We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
207
16
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
207
16
3
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2020

After a disappointing start to 2020 (having to postpone our large wedding abroad), we came across Temple House Estate. From the get-go Roderick, the host, was so organised and laid back about everything. On first viewing, we got an extensive tour of his home and he very simply put forward many ideas for our big day- we didn't need to look further for the perfect wedding venue.
Temple House, is a venue like no other. Initially having invited 100+ to our big day, this was narrowed down to under 25 people which could not have suited Temple House more. The guests arrived and were all wowed by the surroundings and even more by the grand house, Christmas decorations and their rooms. With a small number, we were able to spend the perfect few days all together under one roof.
Roderick and the staff could not have done any more, taking a very 'there but not there' approach, making it feel like it was our personal venue but with someone always there to top up a glass or help out if needed.
All guests were completely wowed with the term 'unbelievable' floating about a lot!
The food was amazing and to say the least no one went hungry! Guests have since commented on the only regret of not being fit to finish all their grub!
Temple House, Roderick and the staff (Lorraine notably) were amazing from day one and even with Covid 19 restrictions in place, we were able to have the best wedding we could have imagined! Many family and friends have already spoken of a return visit!

To sum up;
-amazing food, with a huge selection to cater for everyone. Wine and spirits all top quality.
-amazing grounds
-amazing bedrooms- clean, comfy beds with views of lake and ruins
-amazing staff- they knew the guests by name by the end of the wedding

10/10 would recommend or do it all over again!

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R4917ZMmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2020

My husband were very fortunate to stay for our 25th anniversary. The host and staff were extremely gracious and made us feel like royalty but down to earth and very social. The chef prepared meals were beyond exquisite. We enjoyed the family style meals and met some very fun people who stayed during our visit. This is by far well worth the stay and one we will definitely come back to!

Room tip: Huge rooms with all the amenities, casual comfort in meals, and huge gardens and areas to hike and roam.
Date of stay: May 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DMOT94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2019 via mobile

We loved our stay at Temple House!!! It’s better than Downton Abbey because it’s REAL . Roderick and Helena are wonderful hosts and more than happy to share the history and stories of their home (all 100 rooms worth). Roderick is the 5th generation of Perceval’s to own the land and manor and has done a wonderful job of keeping it’s character while modernizing it. Dinner with all the guests around the big table in the dining room is just a treat like none other. The food is 5 star and the atmosphere is like stepping back in time. I kept waiting for Carson and Mrs. Crawley to appear!
I just wish we could have stayed longer!!! Staying at Temple House has been the absolute highlight of our trip!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank CostaRicaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2019

After an hour or so in to our stay, Mrs Vicar had wondered what she had booked for our last couple of nights on the island. After 24 hours she was happier about the whole experience as she'd had doubts about what she'd booked for the price.

It's a lovely old stately house. There are no televisions in the rooms, or in the guests sitting room, but there is fast wifi.

Roderick, the owner / incumbent and breakfast cook basically tells it how it is keeping a large house and estate commercially afloat. Only a proportion of the house is available at the moment but this is well kept. A thoroughly nice chap.

A good Breakfast was served at a large common table enabling all guests to mingle. If you're having dinner, drinks from an honesty bar are available in the sitting room before passing through to the dining room. Dinner was excellent with 4 courses featuring scallops and lamb from the resident cook (not Roderick)

A luxury hotel it isn't, but a unique comfortable country house experience with some interesting history. It's possible to row out on to the lake and walk through some of the grounds but the weather was against us whilst there.

Room tip: Don't expect a lift up to the rooms.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MoreTea2Vicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TempleHse, Owner at Temple House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2019

Hello Vicar and Mrs Vicar.
That's a pretty fair reflection - thank you. I recall that you were expecting a hotel.
Come see us again.
R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2019

21 of us spent two nights at the Temple House in June 2019 as part of a two week 50th birthday celebration for our son-in-law. The Temple House stay was outstanding. It was an authentic step back in time but with all the comforts we have come to expect. Roderrick and Helena, the owners, are perfect hosts.Their family has owned the 1000 acres for 300+years. The Irish breakfast breakfasts are generous and delicions. We had one dinner there and dined like royalty. The stories in the paintings that Roderick tells are worth the price of admission. Explore the Knights Templar Castle 1000 year old ruines and walk the sheep meadows but remember to where the "wellies" they provide.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Bob50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TempleHse, Owner at Temple House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2019

"21 of us spent two nights at the Temple House"

It was good fun! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews