We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,737)
Filter reviews
1,737 results
Traveller rating
876
544
197
61
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
876
544
197
61
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese restaurant cigar bar playa pilar beach bar pizza cabana beds fish board walk foam party entertainment staff a la carte restaurants volleyball pool chicken junior suite ocean view main pool water shoes
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 1,737 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018

We have recently returned from 2 weeks at the Iberostar Playa Pilar. On arrival we were ushered into the night club to be given our wrist bands then to reception to check in then another wait to get to our room,this took an hour or more but this was the only down side to our holiday.We had a lovely big room, although the view wasn't spectacular,we looked out over the road and shrubbery.,it was cleaned by the lovely and always cheerful Yuliet.The grounds were kept beautiful by the friendly gardeners, considering what happened last year they have done a great job.
The buffet restaurant was clean and the staff friendly and we were rarely without a full glass of wine.Ok, so the food wasn't 5 star but we always found something to eat (especially the cakes) and ,having been to Santa Maria last yea rwe knew what to expect.
The lobby bar was also kept clean and the staff very attentive,everyone here was very friendly and only too willing to help.
We never used the pool prefering to go to the small beach everyday.Thanks to the 2 beach guys who cleaned our sunbeds and had a chat. The beach is small but the wooden walk way was great-you didn't have to go swimming to see all the fish.5 minutes walk around the rocky shore was a small "deserted" bit of beach where you could just walk into the sea without getting your feet cut.
The evening entertainment was very good,what a great band they had on most evenings to accompany the dancers.
We went to have a look at Playa Pilar but must admit we weren't impressed,the beach on Santa Maria is much better.
Overall,we had a great holiday nice place,friendly people,looking forward to our next Cuban holiday.

Room tip: Try to get a sea view.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Pilar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Carol,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your review and say that it is through feedback like this that we can continue to maintain our excellent standards.

Your enthusiastic comments about the prime pillars we set in place to ensure amazing holidays for our guests are great to receive. Beautiful locations, helpful and friendly staff, cleanliness of our hotel and high standards of gastronomy are some of the most important elements of our company and reading that you found them all to your liking is brilliant news.

Also, thank you for mentioning the room we accommodated you in during your stay. It is our aim as an Iberostar hotel to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible in spotless and spacious rooms and we are really happy to read how happy you were with yours. We apologise for the inconvenience caused by the wait at check in.

Once more, we would like to thank you for your invaluable opinion, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Playa Pilar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

This has got to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. The location is fantastic. But the hotel is horrendous. The cleanliness and hygiene is none existent. Serving raw food in the buffet restaurant. Most of the staff are undertrained. The customer relations team spend there time with returning guests. But why anyone would return to this resort is a total mystery to us. The rooms are filthy. The lobby restrooms are filthy. The pool was closed for 3 days of our vacation. Due to the locals being allowed in at the weekend eating and drinking in the pool. At one point I witnessed a cuban child urinating into the pool and a Cuban adult brushing his teeth in the pool. Another taking his shorts off in the pool with children present. Rinsing them and putting them back on. GOOD LORD. I have always wanted to visit Cuba but this has been the worst ever. We will never return or recommend Cuba to anyone. If I could give this a minus star rating it would be minus 5 . HORRENDOUS.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
13  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Pilar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear David,


Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write to us and share this review of your recent holiday at our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you were so pleased with the privileged location that our hotel is situated in, an unbeatable position on Pilar beach. We know that pleasant surroundings are paramount to our guest's enjoyment during their stay with us, thank you for mentioning this aspect of your visit.

We agree with you that cleanliness and hygiene are paramount to an enjoyable holiday, therefore we are disappointed to read that you were not happy with the service that you received in this area. We do ask our guests to inform our housekeeping team of any discrepancies in our service. On a future visit please do not hesitate to contact our staff, however we will pass on your comments to the correct department for their consideration and we apologise for the inconvenience caused.

The standard of our cuisine is very important to us and our goal is to constantly surpass ourselves, continually introducing new ideas and concepts to our gastronomy. On this occasion, we regret that we did not completely satisfy you, and we will pass on your disappointment to our team. Constructive critique is always welcomed to help us in our quest for perfection.

Once more we thank you for feedback and opinion and hope you had a good journey back home.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Playa Pilar



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Our honey moon was made even more special by the amazing staff at this hotel. Not only did the hotel have everything we could ever wish for including a stunning beach, but the people really made our holiday. The fantastic Alain and Denis at the beach bar could not do enough for us. They were always friendly, helpful & came across as genuinely lovely people who could create cocktail heaven! Fran in the buffet restaurant always had a smile on his face and would greet us each evening as friends. In addition to these people, the customer service ladies could not have been more helpful and Ffor always kept our room clean and made creative designs with our towels each day. All in all, we had an amazing honeymoon and can’t thank the staff mentioned enough for their part in it. Hopefully we can go back one day and do it all again!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Pathfinder295624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Pilar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear guest,

We really do appreciate the time and effort you have taken to share this opinion of your recent holiday in our hospitality at Iberostar.

We have treated your description of our services and facilities as a success story and your comments show that we are on the right track with our numerous efforts and our attention to detail.

We would like to thank you once again for your kind review and will be delighted to welcome you back to one of our hotels soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Playa Pilar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

We’ve just got back from an amazing honeymoon at this hotel. The beach was incredible the rooms always really clean every day (shout out to our clean Ffor I think ?) and the staff were really excellent

Would first like to take some time to thank Alain and Dennis at the beach bar they were always very friendly always had a smile on there face. Were also very knowledgable about the drinks and always happy to recommend drinks and make them (all day sometimes in our case) a really excellent team down there

Would also like to take some time to thank Fran in the buffet restaurant. He made us feel welcome from day one was funny always happy. And would make us feel special every time we went though there. Always very quick with drinks very polite I couldn’t say enough good things about him

Everyone at the hotel was brilliant and help make our honeymoon extra special but would love it if you could pass on our thanks to these members of staff especially

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
7  Thank clarke9955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Pilar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear guest,

We would like first of all to thank you for your most appreciative review of our establishment.

Our aim is to create a particularly pleasant atmosphere for our guests with our welcoming and friendly staff in our beautifully designed hotel so your words confirming our success are very important to us.

We will pass on your positive comments to our team of professionals who will be delighted to know they made your stay with us even better.

It is nice to know that you hold us in fond memories and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Playa Pilar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We are having a great week so far, beautiful weather, amazing beach, and great entertainment staff! The beach is so beautiful, we saw lots of fish and star fish. We snorkeled, took out kayaks and peddle boats and went on the hobie cat. The food was good, could always find something to eat. Service was outstanding! The entertainment staff work really hard and made our stay very memorable. I would definitely come back here again!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Popert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Quality Manager at Iberostar Playa Pilar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear guest,

We would like first and foremost to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent holiday and also for taking the time to share your opinion.

Every day is a new challenge for us based on our passion for providing our guests with an environment similar to a home from home. Our highly motivated and competent team ensures that our services, as well as our hotel's wealth of facilities, provide a holiday feeling of the very special kind for our guests.

Again we thank you for sharing this constructive feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Playa Pilar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews