We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$150
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$150
US$138
View deal
SAVE US$12
travelup.com
PricelineUS$145
Expedia.comUS$150
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
196
67
13
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
196
67
13
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite karaoke bar boutique hotel bottle of bubbly friendliness and helpfulness hotel is beautiful pool deck turtles swimming macaroni pie restaurants and bars patio doors reception desk night life walking distance short stroll view of the ocean small hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2021

Glowing blue water on the doorstep and sparkling clean facilities - this was one of the best places imaginable for an approved quarantine hotel.

There was some apprehension about the level of noise from the surrounding area, based on reviews, but we had a 1br suite that faced the ocean and did not hear a peep all week. The room service was delicious, the in-room kitchen was modern, sparkling and helpful and the front desk staff were unbelievably accommodating.

Check-in was as thorough of a C19 experience as you could imagine - you get a thermometer test by standing in front of an automated machine, mist your whole body with rubbing alcohol (just kidding, only your hands) and then take yourself to your room

Upon checking in, I explained that the purpose of the trip was business and would need a room with great WiFi. They assured me that it worked and for the most part, it was connected but with 0.2mb upload type speeds. Across the week, they had the provider on-site a few times trying to fix issues but ultimately, doing video calls was a bit of a nightmare. Certain parts of the suite had better access but inexplicably, the center of the unit had no connectivity and the extremities had access with limited bandwidth.

Every meal was mouth-watering and delicious, from the flying fish cou cou to the gargantuan burger. The kitchen staff was exuberant on the phone and always helpful with recommendations.

Shower was amazing with great water pressure, soap and shampoo dispensers and luxe soft towels. The bed was massive, firm and filled with pillows of varying density to choose your own preference.

Every morning, waking up to the turquoise ocean with turtles swimming in front of you is a slice of magic. Waking up to humming birds, monkeys on the accompanying balconies and cheerful staff made this an absolute pleasure. If they had the WiFi fixed to skip those headaches, it would have felt like a 5-star stay.

Room tip: Ocean view was unbelievable and serene
Date of stay: January 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HermanaJump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2021 via mobile

I'm normally cautious about boutique hotels but after my wife booked a room for us at South Gap, I was blown away. If you're looking for a clean, friendly, unpretentious and modern hotel that won't break the bank, this is it. My kids had a blast in the pool, which has a deck with an amazing view of Rockley Beach. We will definitely return.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank BeachGuyBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecile Harewood, General Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2021

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2021 via mobile

Spent 16 days here over Christmas and NYE. Our one bedroom suite was fantastic with a great view, hotel is well maintained and it’s shows. Great location with tons of restaurant and bars at the doorstep. Easy walk to grocery stores and transit to the city. Staff were all pleasant, always a friendly hello. Really appreciate how seriously the hotel is taking the covid protocols and protecting all staff and guests. We regularly visit Barbados and will certainly be returning to this hotel. Our only complaint would be how load the waterfall is outside, it constantly sounded like it was raining out because of it but that was also due to our proximity to it. Thanks for a fantastic stay, we look forward to returning hopefully later this year!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SincerelyMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecile Harewood, General Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2021

Thank you for posting your feedback on your experience with us. We're pleased you had a fantastic stay and found our staff pleasant. We do try our best to comply with all safety protocols to ensure the well-being of our guests and team members at all times. We offer our apologies for the inconvenience experienced from the waterfall and appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2020 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the South Gap Hotel Barbados. It is an idyllic oasis in the center of it all. This is an intimate boutique hotel with a very cool aesthetic and vibe. The hotel is recently renovated and the rooms are comfortably and well appointed.

Though it is in the middle of the famous St. Lawrence Gap, once inside you are transported to a peaceful oasis. However, if you wish you can just step outside and all the nightlife, bars and restaurants, are right outside. Not to mention the famous Gap Burgers are right at your door! You couldn’t want a better location.

But the best part was the warm and friendly staff. From the reservations team I interacted with prior to and during my stay, to the wonderfully pleasant and professional reception team, to the delightful restaurant staff, the efficient housekeeping team and vigilant security personnel made it feel like you were staying with family.

The food at the onsite restaurant, Tropical Mist Bar & Restaurant was absolutely delicious and reasonably priced.

If you like that boutique hotel feel the South Gap Hotel is definitely one to choose!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank GrandTour11275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecile Harewood, General Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2021

Thank you for such a prefect rating and posting such a wonderful review. I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with our hotel, our team and the service provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2020

we stayed for 8 nights in November. staff super friendly and check in process smooth. hotel recently refurbished to high standard. exceeded all expectations for the price paid, a real gem - we will be back.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 198madeleinev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecile Harewood, General Manager at South Gap Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2020

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews