accommodations were great, a 20 second walk to the boats in the morning, clean rooms, a/c, power, not fancy just comfortable. The cooking was amazing, great Mexican food and tons of it. Ice cold margaritas every day when you return to your room. Greg and Lupita took great care of us the entire trip.

Most importantly, the fishing was awesome! We had great guides that got us into lots of fish every day. We caught bonefish, tarpon, barracuda and a couple other species. Beautiful scenery, and great fishing.

I will definitely go back again and stay with Club Grand Slam!

Tips:
1. Bring everything you need for fishing. There are no fly shops or sporting good stores anywhere near.
2. Stop on the way for alcohol and cigars. Besides a small market next door (which has beer and ice) there are no stores in the area.
3. It is really a fishing destination. If you have guest(s) that aren't fishing, I can't imagine what they would do, and it is a long way from anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
6  Thank Scottsloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

my wife and I ventured to Punta Allen for the first time May 26 2014. we had 4 nights booked at another small hotel/house in Punta but one night there was enough and found Mike and Fisherman after a quick drive around this small fishing village. The manager Mike and his staff were exceptional and treated us like royalty. I cant say enough about this place. the prices were right, the food was reasonably priced and very tasty. the place was clean and cosy. the conch shells for all the plumbing fixture spouts is really cool touch. the lodge is not on ocean front but less than a 2 minute walk to the coconut tree lined beache. we happened to be the only ones at the resort so we made it like Mike told us to " treat our hotel like it is your home". it was awesome and we will definitely be back next time in Punta.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riley626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I recently returned from my second saltwater fishing trip with Club Grand Slam. Greg and Lupita run a great operation. It's a fisherman's place. The accommodations are new and clean and of course Lupita's cooking is top notch. But the real deal is Ascension Bay and the fantastic fishing. Our guides worked hard to get us on fish. Highly recommend for fisherman.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My dad and I recently went to Punta Allen on a fly fishing trip and had an amazing time. The natives were extremely friendly, the food was great for each meal, and the lodge was clean and had a fun atmosphere. The Manager Mike really went out of his way to make sure we had a great time. This is an experience I would like all my friends to have!

Cody B

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Allen
37.6 km away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 99 in Tulum
458 reviews
39.3 km away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
38.4 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.3 km away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 99 in Tulum
304 reviews
36.8 km away
Casa Malca
Casa Malca
#48 of 99 in Tulum
130 reviews
0 km away
Kanxuk Luxury Resort
Kanxuk Luxury Resort
#1 of 3 in Punta Allen
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman Fishing Lodge

Address: 1 Beach Side Drive, Punta Allen 77768, Mexico (Formerly Club Grand Slam)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Punta Allen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Punta Allen
Price Range: €234 - €297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punta Allen’s top ranked lodging and dining for anglers and adventurers. Catering to travelers who want modern accommodations and outstanding dining while still experiencing the beauty of the Sian Ka’an Biosphere. Rooms include all the creature comforts, including A/C and lots of personal attention. Private beach and fresh water swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Grand Slam Hotel Punta Allen
Hotel Grand Slam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing