We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
185
71
29
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
185
71
29
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room enjoyed our stay rooms are spacious amazing views historic building next morning fish relais chateaux indoor pool modern extension five star hotel beautiful hotel free of charge good size common areas loin visit this place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2019 via mobile

We got to this hotel selected the same day looking for something different and was right on point is a 16 century center Palace and amazing nature around the property. Rooms are spacious & comfortable. It has a world class restaurant. You can visit this place with your kids and family for days.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ealicea1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desirée M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio de Luces - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019

Dear ealicea1124:
We are delighted to read you had a great experience at Palacio de Luces, our Historical Hotel.Thank you for taking the time to highlight your favorite amenities and the features of our hotel that helped make your stay so fantastic.
The whole team proudly thanks you for your kind words about our charming hotel situated in a refurbished 16th-century palace which treasures old histories of Colunga, and be sure that will serve as a motivation for us to continue working with excellence. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Desirée M.Villaverde (Guest Relations Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2019

Palacio de Luces was such a wonderful choice for a night in northern Spain. It's location in Asturias is breathtaking, with views of the Sierra del Sueve mountains and inviting gardens. Even on a rainy afternoon, we were delighted with the scenery surrounding the Palacio. Our rooms were large and handsome, with cozy chairs to sit for a cup of tea, and an enormous bathroom. Amenities in the hotel include a sauna and pool, a piano bar, and many quiet seating areas around the hotel. The restaurant was fabulous and the waitstaff extremely attentive. Two of us chose the absolutely outstanding fresh catch of the day, matched by the succulent pork loin and the always wonderful ham croquettes. Of course, the wine was an excellent Rioja. Every member of the staff was as helpful as they could be, with one young man just coming on duty in the morning rushing out to wish us a good trip during the rest of our time in Spain. All in all, Palacio de Luces would be a must-return for me.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RafflesAndFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desirée M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio de Luces - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

Dear RafflesAndFinn:
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Did you know that Palacio de Luces is the first Relais & Châteaux hotel in Asturias? The building itself dates back from 1580. The former palace was reconstructed with the aim to provide maximum comfort and coziness to a modern traveler, yet at the same time to preserve the elegance and atmosphere of the original construction. Gastronomy is one of our main commitments and we are glad to know that you had the opportunity to try our fresh and homemade cuisine. We are also very happy that you noticed the breathtaking location of our house as well as our friendly and helpful staff. Again, many thanks for your review and positive, complimentary, words therein.

Looking forward to welcoming you again. With our best regards.
Desirée M.Villaverde (Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019 via mobile

This hotel is breathtaking when you walk in - the architect has done a wonderful job joining a light modern extension on to the original house. The light streams through the windows and the wide open corridors, the dining room has amazing views from all its large glass windows and you can’t wait to arrive at your bedroom. This is one of the problems to me as the rooms have much smaller windows which means they feel dark in comparison to the public areas and really have restricted views almost as though another architect has designed them. (Interestingly all the photos of the bedrooms in their brochure are taken at night with the curtains closed). Sadly l felt no warmth in the hotel or the staff who just seemed to be doing their job but not really enjoying it. There was no place to curl up with a book and read in the sun as the only chairs outside were near the bar and you felt that if they had put sun loungers on the grass you would have messed up the immaculate grounds. Everywhere although beautiful felt very cold & clinical and although the breakfasts were a magnificent spread & delicious you did feel that the hotel was designed for weddings & corporate events. Regardless of this it is still a five star hotel and we enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fido0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desirée M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio de Luces - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2019

Dear Fido0:
Thank you for your comments and 5 star rating of your recent stay at the Hotel Palacio de Luces. Please let me highlight, our palace has been refurbished recently and the building is from the XVI century, for that reason every room has a different size and location and whereas some have bigger windows and more light, others have higher ceilings, but we are always willing to find the perfect room for every single guest. We are taking your experience very seriously into consideration. Our guests' comments are essential for our continuous improvement and yours have been shared with the team in order to treat them internally and establish the necessary measures on our way towards the excellence. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not meeting or exceeding your expectations. At Luces we pride ourselves on the goodness, honesty and friendliness of our staff. We relate to one another as if we are a family and as a family we really do the best that we can to make our guests feel as if they are part of that family. We are a small boutique and personal hotel and hope that our guests are comfortable enough to tell us of any shortcomings that they might experience with their accommodation or our service so that we can immediately rectify those deficiencies. . We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service for the new season, full of surprises. We hope that you will consider staying with us again, the next time you visit Lastres.

Sincerely,
Desirée M.Villaverde (Guest Relations Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2019

We decided to stay overnight at Palacio de Luces celebrating our wedding anniversary at their restaurant Balcon de Sueve last week,

Being frequent travellers on Silversea cruises having travelled all continents we always enjoyed our dinners at their Relais & Chateaux restaurants on board. We have also stayed and dined at more than twenty different Relais & Chateaux hotels around the world. Our experiences have always lived up to or exceeded our expectations.

Unfortunately, our visit to Balcon de Sueve was different; The maitre d’hotel presented the menu and the daily specials. We ordered two appetizers and my wife ordered the most expensive fish dish on the menu, bonito con fois for 28 euros and I opted for the maitre d’s recommendation, sea bream.

My wife asked the maitre d’ to get her Bonito rare but it was served medium well. We understood and it was not much of a problem. The problem came when I was presented the bill. I was charged 60 euro for the maitre d’s recommended sea bream which is more than twice the cost of the most expensive fish dish (including fois gras) on the menu. I asked the waiter why the sea bream was so expensive and most importantly, why was I not informed about the price. The waiter told me that the maitre d’ had left for the evening and suggested that I discuss the issue with the reception the next morning.

The hotel/restaurant was aware of our wedding anniversary and we were later offered coffee free of charge at the bar.

At checkout the next morning, I complained to the reception. The receptionist went to Management and explained our complaint. He was told that nothing will be done or explained as we had already received coffee free of charge.

Relais & Chateaux is a reputable global brand and I find it disappointing that Management for a local hotel rather hide than explaining/discussing what in my opinion went wrong.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hansnilss0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desirée M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio de Luces - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2019

Dear hansnilss0n
First and foremost, congratulations on your Anniversary and thank you for your review and time spent sharing your feedback. We sincerely apologize for not having met your expectations. We take note of each and every one of our customers' observations, complaints, suggestions and comments, for the purpose of our improvement and we are always pleased to offer any available options to enable guests to select what most meets their tastes and requirements. Regarding our quality-price relation. Local seabream as an exclusiveness and a value-added product has a higher price tag and is definitely one of the most popular dish here. Our large and professional kitchen staff always put in the dishes great skill and love in it, and as a result you can get a high quality product. We do our utmost to learn from our mistakes and improve.I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by our gastronomic offer. We have forwarded your feedback to the Food & Beverage department and it will be taken into consideration. We look forward to welcoming you at the Hotel palacio de Luces, in order to give you the excellent experience you expected.

Kind regards,
Desirée M.Villaverde (Guest Relations Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2019 via mobile

Our recent 4 night say was excellent. The hotel is an historic building with a sympathetic modern extension. The location is in peaceful countryside yet only a 5 minute drive from the pretty village of Lastres with a beach and bars/restaurants.
I booked a standard double which was spacious & elegantly furnished with a huge bathroom. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. It did not have a patio or terrace but there was a lovely view.
There are many sitting areas scattered throughout the hotel both indoors & outdoors as well as an inviting bar.
There is a wellness suite & I made use of the indoor pool which is a good size for a hotel.
The breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choice.
The dining room has a jaw dropping huge glass facade with a view of the Picos. We ate dinner here twice. Not a huge choice on the menu but dishes well cooked & nicely presented. It is trying to be a fine dining experience. Expect to pay at least €100 for a dinner for 2.
All of the staff are helpful & attentive without being too obtrusive.
We very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank francophile5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desirée M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Palacio de Luces - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2019

Dear francophile5310:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write in our TripAdvisor page. We appreciate your recommendation and preference regarding the Hotel Palacio de Luces and that you were pleased with the attention and services provided. We have very high standards of service and our purpose is to offer a memorable experience here with us, so all these small details make a difference. We were delighted reading your positive remarks of our comfortable rooms and our convenient location, this is a privileged natural environment between the Cantabrian Sea and Picos de Europa. We truly appreciate your comments about our gastronomic offer as it was envisioned to create a memorable experience for each one of our guests. Lastly, We were delighted reading your positive remarks about the exceptional service from our welcoming and helpful staff. They will surely be pleased to know that you enjoyed they exceeded your expectations and your review will serve as a motivation for all of us to strive for excellence. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Lastres,

Kind regards,
Desirée M.Villaverde (Guest Relations Director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews