We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
72
79
21
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
79
21
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game of thrones beautiful street step back in time beautiful hotel palace building town spain atmosphere actors
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

We came for one night, and stayed for two. Very reasonable rates, and a comfortable room. I agree with one of the other Tripadvisor reports - this is faded grandeur, and we too loved it. We particularly loved that the cast of Game of Thrones stayed in the hotel when they were filming in the town in late 2014. We imagined sleeping in the same bed as Amelia Clarke, or Peter Dinkledge, or........??
And..... the hotel could be upgraded, with newer furnishings and decor. Would it still be as good, I wonder? It would certainly be more expensive!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rolandsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel built in a traditional building. Our room was beautiful and has its own balcony. Breakfast was very nice - a buffet of fresh breads with tomato, cheeses, hams, etc...

Great hotel, great location and great service! Looking forward to our next stay!

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Uncover T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

My husband and l live two hours away, and came for two nights in May with two friends. The Hotel is beautiful from outside, and has a wonderful entrance. Unfortunately the receptionist on duty on our arrival was not the most welcoming, however the other two receptionist that we met over the rest of our stay WERE helpful, smiling and charming.
Our room was what l would describe as shabby grandeur, we LOVED it, large with comfortable beds, and a terrace. Unfortunately the shower arrangements for my slightly disabled husband meant that the water from the shower slowly crept across the entire bathroom floor as the tiles in the open shower area did not slope towards the drain. This required my covering the floor in the towels not required by my husband.
We had a delicious dinner the first evening, with a very helpful waiter. Breakfast unfortunately was very basic. We asked for scrambled eggs which were fine though not on the menu. There was little choice, the coffee was delicious, and the waitress when she appeared was charming. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, it is like stepping back in time, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, and would certainly return, despite the FEW niggles which l would prefer to have rather than staying in a sanitized modern, soulless hotel.

Room tip: just ask for the facilities you require
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJW1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

We stayed here for 1 night but we would have loved to stay longer. We had the largest suite which had a very grand balcony, right at the front of the building. The courtyard in the middle of the lobby is very tranquil and gives a wonderful first impression when you first walk in. We were staying with our baby and they had made up a cot in our room with absolutely beautiful linens. We didn't eat in the hotel but the breakfast did look good. I would highly recommend it, especially the room we had.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivia20162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

It looks like a 4 or even 5-star hotel. It lacks some facilities but the building has been maintained really well, retaining its charm and character. We had excellent dinners there and very well priced, with an excellent wine list and lovely local traditional food. Our room looked into one of the patios and was big and light and had a very nice en-suite. I will stay again here without a doubt.

Room tip: Try to have a room overlooking the internal patios, as they are quiter.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arpia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews