We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
72
100
57
18
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
100
57
18
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view minute walk breakfast was included hotel is spotlessly clean fabulous location the half board option yogurt walking distance by chance hotel restaurant low season centre of town beach zahara score
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We did not stay there but we visited the restaurant in 2013 and just now,still excellent staff and excellent food well prepared and top fresh clean table cloth white napkin, a bit for the older crowd but a must go relaxed atmosphere.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank axel34467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

This was our second stay at the Gran Sol after we fell in love with Zahara de Los Atunas last summer. This is without a doubt the best located hotel in the area, right on the sandy beach, but also has an excellent pool, which is great as the beach can be a little too windy at times.
There are dozens of really good restaurants within a few minutes stroll but as we did last year, opted for the half board option which represents good value.
Breakfast was traditional European fare, hams, fruit, toast etc but was plentiful and the coffee is excellent. Although a relaxed atmosphere, the dining room (at breakfast) can get a little chaotic when busy.
Nobody speaks much English and consequently some things ordered with the waiting staff can get lost in translation, although we often found this humorous.
Special thanks to Alfonso, Jose and the rest of the restaurant staff for their hard work.

A previous review mentioned the parking at the back of the hotel, the sand there is deceptively deep and it became my entertainment for the day seeing a car being pushed or pulled out after becoming stuck!
Parking in the town is awful, I found a car par at the back of town for 2 Euro’s a day and was an 8 minute walk away.

Our sea view room was on the top floor with a large balcony where we sat each evening watching the spectacular sunsets over Trafalgar whilst sipping a cold beer. Our room wasn’t big but it was comfortable and more that adequate with a large flat screen TV, not that I watched it much, but was nice to watch a Real Madrid and Barcelona game and keep up with the Olympics.
There was a mini bar and air conditioning which took a while to get to grips with. No room safe so valuables were kept at reception which is slightly irritating.
This is a 3 star hotel, it isn’t luxurious but I’ve stayed in worse 4 star hotels so I’m slightly perplexed as to why it’s not 4 stars?
We’ll be coming back again next year!!!

Room tip: Pay for a sea view room, great view and much quieter.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAUL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This is a great option for staying in the delightful seaside town of Zahara. It's right on the beach but also has an excellent pool - really important because the wind got up on a couple of the days we were there which made the beach rather unpleasant, but the pool area at the hotel is reasonably well sheltered. There are plenty of good restaurants within a five minute stroll but we thought the food at the hotel was pretty good as well (although the breakfast buffet options are a little limited - at least, it felt that way after seven nights). We must compliment the restaurant staff - they were absolutely brilliant with our two year old. And the cleaning staff do a pretty decent job as well, given the size of the hotel and its rather complex layout. A word of warning about parking: be careful about parking around the side of the hotel, as the sand there is deceptively deep and every day at least one car had to be pushed or pulled out after becoming stuck! Don't expect luxury - it's a three star hotel, after all, but if you are going to visit Zahara you are unlikely to spend much time in your room.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We chose this from the internet as a last night stay in Spain on the way back to Gibraltar. What an inspired choice. The hotel is excellent, with great sea view rooms in a separate but easily accessible block (with excellent public rooms and a good pool area). Whilst the main hotel is nice I would definitely recommend the new block. It is literally a 30 second walk to the boardwalk that takes you to the town beach. The beach itself stretches for miles and has a shallow slope making it very safe for paddling or bathing,

Reception staff are helpful and friendly and speak good English. We used the restaurant for breakfast and found that well supplied with a good range of continental and cooked food.

Only problem is parking which is highlighted on the hotel's website. No onsite parking for the hotel itself and the town get crowded. There is however limited parking on the street outside the hotel and on the beach. Make sure you get there early!

Room tip: Go for a sea view
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

Myself and my wife have stayed at the Gran Sol on many occasions throughout the past 10 years and will always keep going back as it offers a great location and value for money. We've also stayed at other hotels and apartments in Zahara but I would always consider the Gran Sol to be the best. The proximity of the hotel (on the beach front and in the heart of the town) sets it apart from the rest and the relaxed nature of the staff make it an all round great stay. The staff are always the same and have a unique way about them - some on here commenting have stated rude but when you get to know them you realise they're actually very funny people Just with a slightly different sense of humour to that back in England. They all speak a few words of English but the fact that you have to make the effort to speak Spanish makes you realise that this is a real Spanish town and not a purpose built British holiday enclave like on a lot of the other costas.
The rooms are always very clean, as is whole hotel, with some having amazing balconies over the sea front.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank nclarke75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews