We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,540)
Filter reviews
1,540 results
Traveller rating
1,031
365
99
24
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,031
365
99
24
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reef restaurant steak restaurant signature room collins bar specialty restaurants umi restaurant girl band swim up bar sushi filet mignon main bar bar staff paddle boarding girl group beach staff ocean front an umbrella
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 1,540 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2019

Sugar Bay Barbados is a great little resort. The food was very good for the most part, only issue we had was service could be very slow at some of the restaurants. buffet was always solid with different options.
The beach was really nice and good to swim in. There were a few days where the seaweed came in very heavy but other than this the other days were fairly clear. If you are looking for that amazing white Caribbean sand and clear turquoise water travel to pebbles beach it is amazing!
We did 2 excursions, one was the cave tour and the second was a snorkel tour. The caves were ok, worth checking out... but the snorkeling was amazing. tons of brightly colored fish, sea turtles and crystal clear waters.
Entertainment at night was decent with live music... some better than others. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway on a beautiful Caribbean island this is the place for you! also want to give a shout to Marlon who was a great bartender and kept us entertained the entire time!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank J_Biz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2019

Stayed two weeks at this resort. I don't normally choose all inclusive holidays but this hotel was worth it. Lovely setting on the south coast of Barbados. About 25 minutes from the airport by taxi and an hours gentle stroll into Bridgetown. It's a mid-size hotel, about 138 rooms with lovely gardens and generally quite peaceful. The room was clean with a comfortable bed and reasonable size balcony. We had garden views. Nice to have a large fridge in the room. The staff were all very pleasant and professional. The food in the buffet restaurant was better than many I have been to before. There were two 'speciality' restaurants which had to be booked, but we had no problems getting in. Umi served sushi and Asian food and was quite good. The Sizzle steakhouse did serve excellent steaks. The bars served branded drinks and the house wine was drinkable. The hotel is right on a gorgeous beach, great for walking, sunbathing or swimming. The pool was a bit small and shallow for adults but the loungers were very comfortable. There was entertainment every night which was generally quite good but did finish a little early at 10pm. The main bar close at 11, but there was a pub on the site open for a couple of hours longer. There was a also a beach bar serving grills etc. in the daytime. We really enjoyed our stay and would be happy to go back again.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2019

It’s not just the beautiful beach location of Sugar Bay that makes a visit superb.

Add to that the people who go the extra mile to make your stay a memorable one, from the kitchen to the towel boys and girls they smile all day long while treating you as you would want to be treated.

This time we stayed in Signature rooms overlooking the pool instead of beachfront but the quality remains the same, good size rooms with the amenities you expect from Sugar Bay.

Two of our party have not been before but they were so impressed with the food on offer each day, and the friendliness of the staff that I’m sure they will want to return.

Bar service to your sun bed, iced towels to your sun bed, Rum Punch jelly shots to your sun bed.......what more could you ask.

Room tip: Beach front lead you straight out to the beach obviously, however, the signature rooms are not too far from everything including the beach
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank doods47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2019 via mobile

Where do I start we’ve been At Sugar Bay for 8 days and don’t want to go home. The hotel is superb right on the beach, 7 mins to the Racecourse and accessible to Bridgetown one way & Oistins Fish Fry on Friday’s the other all for 1$ US.
The staff are incredible from the reception when you arrive Rum Punch from Gorgeous Krystal and big wraps to Joy-Ann in the Reef and Petol on the Omelette station and Jecoila in the Umi Asian Restaurant one of 2 al a carte choices per week along with Sizzle Steak Restaurant. From waking up to going to bed they pamper for all your needs with even little extras on the beach like Cold towels to endless drinks and to finish the day off Jelly Rum shots while the sun goes down or a drink at Colin’s Shack before going out.
Then in the evening entertainment for everyone from Girl Bands to Limbo dancing and Steel Bands and even a Film Night on the beach Popcorn included.
Anyone can find negatives about a Hotel and with 2 days to go I’m still looking but I doubt I will find any unless you count a refreshing Caribbean Storm one night while we were enjoying our Gin & Tonics and Rum Cocktails we were oblivious to it.
Hope we return one day but if not it was a typical 5 Star Caribbean holiday.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank Keith1955581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2019

Returned for the second time and it was just as we remembered it - great staff, lovely location, super selection of food and fantastic ocean view every day. Hired a car this time to see even more of the island which we'd recommend. Thanks so much for a great holiday - as a lot of reviewers say - I'm sure we'll be back again!

Room tip: Room with an ocean view
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Grd8763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews