We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
33
61
25
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
61
25
4
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We hiked here from Sorano. We were the only guests for one night, then we noticed another room occupied on the second night.
The room was generously sized including a small couch. Comfortable bed - decent pillows (hard to find these days). Good sized bath too.
Great location for exploring the nearby necropolis. The Duomo at the end of the village is remarkable, with a GREAT bookstore.
Breakfast buffet was quite good. Fresh fruit, pastries, cheese, smoked meats, yogurt and an egg if you wanted it. Traditional Tuscan bread has no salt.
It was very off season when we visited!
We had dinner 2 nights at the Taverna Etrusca. Hearty, generous cuisine from the region, very warm service. You get what you give as a traveller.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015

I stayed there with my daughter who lives near that city,
Owners were already known by my daughter and they have been very kind
I cannot say that's a standard by I felt like in family, we received a very personal attention.
Rooms are large and simple with a romantic atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

The town is lovely and the surrounding area most interesting. However, all that paled considerably in the light of an unacceptable stay in this hotel. The staff were unhelpful, unfriendly and untrained. The place was grubby and the breakfasts an absolute disgrace. No food worthy of the description at all. five stale cakes, bread made by the Etruscans, packeted juice etc. May we have an egg please? NO! May we have some natural yogurt or some real fruit ? NO! It was a real spoiler and the situation was only saved by the finding of a wonderful little place to eat.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere!
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank reelandjig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

We had our wedding at sister Hotel & Resort Sovana and Moira the wedding planner is based at Scilla. She was incredibly helpful, our day was absolutely perfect and she worked so hard to make it special. All the staff were brilliant. The kitchen from hotel Scilla did the catering for our wedding and prepared a delicious four course feast - all the food was locally sourced - the wine and prosecco was delicious. We had a three-course meal at the Hotel Scilla restaurant the night before our wedding and it was also fantastic. Our friends and family booked out the whole hotel and everyone said how nice the rooms and breakfast were. I can’t thank Moira and Hotel Scilla enough for all their hard work and I would recommend Hotel Scilla to everyone for holidays or weddings!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had our room in the Scilla Hotel, overviewing tuscany olive trees. The room was good, spacious, the bath room was very clean, and the heating worked very well. Room decoration was also nice, and in accordance with the old building. The parking is very close, and the satff very helpful.
Sovana is a wonderful tinny medieval town, with plenty things to see and do. A complete surprise. We recomend also visiting Sorano, 8 km away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews