We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and beautiful atmosphere ”

Castaways Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$44
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Castaways is located at the entrance of the popular and lively St Lawrence Gap on the South coast of Barbados. February 2018 will mark 2 years of operation for Castaways and we are proud that we have won many fans locally as well as visitors from around the world because of the location, fresh, quality food, crafted in house cocktails, along with friendly & attentive service. Management works very hard to ensure standards are kept at the highest level for a great customer experience and we always look forward to welcoming back past guests as well as introducing new customers to Castaways. The restaurant overlooks the picturesque St. Lawrence Bay; the only bay between Bridgetown and Oistins on the south coast of the island. This treats all guests to spectacular panoramic ocean views of the Lagoon. We purchase only the freshest local produce possible and practice a farm-to-table concept, supporting local farmers and businesses. Visa,MasterCard, Local Debit Cards, cheques & Cash accepted
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Castaways is our favourite food so far of our trip
We had the red Thai curry and catch of the day - the curry was really beautiful, fish was great also
Staff lovely and friendly too , House wine good - beautiful view from our table

1  Thank lizzie101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

They moved to the second floor very spacious great ambiance, the service as we remembered.the waiters and food lived up to our memory

2  Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Excellent food, views and service.a must if you go to Barbados. Good value for money. Beautiful at night time the view is stunning.

3  Thank stevenhector123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

We went here for a special occasion and there is no doubt the decor and setting are beautiful-the views over the water are amazing. We waited at the bar upstairs until shown to our table. The lighting is very poor and makes it difficult to read the menu and see what you are eating. The spaghetti meatballs were okay but not very tasty. The local fish meal was really nice but the rice was a bit cold. Portion sizes were fine. However the service was sullen and a bit rushed. Beware the taxes on the taxes on your bill (service tax on top of government taxes?)soon increased a meal for two to 200$.

Thank Lovetotravel8894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontheisland246, General Manager at Castaways Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Just to clarify for all Tripadvisor users as this is important to us, our service charge is calculated on the 'subtotal of the bill' and not on the total including taxes.
By Management
Happy Hour 5-6pm Daily and Lunch on the weekends from 11am
See our website, instagram and Facebook for all info.
Live Music on the Bay Wednesday coming - Drink specials and a special dish on offer for all to enjoy.
Have a great week ahead :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

This is quite a late review after eating at castaways a number of times during a holiday in May 2017. I was compelled to write a review as I recently contacted the restaurant to book a few dates for our next holiday in Barbados in November this year. We love the food here and it’s so nice to watch the little crabs running along the sand while you take in the atmosphere. The restaurant replied to my reservation with a lovely message which sums up this place - great food, great customer service and a wonderful setting on the beach. Roll on November for bajan tacos and shrimp linguine amongst our other favourites!!

3  Thank clair123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castaways Bar & Grill also viewed

St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
St. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Castaways Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing