We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
124
145
44
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
145
44
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square sister hotel rain bistro spa
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We arrived at about 4.30 pm on a Tuesday. It was raining, the town was dead and the hotel was shut!! Eventually, we realised we had to go to the sister hotel up the high street to book in. We then trundled back in the rain and were shown our room. Which was pretty small.
The Wi-Fi didn't work nor did the TV. We were promptly given another room. The Wi-Fi didn't work nor did the TV.
Only one place in the town was open for dinner - also owned by the Hotels [they also own a bistro and a creparie]. It is an Italian bistro. Our Pizzas were probably the worst we have tasted.
To be fair the service was very polite and we got a quick call saying we had left our i-pad in the room as we drove away.

Room tip: Check the Wi-Fi and TV in the room before accepting it
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LICORNE27, Assistante de Direction at Hotel Du Grand Cerf, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Dear trodd,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are sorry to hear that your stay was less than you expected. We do value your feedback and will use your remarques to improve our product and services.

We hope you will give us a second chance in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Eugénia Dobrovolskihh
Assistante de Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Arriving tired at 5.00 after a day's driving we were dismayed to find the hotel apparently closed. Various disconsolate tourists also appeared, knocking on doors, peering through windows. We, traipsed round to the back - nope, closed. Then we noticed a scruffy handwritten piece of paper informing us that check-in was at another hotel 100 yards up the road. It was raining. We duly trudged up to the other hotel to be met by a very silly giggly young girl who thought it was all hilarious and who, surprisingly in our experience of many many French hotels, spoke no English. She took us to our room, up a twisty staircase on the second floor. Having pointed out to her that she herself had said it was on the first floor, she giggled some more and eventually found the right room. No offer to carry our bags. The room was attractive but small - no hanging space other than a couple of hooks. The lampshades were splitting and scorched and I wasn't too convinced by the cleanliness. I would think the room was due for refurbishment - all a bit tired. Dinner was quite good - a glass wall shows diners the various chefs' activities. We decided to pass on the expensive breakfast of 19 euros each - partly because it was raining and to get to it one had to come out of the back door into the courtyard, walk round to the front and then go 100 yards up to the other hotel. We thought if we were going to get wet we would cross over the pretty market square and get breakfast at a cafe, which we did - excellent quality for €9 each. No help again with luggage on departure in the pouring rain, and once again check out was required up the road.

A great pity they can't get their act together - the setting was delightful, but the rooms were much too expensive for what they were - and service was non- existent. We would not return there and nor would we recommend it to friends.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 292daink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2014

I booked a room at this hotel at the beginning of the summer via booking.com and cancelled in advance of the permitted cancellation date. The hotel however still chose to deduct the full costs of the rooms from my bank account on the 1st July 2014 and I am still waiting for them to repay the amount. This was an amount in excess of £300 and I have nothing but excuses and denials that they have my money. I would strongly advise anyone considering booking this hotel to think again.

The Hostellerie Domaine St Paul in the same town is a much nicer friendlier and more reliable hotel

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We picked Lyons-la-Foret randomly for a night stop. The village is a great place to stop over for one night on the way from Paris to Normandy. The hotel is in the main square of the village, the design is top notch, the beds are pretty large and the room as well. Try to get a view on the village court. The restaurant offers delicious French delicacies.

Room tip: Try to get a high floor with view on the court.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeanae82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We dined here on the first night of a short break in Lyons-la-Foret. It was a Wednesday so there was little choice in places to eat, and we ended up in Hotel du Grand Cerf. Initially quite impressed by the décor, I was then disappointed by the food and service. Ordering from the set menu we had pate, without any bread. When bread was asked for, it did not arrive until long after the course had been eventually eaten as it was. Main courses consisted of dried out duck and dry fish, followed by dry sponge. The most expensive meal we ate on our trip, and the least appetising - I would not return, nor recommend the place to anyone else. Additionally, I feel that someone should tell the staff that working in an open kitchen leaves the customers with a great view of the constant eating and finger licking by the chefs. The restaurant La Halle, opposite however, was excellent.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josehopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews